We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills...”
Review of Jurys Inn Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Ranked #30 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“No frills...”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night, travelling for business. The hotel is centrally located and convenient for SSEC and other city venues. The hotel is pretty basic, as are the rooms which I would describe as functional. The breakfast was a self-serve buffet which was somewhat chaotic. All of this said, the hotel prices are keen - I guess you get what you pay for!

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank stphnwhit6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and we will take your comments on board. If you are ever returning please let me know - barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,440
    1,156
    479
    139
    70
See reviews for
559
1,047
166
815
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Selby
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

There were three in our group, the hotel was booked by our company.
We arrived in the evening, went out for a meal and on our return went to bed. All three of us were in rooms on the second floor which is at the same level as the track.
The hotel is located next to Glasgow Central Station, the noise from trains arriving and departing
went on until late, and started around again 5:00am.
We all suffered with the noise and did not sleep well. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away from the trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired_Traveller49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am really disappointed that your sleep was affected by noise. Our rooms on the station side are triple glazed to avoid these problems however there was clearly an issue on this occasion. Please feel free to contact me direct if you would like to discuss the matter further - barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Booked here for a Friday night as a couple.
We were checked in by excellent friendly staff and as we were a lot earlier than check in time we found it great to be checked in quickly.
Room was standard with everything that's expected in a modern room.
Rooms were very clean and ample.
Nice décor throughout the whole hotel and friendly staff.
Only down side was the bar.
While staff were friendly although slow at times to serve we found the price of a simple pint and a short very very expensive for a drink.
Would stay here again no problem but would socialise in bar because of prices.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublindaveDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. The next time you are visiting Glasgow please feel free to contact me direct - barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I booked 5 months in advance and got B&B for £30 a night. My second stay here and I was generally happy. Unlike many hotels these days, there were plenty of staff available in both the restaurant and on reception. The welcome at reception is unfailing welcoming. Only niggle is the air circulation system in the bathrooms which sucks in smoking smells, curry cooking smells and the unpleasant odours from other bathrooms. Be sure to keep the door shut to prevent these smells escaping into the bedroom. Breakfast can become a bit of a stramash if you're not down before 8am when there are coach parties staying in the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the lifts and cleaners cupboards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotsjimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. The next time you are visiting Glasgow please feel free to contact me direct - barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Spent the night prior to returning abroad. The hotel is not in a very nice part of the City, however, the interior is reasonable and the rooms are average for a business class hotel. I had a back room overlooking the railway station. No noise or vibration from passing trains.
I managed to get a discounted rate so price was reasonable but I think I would have been disappointed if I had paid full rack rate. Breakfast was OK, but sausages were not good quality, something I would have thought easy to remedy in Scotland with their abundance of local produce.
All in all very average. Nothing to get excited about.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and we will take your comments on board. If you are ever returning please let me know - barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Had originally planned to stay here for 3 nights but travel plans changed and only spent the one night here - thank goodness. Room was fine and check in was fine.

It was noisy. The train station is nearby and I knew this when booking, but have stayed at hotel close to stations before and not had much hassle. But this was bad, was on the 5th floor and arrived on a Sunday evening and so didn't realise how bad the noise was until Monday morning. Additionally, the room had pipes in a cupboard and these seemed to be the waste pipes for the hotel and the noise was pretty bad.

Earliest I have ever checked out of a hotel - strangely enough, no one asked if I had enjoyed my stay. As the hotel was pretty empty that night, they could easily have put me in a quieter room but didn't.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sorayascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am really disappointed that your sleep was affected by noise. Our rooms on the station side are triple glazed to avoid these problems however there was clearly an issue on this occasion. Please feel free to contact me direct if you would like to discuss the matter further - barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TatiBra
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

this hotel is in a great shopping location and was clean with a contemporary style that suited a weekend shopping break with my friend. The rooms were a decent size and suited our needs. I probably wouldn't stay here again for a 'romantic' weekend, but it suited my needs for this particular stay as it was close to the shops and perfect for the train station. My only real criticism was that even though we were on the top floor, I could hear everything that was happening outside, down to a gent whistling on the street. However, would I stay here again, yes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TatiBra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,242 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 95 in Glasgow
3,787 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 95 in Glasgow
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Glasgow

Property: Jurys Inn Glasgow
Address: 80 Jamaica Street, Glasgow G1 4QG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jurys Inn Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Glasgow is a four star hotel ideally located within a ten minute walk of Glasgow's 3 major stations - Glasgow Central, Queen Street and Argyle Street. The hotel is an easy 3 minute train journey or 20 minute walk from the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre and The Hydro Entertainment Arena, and is an ideal place to stay when visiting Glasgow both for business and leisure. For those planning a shopping trip the hotel offers a short 3 minute walk to St Enoch shopping centre as well as easy access to a plethora of nearby restaurants and bars to unwind in after a busy day in Glasgow. Jurys Inn Glasgow features all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which opens from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and from 5:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Guests can also avail of 24 hour room service. If arriving by car, parking is available within a 3 minute walk of the hotel at Qpark Jamaica Street. Our comfortable bedrooms are suitable for up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All of our 321 bedrooms have air conditioning and are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, tea, coffee and hot chocolate refreshment dock and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Glasgow with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jurys Inn Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Jurys Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing