We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bartenders are fantastic”
Review of Blackfriars

Blackfriars
Ranked #259 of 2,447 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: We serve what we love - quality beers from around the world and high-calibre home-cooking. We also have a passion for live music and regularly play host to some of the most talented bands in Scotland (and occasionally from farther afield). But most importantly, we believe in a high standard of customer service - a welcoming atmosphere, attentiveness and of course, getting your pint in a timely manner (we know you're thirsty)!
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bartenders are fantastic”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I've visited this bar every time I've come to Glasgow (every 4 months). Bartenders are friendly and know their drinks. A fun bar for after work drink and if you just like to people watch and start your night off right. Doesn't feel touristy. Food was pretty good and people who seem to go to this bar are friendly sort and will chat with anyone. Good atmosphere, definitely have a visit to see what great beers they have on tap.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    95
    16
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I've been a regular for over ten years and have always been fond of the selection of ales and pleasant staff. Over the past year I have noticed a steady change in the clientele, not for the better. Sad to say this but I will be hard pressed to justify returning after encountering the extreme rudeness of the door staff on 12th April, it was like stepping back in time to Glasgow in the mid nineties. Fortunately there are better pubs in the area but what a sad way to end a longstanding patronage.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Great Pub and Food”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Worth a visit for the great selection of beers and great atmosphere. The food is great and good value. What's not to like?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimglas01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not impressed at all”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

To be brutally honest I was shocked at the state of this pub, being in the Merchant City area. Over £8 for two pints, then we went to sit down, only for the long back faux leather seating area (with lots of black tape on it which I assume was covering holes) to raise up from the back every time I moved at all.

I declined the offer of another drink and visited the toilets before leaving. They were disgusting, needed cleaned and the walls of the cubicle were covered in graffiti.

I'm far from someone who likes pretentious bars, however this environment doesn't warrant the price charged for drinks.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aberdeen_Ladette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Beer, Great Food, excellent service”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Visited in group of four and we all thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The staff were really friendly and attentive. We will be planning another visit very soon - thank you!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Haggis4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blackfriars also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Blackfriars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing