We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pub and Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackfriars

Blackfriars
Ranked #271 of 2,387 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$31
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We serve what we love - quality beers from around the world and high-calibre home-cooking. We also have a passion for live music and regularly play host to some of the most talented bands in Scotland (and occasionally from farther afield). But most importantly, we believe in a high standard of customer service - a welcoming atmosphere, attentiveness and of course, getting your pint in a timely manner (we know you're thirsty)!
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Great Pub and Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Worth a visit for the great selection of beers and great atmosphere. The food is great and good value. What's not to like?

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimglas01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    90
    14
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not impressed at all”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

To be brutally honest I was shocked at the state of this pub, being in the Merchant City area. Over £8 for two pints, then we went to sit down, only for the long back faux leather seating area (with lots of black tape on it which I assume was covering holes) to raise up from the back every time I moved at all.

I declined the offer of another drink and visited the toilets before leaving. They were disgusting, needed cleaned and the walls of the cubicle were covered in graffiti.

I'm far from someone who likes pretentious bars, however this environment doesn't warrant the price charged for drinks.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aberdeen_Ladette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Beer, Great Food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Visited in group of four and we all thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The staff were really friendly and attentive. We will be planning another visit very soon - thank you!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Haggis4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good beers & always busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

A decent pubs with a good selection of bottled beers with plenty of Belgian, German, British & American ones available. They have plenty of cask beers & 2 different Weihenstephan beers on tap as well which is a highlight.

Food is average pub grub but reasonably priced. The place is always busy but a seat or table usually isn't long in freeing up. Well worth a visit & probably Merchant City's beat pub.

Helpful?
Thank flyingpig86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good location ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip , ideally situated for commuting around Glasgow .
Lots of parking.
Warm and friendly bar / restaurant staff.
Did the best well done bacon for my breakfast .

Helpful?
Thank Geoffh1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blackfriars also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Blackfriars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing