We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about ok .....”
Review of Jurys Inn Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Ranked #33 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here whilst on business and was left a bit disappointed. Location was central but cheek by jowl to Central Station making it very noisy with all the trains. Room had been refurbed and was fine in terms of being functional. However, my biggest complaint was the noise of the cistern in the bathroom, the air con and the totally paperthin walls. The guests next to me came back late and were very inconsiderate in terms of loud talking and having the tv on very loud. I could make out every word of their conversation and whilst I enjoy a bit of juicy gossip as much as the next person, its not welcome at 3 am when I'm trying. To sleep before an important business event the next day. As I had specificallt asked for a quiet room I felt a bit shortchanged. I know the hotel isn't responsible for guests' behaviour but more effective soundproofing is within their gift. Not as good a Jurys as others I have stayed in and I wouldn't rush back to this one I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards,
Niall O'Shaughnessy
Deputy General Manager
Jurys Inn Glasgow
niall_oshaughnessy@jurysinns.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,460 - 3,466 of 3,761 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

The first impression of the hotel was not good. I was traveling with a group and the hotel was packed. They don't have enough elevators, which took me 15 minutes to get to my room. When I tried to open the door, the key didn't work out. I had to go again downstairs to get it fixed. I was already at the room when another couple of my group entered my room! They gave the same room for all of us!
The room could have some more lights. If you want to read at night you don't have enough light. The bathroom is old with little space to put your stuff.
The breakfast is very good and the options of food suits to all tastes.
The rooms are clean and spaceous.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renata3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies for the issues you had at check in. I am happy to see you enjoyable breakfast and hopefully overall had an enjoyable stay. Barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Was spending the night of 15/16th June at this venue and was looking forward to it very much.....Had severe doubts when shown to room which overlooked railway station but to be fair we were never bothered by the trains at all. The biggest bother was the paper-thin walls at 5.00/5,30 in the morning when the occupants of the next door room returned from their night out and decided to have a long conversation about the evenings activities and make coffee. could here every word....could have been very embarassing for occupants of both rooms.....At the cost of the rooms (advertised at £250/£260 pernight for the time we were there) would have thought the soundproofing would have been of a much higher standard...........The staff were very pleasant and the breakfast buffet was above average for that sort of meal...no complaints there.........

Just very glad we had managed to get an excellant deal as it was booked from abroad.....

Room Tip: find out about the standard of the wall insulation to keep the noise down from the next door rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I would be grateful if you could contact me direct so that we can resolve the issues you had during your stay. Barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I was up in Glasgow for a couple of nights to attend a concert.
The deal was ok £130 for two nights. The hotel has been refurbished since my last stay a few years ago and is all the better for it.
The room was fine and the bed pretty comfortable. It was noisy as it was a railway view room.
After returning from the concert (which a lot of other guests attended) I was amazed to see a bar queue of circa 20 people and a long wait...there was only one bar man who did his best but the poor lad didn't have a chance!
I would say overall it was an ok stay...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonJKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Apologies regarding the wait in the bar, we really got caught out with everyone coming back at the one time. This will be something we will work on with the team to ensure everything is to the right standard going forward. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here for a short break last weekend and it was great. The staff were excellent throughout our stay couldn't have been more helpful. Our room was very comfortable and although we were overlooking the very busy train station we had no disturbance from the trains. Breakfast selection and quality was very good. The food offered in the bar was also very good. The hotel has a great central location, however if driving there parking is very difficult to find so definitely ring ahead for details as I spent an hour stuck in the one way traffic system trying to find it. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Be aware of the train station, although this didn't give me any problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for mentioning our Grill Bar as this is a new outlet that is going down very well with our guests. If you are ever returning please contact me direct. barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel and great location. Service is excellent and staff friendly. On the downside, (although it's always nice to get a room at the front of a hotel) is noisy due to road traffic and near by railway line.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dat_sloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. If you are ever returning please contact me direct and I will allocate a front facing quite room to help make your stay even better. barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We spent two nights here, arrived Thursday 20th June for two nights..The Hotel is ideally situated for the centre of Glasgow. The room was very clean and the service was great.
The reception desk was eventually up to speed. We had booked a twin room and after a third try they got it right but by that time we had our luggage to the 4th,6th and then 9th floor.
It was very warm in the room and we needed to open window but as it looked right on to Central station it was rather noisy. With the windows closed OK. Next time we will ask for a room on the opposite side of the Hotel.
All in all we had a nice stay and will go back in the future

Room Tip: Opposite side from the station is a MUST
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billgalashan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. If you are ever returning please contact me direct and I will allocate a front facing quite room to help make your stay even better. barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#19 of 93 in Glasgow
1,100 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Glasgow

Address: 80 Jamaica Street, Glasgow G1 4QG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £48 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jurys Inn Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Glasgow is a four star hotel ideally located within a ten minute walk of Glasgow's 3 major stations - Glasgow Central, Queen Street and Argyle Street. The hotel is an easy 3 minute train journey or 20 minute walk from the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre and The Hydro Entertainment Arena, and is an ideal place to stay when visiting Glasgow both for business and leisure. For those planning a shopping trip the hotel offers a short 3 minute walk to St Enoch shopping centre as well as easy access to a plethora of nearby restaurants and bars to unwind in after a busy day in Glasgow. Jurys Inn Glasgow features all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which opens from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and from 5:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Guests can also avail of 24 hour room service. If arriving by car, parking is available within a 3 minute walk of the hotel at Qpark Jamaica Street. Our comfortable bedrooms are suitable for up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All of our 321 bedrooms have air conditioning and are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, tea, coffee and hot chocolate refreshment dock and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Glasgow with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Jurys Inn Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Jurys Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing