We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

University of Glasgow
Book In Advance
More Info
US$83.63*
and up
Glasgow's West End Private Tour
Ranked #3 of 274 things to do in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Take a fascinating tour of the University of Glasgow campus, and explore the University's stunning architecture (with over 100 listed buildings) and discover incredible stories from its 550 years of history. Guided campus tours are led by trained student guides and last for approximately one hour - you can find out more by visiting: boxoffice.src.gla.ac.uk/product/university-glasgow-tours. Other must-see attractions to visit on campus include: • The Hunterian Museum • The Hunterian Art Gallery (including The Charles Rennie Mackintosh House) • The Visitor Centre Shop for University merchandise and Scottish gifts (10% off with your tour ticket) • A selection of cafés and restaurants for coffee or a bite to eat
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Amazing place, open for tourists, with museum, and beautiful view. I would like to go back there in near future.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    967
    359
    39
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We just happened on this. Taking a bus tour of the city there was a technical problem so we were asked to leave the bus. We decided to have a wander into the university. It was stunning the buildings and court yard area reminded me of Oxford. The museum are was well wrth a look into

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hellpop C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I WISH I WAS A STUDENT AGAIN!”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The main university building is said to have inspired Hogwarts and you can really see why. We did not do a formal tour but walked around the gothic quads, cloisters and Bute Hall by ourselves and soaked in the atmosphere of hundreds of years of learning. If I could be a student again, this is the sort of University I would like to attend. The University's Hunterian Museum is small but well worth a visit. If you like Victorian gothic architecture then I highly recommend a visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonMetri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
648 reviews
244 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 470 helpful votes
“Sunday morning”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Visited for first time on a sunday morning with my daughter. Lovely place to spend a couple of hours. Building very grand and the crypt gives great photograph shoots. Visited the museum which is free and marvelled more at the ceiling than some of the artifacts. Nice museum in lovely room. Café and shop on site but did not visit. Would probably visit the art gallery next time on the other side of the road. Very handy for Kelvingrove, Ashtons lane and Byres road.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank IAN O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
259 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A beautiful wander around the incredible University of Glasgow, with a great view over the city”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I didn't take an official tour around the university, but I took a stroll through campus and I had a great time. It's close to some other important sites in the city, and the view from campus is incredible. It overlooks the city, and on a clear day it's gorgeous. Definitely worth the visit if you're sightseeing close by.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren_skye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed University of Glasgow also viewed

 

Been to University of Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing