We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing!!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campanile Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Campanile Glasgow
Ranked #61 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Disappointing!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel is very basic. Outwardly it appears chic, but on arrival at the rooms it is a different story. The rooms are small. There are no glasses in the bathroom and when I asked at reception I was told it was company policy not to supply drinking glasses in the rooms, but I would be given them if I asked in the bar. The bar staff very kindly supplied prepacked plastic glasses, which begs the question why were they not there in the first place? I asked for an extra pillow and was told it would be brought to the room, we then went out for dinner and when we returned NO pillow, which I have to say they did bring immediately when I asked again. There was also a lack of towels in the bathroom, there were no hand towels and the bathroom and the 2 bath towels were of extremely poor quality, very thin and small. I do have to say that the shower was very good. There is no towel rail in bathroom and very poor ventilation in the bathroom also. If I had paid the full tariff displayed in the hotel, I would have been extremely unhappy!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mharit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, 25 July 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay. If you would like to discuss this further please call on 01412877700 and I can investigate this matter further

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    397
    285
    90
    76
See reviews for
139
406
54
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massa Fiscaglia, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed for one night before attending the Ideal Home Show at SECC on 23rd May 2014.Hotel was very busy as there was a 'Prince' concert on at the Hydro that night.The Hydro is just over the road from the hotel and the SECC is a 3 minute walk away.
Very busy carpark but well managed by an attendant. Very reasonable prices even in the Bar !!
Steak was reasonably priced and cooked 'Rare' as we asked for. Breakfast was good value albeit a little slow.
Room was more than adequate and everything worked. With the window open the Prince Concert was not bad either !!
All in all an enjoyable stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, 25 July 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

stayed at the campanile near the secc glasgow
it was ok basic, but all facilities were fine apart from one night when we phoned down for room service to get some food, they said they weren't doing room service tonight,
another night phoned down for room service to be told the kitchens were shut
it wasn't due to be closed till 9;45 it was before this time.
suppose it depends whos answering the phone on reception and if they're busy or not..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, 25 July 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay. If you would like to discuss this further please call on 01412877700 and I can investigate this matter further

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed over night. Hotel was clean, rooms small. Not any better than a Travelodge, slightly dissapointed as had booked a night for a birthday present but it was nothing special. Would be ok if you got it through a deal but not full price. Staff were lovely.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, 25 July 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay. If you would like to discuss this further please call on 01412877700 and I can investigate this matter further

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights this week. I had only ever used this chain before in its country of origin, France. Whilst this makes every effort to match its French counterparts, it sadly falls short. However, you have to remember this is a budget hotel and if you set your expectations accordingly, you will not be disappointed. The room was spacious and clean but would have benefited from an easy chair to watch the tv from. Breakfast was the usual buffet, but seemed to be forever running out of one or more items, which were eventually replaced with a tad more attention replacements should have instantly been ready. Evening meal, as I was booked as part of a conference the usual menu did not apply instead we had the choice of 2 hot main courses, neither of which were to my liking so I chose not to eat there. There are no other eating and/or drinking places nearby, so the local train into the city centre (only 3 minutes journey time) gives you a huge variety to choose from. In summary, it is a budget hotel and I would use it again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank VFM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, 25 July 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay. If you would like to discuss this further please call on 01412877700 and I can investigate this matter further

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed overnight at this hotel which is extremely close to the new Hydro and it was just perfect, both distance wise and everything else. We found our room to be quite small but perfectly nice and extremely clean. The chap on reception was friendly and professional. We had a continental breakfast the following morning after having been at the Barry Manilow concert. A nice touch was after having attended the concert and going into the bar for a late night drink, they were playing Barry Manilow music. Apparently they do this as a tribute to who ever was appearing in Hydro. We could not fault the hotel, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky43_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, 25 July 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed here with friends to attend a concert at the hydro. We had rooms on 3 floor. I found it was very clean. Bed very comfortable. It's a great hotel if attending concert at secs or hydro but can be very noisy at end of show. Ask for room doesn't face car park at hydro. As it's noisy at end of concerts. Overall a pleasant stay. Staff friendly and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask room that doesn't face car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thistle500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, 25 July 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#39 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#23 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#49 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Glasgow

Property: Campanile Glasgow
Address: 10 Tunnel Street, Glasgow G3 8HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Glasgow 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Louvre hotels, TravelUp and Priceline so you can book your Campanile Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Campanile Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Campanile Hotel
Campanile Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing