We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read review, not just check grading! Many many issues, but not all bad”
Review of Jurys Inn Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Ranked #30 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Read review, not just check grading! Many many issues, but not all bad”
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

I stated here for one night on Wednesday 18th December. For a start it was the windiest night since for ever.
Now, although you can't blame the hotel for the weather, it did play a part in me having the worst nights sleep in a long time.

It started when the traffic was horrendous and then with the hotel not having a car park I had to do a second loop through the traffic!

Issue 1.
The room I was in was 1003, this room was so noisy, looking out over the Clyde and the railway lines crossing said Clyde, the headboard wall also being the platform for Glasgow Central Station! From the moment I arrived, all I could here was train movement and the squeal of train breaks. I'm not normally one for complaining, and I know by the time I was back in the room, the majority of the trains would have finished. I therefore did not complain or ask to be moved.

Issue 2.
I was meeting a college who lives locally for a drink so decided I'd eat first in the bar. I ordered chowder soup (really nice and filling) then swordfish steak and rice. See photo, the swordfish, although was cooked really well was supposed to have a chilli/line dressing, which was actually just a sweet chilli sauce poured over and the rice was just a microwave spicy rice. Good job the chowder was filling! This was tipped of with a £6.30 glass of wine!
Expensive and not that good.

Issue 3.
When I returned to the hotel, the wind had for up significantly (c11pm) . On returning to my room, not only was there still to odd railway noise, but the howling of the wind was supplemented by the worst fitted window in the world, rattling and blowing through. I tried to brave it for 2hrs but by 1:30 I had to give up and ask to be moved.
I was moved to room 204, much better although the wind still made noise and I was now above the rattling squeaking flagpoles/lights over the entrance.

Now for the good!

It's not all bad......

The rooms are large comfortable and clean.

The price is reasonable.

The breakfast is good, with many options and enough food if wanted to sink a battleship.

The best thing however was the staff!!! The guy who was working in the night was excellent and really helpful and understanding when I asked to move rooms, additionally he also remembered me at breakfast in the morning and asked if I had slept better. Superb customer service!! Thank you.

Overall, THIS trip is graded as poor (2) but overall if I had been in a front facing room, lower floor and the wind was not as severe, I would prob grade more 3 - 3.5

I am however unlikely to stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Bexy1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, 15 December 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards,
Niall O'Shaughnessy
Deputy General Manager
Jurys Inn Glasgow
niall_oshaughnessy@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,440
    1,156
    479
    139
    70
See reviews for
559
1,047
166
815
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Booked this for our works Christmas night out! Table was set 1 one place missing so a chair was stuck at bottom and colleague had to sit with a pole between her legs all night.

We were given 1 cracker between 2 people and advised this was what their budget stretched to!! On asking if they had scissors so we could half the paper hats they did bring more crackers to the table.

My dinner was served with a still, completely frozen, Yorkshire pudding!! They did then bring me 2 hot ones to compensate.

At one point during the evening the table collapsed on my boss legs.

We were given 2 bottles of wine for the table as an apology so at least they did acknowlege their mistakes however a little common sense could have avoided the complaining especially the crackers!!

The Hotel itself was beautiful and very clean and I would quite happily stay here again just would not go to another one of their party nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooshty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, 15 December 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards,
Niall O'Shaughnessy
Deputy General Manager
Jurys Inn Glasgow
niall_oshaughnessy@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I recently stayed in Jurys Inn Glasgow whilst on a weekend break with my Dad. The location is perfect, near the city centre especially Argyle Street, St Enoch, Princess Square etc.

Standard of service very good for breakfast and bar food, good staff, friendly and efficient.

Rooms very clean and of a high standard.

Room Tip: Top Floor rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovedup-kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, 15 December 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards,
Niall O'Shaughnessy
Deputy General Manager
Jurys Inn Glasgow
niall_oshaughnessy@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

In city Christmas shopping for weekend and booked the Jurys since have stayed there a good few times now and never been disappointed - this time was the same. Got room with a view on the 10th floor - watching the sun rise over the Clyde was fantastic! All the staff were really friendly. Hotel doesn't have a car park but there is a QPark just across the road with discounted parking for guests - have stayed in other hotels in the City who do have their own parking (which you have to pay as much for) and the walk from hotel car parking spaces as far as from the QPark to Jurys - so don't let lack of hotel's own car park put you off. If travelling by train it's one of the closest hotels to Central Station as well - so by far one of best situated hotels in the City. Friends in another hotel at same time we were there came to see us - and have said they will book Jurys next time. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwdumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, 15 December 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards,
Niall O'Shaughnessy
Deputy General Manager
Jurys Inn Glasgow
niall_oshaughnessy@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed overnight. Nice central location. Thankfully we were out when fire alarm went off. Reception should tell people their key card also operates the electricity in the room as not everyone knows this. Was quite noisy at night as our room was by the lifts. Nice breakfast in morning but staff far too keen to clear the table and set it up for others when you'd only gone to get something else from the buffet (despite handbag still being at the table!) was a juggling game with plates, surely a hotel which charges £10 a head for breakfast should be able to provide the plates for people to use! I've stayed in cheaper hotels with better service at breakfast.

Room Tip: As for a room away from the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeryx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, 15 December 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards,
Niall O'Shaughnessy
Deputy General Manager
Jurys Inn Glasgow
niall_oshaughnessy@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while on business in Glasgow. Great central location whether you are there for business, pleasure, shopping. Round the corner from an underground station, 5 min walk from Central station, 15 min from Queen street station, and very easy to find. The room and en suite bathroom was clean and spacious. Breakfast was also good. Staff friendly and helpful. All in all it represented very good value for money.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Grassharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, 15 December 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards,
Niall O'Shaughnessy
Deputy General Manager
Jurys Inn Glasgow
niall_oshaughnessy@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed here at the end of November 2013 for a Christmas shopping weekend. Hotel very central with lots within walking distance. Hotel lovely very clean and rooms spacious. Breakfast in the morning lovely and lots of choice. Staff all very friendly and worked very hard especially in dinning room in the morning. Would recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rebelnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, 15 December 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards,
Niall O'Shaughnessy
Deputy General Manager
Jurys Inn Glasgow
niall_oshaughnessy@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,242 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 95 in Glasgow
3,788 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 95 in Glasgow
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Glasgow

Property: Jurys Inn Glasgow
Address: 80 Jamaica Street, Glasgow G1 4QG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jurys Inn Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Glasgow is a four star hotel ideally located within a ten minute walk of Glasgow's 3 major stations - Glasgow Central, Queen Street and Argyle Street. The hotel is an easy 3 minute train journey or 20 minute walk from the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre and The Hydro Entertainment Arena, and is an ideal place to stay when visiting Glasgow both for business and leisure. For those planning a shopping trip the hotel offers a short 3 minute walk to St Enoch shopping centre as well as easy access to a plethora of nearby restaurants and bars to unwind in after a busy day in Glasgow. Jurys Inn Glasgow features all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which opens from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and from 5:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Guests can also avail of 24 hour room service. If arriving by car, parking is available within a 3 minute walk of the hotel at Qpark Jamaica Street. Our comfortable bedrooms are suitable for up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All of our 321 bedrooms have air conditioning and are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, tea, coffee and hot chocolate refreshment dock and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Glasgow with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jurys Inn Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Jurys Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing