We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Room with a View over Central Station, with all that Entails”
Review of Jurys Inn Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Ranked #33 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

The Jurys Inn is very close to Central Station. This means it's very convenient if arriving by train, and that the hotel is, as the station's name implies, very centrally-located. You're close to shops, bars, restaurants, a tourist attraction or two and the river Clyde. And of course transport. While the local Underground station at St Enoch lazily stops running around midnight, trains from Central diligently run all night. As the Jurys Inn towers over Central Station, a good number of their rooms look out over this triumph of 19th Century engineering, and with the aircon up full blast and the triple-glazed windows firmly shut, you might just be able to forget that.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Tom,
Thank you for your review, I am really disappointed that your sleep was disturbed by noise. We are located right in the city centre which does mean there is train and traffic noise however if you are ever returning please let me know and we will make sure you receive a quiet room - barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,133 - 3,139 of 3,628 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

Just about to leave this hotel after a one night stay having used an It is on voucher, such a shame as lack if basics has really let our experience down.

On checking in, looked great, staff polite and helpful and the room was great. Felt really pleased with the deal and was sure we'd come again. After going to a show, we decided to eat in the hotel for dinner - don't do it!!!! My starter of goats cheese lacked the ingredients it promised and basically consisted of mushed cheese on top of a pink cream like sludge - totally inedible. My main course was OK and to be fair my husbands was OK so we though it was just unlucky. Then, picked up my Diet Coke (not drinking this month to support Cancer Research UK) to find it loaded with vodka. An apology later and the wrongvdrink brought again. Finished being given bill to charge to the room, being told I couldn't as didn't open a tab and made to feel totally stupid. Was so annoyed at our ruined evening by then I was furious.

Woke up this morning to so much noise above our room on the top floor, thought breakfastvwas a good idea. Food was fine, spoilt however by the cleaner actually pulling chairs out at our table to wash them down with disinfectant wafting over our breakfast.

Glad to be going, really disappointed Jury's

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samacandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Sarah,
Thank you for your review.
I would like to sincerely apologise for issue that you experienced during your stay. I have thoroughly investigated the matter and a subsequent meeting will take place with all involved and the relevant procedures will be implemented to ensure that such incidents do not occur in the future.
These procedures will be closely monitored by myself over the coming months.

Regards,
Niall O'Shaughnessy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

First time we've stayed at Jury's and we were not disappointed and will definitely stay there again.
Hotel and room was spotless only downside that previous occupier had smoked in room which was not the staffs fault. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was good but need to add potato scones.
Overall excellent

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I am disappointed with your comments regarding the room on arrival, My apologies for any inconvenience caused. The next time you are visiting Glasgow please feel free to contact me direct - barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

After two days in Edinburgh my wife and I spent two days in Glasgow. Both cities are great places but Glasgow felt much more real and not at all touristy. There is much to see and do with museums, art galleries and restaurants. The hotel is ideally located a few hundred yards from Glasgow Central Railway Station and so you are able to walk to most places within minutes. Would recommend going by train as parking is expensive. The hotel is well appointed and the rooms are comfortable - though best to book a higher, quiet room as the railway runs at the back of the hotel and the trains coming and going from the station can be annoying. Restaurant and bar are very nice and the whole feel is of a quality city centre hotel. Glasgow people are friendly even though it is a big city and I felt quite at home there.

Room Tip: Go higher to avoid noise from the trains. Those rooms at the side overlooking the railway bridge and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 887MichaelG887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Michael, Thank you for your excellent review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in ''Real Scotland'' The next time you are visiting Glasgow please feel free to contact me direct - barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Just back from a overnight stay, had a fantastic superior room overlooking the clyde, asked for the same room as before on the 11th floor was'nt any bother. room spotless and a very comfy bed. All the staff were very helpfull and could'nt do enough for us. Very good breakfast in the morning and a late check out. Second time staying here and even better than the first time, will be back again for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room, the higher the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. The next time you are visiting Glasgow please feel free to contact me direct - barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Large impersonal hotel. Stayed in a spacious refurbished room directly above the railway station and whilst soundproofing and secondary double glazing completely shut out exterior noise, sleep was disturbed by cheap noisy air conditioning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank glyn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Glyn,
Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay. Please feel free to contact me direct if you would like to discuss the matter further - barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here and Hilton for work over last few years. And to be honest I preferred this hotel. It was just fresher. The location was not as good. But my room was spotless!! Hotel seemed to have s good atmosphere. Staff friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BekJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear BekJam,
Thank you for your excellent review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I have passed on your kind comments to our Accommodation department and the rest of the staff.
The next time you are visiting Glasgow please feel free to contact me direct - barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,359 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
4,045 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Glasgow

Address: 80 Jamaica Street, Glasgow G1 4QG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £58 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jurys Inn Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Glasgow is a four star hotel ideally located within a ten minute walk of Glasgow's 3 major stations - Glasgow Central, Queen Street and Argyle Street. The hotel is an easy 3 minute train journey or 20 minute walk from the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre and The Hydro Entertainment Arena, and is an ideal place to stay when visiting Glasgow both for business and leisure. For those planning a shopping trip the hotel offers a short 3 minute walk to St Enoch shopping centre as well as easy access to a plethora of nearby restaurants and bars to unwind in after a busy day in Glasgow. Jurys Inn Glasgow features all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which opens from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and from 5:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Guests can also avail of 24 hour room service. If arriving by car, parking is available within a 3 minute walk of the hotel at Qpark Jamaica Street. Our comfortable bedrooms are suitable for up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All of our 321 bedrooms have air conditioning and are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, tea, coffee and hot chocolate refreshment dock and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Glasgow with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Lastminute, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jurys Inn Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Jurys Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing