We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The jury is out on this hotel.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Jurys Inn Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Ranked #29 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“The jury is out on this hotel.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

So many excellent aspects to this hotel - very convenient central location, great quality breakfast, clean and modern room, free wifi, courteous staff....

The only downside and it is a major one was the quality of sleep (or rather the lack of it) I encountered. It was without doubt the worst night I have ever spent in a hotel bed. Unfortunate? Perhaps... But the walls seemed paper thin, the screeching trains kept waking me up (the rooms overlooking the front street are very close to a railway bridge) and the corridors were very busy. The couple next door seemed to enjoy their stay anyway!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sahloff79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Sahloff79, Thank you for your review. I am really disappointed that your sleep was disturbed by noise. Our rooms on the station side are triple glazed to avoid these problems however there was clearly an issue on this occasion. Please feel free to contact me direct if you would like to discuss the matter further - niall_oshaughnessy@jurysinns.com. Regards, Niall O’Shaughnessy Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,372
    1,113
    457
    129
    69
See reviews for
542
1,005
158
760
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here many years ago and it certainly seemed to have upped it's game. A four star hotel with five star service.

All round experience was outstanding particularly as I was hosting a group of people for a drink and meal. Nial the Manager and Kevin in the restaurant were outstanding as well as all the other staff we came into contact with.

I will definitely be recommending Jury's Inn to anyone staying in Glasgow.


Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BDLGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hi George,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you and your guest enjoyed your stay and dinner.

I have passed on your kind comment to Kevin also, Please feel free to contact me when you are coming back. -niall_oshaughnessy@jurysinns.com

Regards,
Niall O’Shaughnessy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here whilst working in the city. Pretty standard, clean rooms and nice showers. Although not warm outside it was more comfortable to have the air con on in my room. It quickly warmed up without it. Service throughout was excellent. Restaurant and Grill Bar food pretty average. The hotel is directly adjacent to the railway. My room was at the front (pretty good river view as well as view directly into the windows of the euro hostel opposite) and had no noise issues at all. My colleague was not as fortunate. His first room was on the 3rd floor at the back, adjacent to the railway. Even when moved to a higher floor (7th) in the early hour after little sleep (still at the back of the hotel) he said he struggled to sleep due to the railway noise.

Room Tip: Choose one at the front of the building on the higher levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Katy,
Thank you for your review. The next time you are visiting Glasgow please feel free to contact me direct - niall_oshaughnessy@jurysinns.com.

Regards,
Niall O’Shaughnessy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

First class check in with a lovely room given with views of the Clyde. Good early food offering served charmingly. Had a late drink in the bar, only disappointing part really as the drinks were not well presented with the staff looking harassed. Breakfast good. Would I return................ Of course!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank silverfox08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Silverfox,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Regards,
Niall O’Shaughnessy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
326 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This review is based on one night's stay, so impressions are not always as well-rounded as they should be. This is a huge hotel with very long hallways. Expect to do a little walking from your room to the elevator. As far as location goes, it is central, right downtown, well situated by the river's edge, and within walking distance of many shopping and eating areas. We were a block from a grocery store, several restaurants and pubs. Even though we faced the street at a major intersection, our room was relatively quiet. However, we understood that some people were not happy with the noise from trains, as the tracks run right behind the hotel, and Central Station is around the corner.

As in the other Jury's Inn that we stayed at, this room had a double and a twin bed. Look for the extra pillows in the closet in a plastic bag. We had Wi-Fi, but it was too intermittent to depend on. The bathroom supplied pump soap and shampoo. Although there was a pedestal sink, there was an extra shelf for personal toiletries. There was no in-room safe.

Room Tip: Take a room that is not facing the train rails at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluePointer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Bluepointer, Thank you for your review and we will take your comments on board. If you are ever returning please let me know - niall_oshaughnessy@jurysinns.com. Regards, Niall O’Shaughnessy Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had another nice weekend spent at the Jurys Inn. The dream team on reception Pamela & Rebecca were very helpful and got us booked in quickly and without any fuss, with a Muffin into the bargain!
The room was clean and tidy; overlooking Jamaica Street, the room and the en-suite had been recently refurbished and decorated and was very nicely done.
The only problem was getting the bar staff to understand a whisky & Canada dry –which is dry ginger ale- having being told by the bar staff they do not stock it – there was another make of dry ginger in the colder but I was not offered this. I found this very strange having asked for whisky & dry and not being offered dry ginger ale!
The breakfast was very relaxed and buffet style.
We will return again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoungatHeart90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Youngatheart,

Thank you for your excellent review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay again with us and I will pass on your kind comments to the ''dream team''. Please accept my apologies for the issues you encountered in the bar area. The next time you are visiting Glasgow please feel free to contact me direct - niall_oshaughnessy@jurysinns.com.

Regards,
Niall O’Shaughnessy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Arrived as a contestant on a tv show being filmed just over the river at the BBC. Could not be closer to Central Station and just 5 minutes from the studios. Having been to the city before it was great to be as handy for the shops and attractions that Glasgow has to offer. Ended up extending my stay and having an amazing time. Hotel clean and comfortable and staff great.

Only negative would be not as 4Star as others I have stayed in however green credentials are amazing! Thank you all concerned!

Room Tip: Higher rooms are better for noise reduction and views. Windows open which is great for fresh air but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthbourneLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay overall.

The next time you are visiting Glasgow please feel free to contact me direct - niall_oshaughnessy@jurysinns.com.

Regards,
Niall O’Shaughnessy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,683 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Glasgow

Property: Jurys Inn Glasgow
Address: 80 Jamaica Street, Glasgow G1 4QG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jurys Inn Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Glasgow is a four star hotel ideally located within a ten minute walk of Glasgow's 3 major stations - Glasgow Central, Queen Street and Argyle Street. The hotel is an easy 3 minute train journey or 20 minute walk from the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre and The Hydro Entertainment Arena, and is an ideal place to stay when visiting Glasgow both for business and leisure. For those planning a shopping trip the hotel offers a short 3 minute walk to St Enoch shopping centre as well as easy access to a plethora of nearby restaurants and bars to unwind in after a busy day in Glasgow. Jurys Inn Glasgow features all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which opens from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and from 5:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Guests can also avail of 24 hour room service. If arriving by car, parking is available within a 3 minute walk of the hotel at Qpark Jamaica Street. Our comfortable bedrooms are suitable for up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All of our 321 bedrooms have air conditioning and are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, tea, coffee and hot chocolate refreshment dock and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Glasgow with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Jurys Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing