We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
HOT MASALA South Indian restaurant
Price range: US$9 - US$20
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations, Seating
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Visited here with my husband one week night using a living social voucher. The food was freshly made to order and very tasty. Although we use a voucher we had a look at te menu and the food is very reasonably priced. This restaurant doesn't sell alcohol but doesn't charge corkage to bring your own bottle which is a bonus. Would be useful to have some wine glasses - we were given tumblers when we asked for glasses for the wine. Was very quiet dining in restaurant but it was a weeknight and didn't bother us at all. We will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
14 Thank 390katiet87390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“authentic freshly prepared indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Visited on a Sunday night using our Living Social deal. We were welcomed into the restaurant which I was surprised to find empty apart from us. I had "googled" the place before we visited and was a little disappointed with the appearance inside - in need of a revamp or visit by Gordon Ramsay I would say. The restaurant does not sell alcohol but diners are welcome to BYOB with zero corkage charge. (Hubby was pleased he read the small print before we left the house!) The food was freshly made to order so we didn't mind having a glass of wine while waiting for it to arrive. The food tasted delicious and I would have no hesitation in recommending it if you are looking for some really tasty Indian food. The restaurant is a bit off the beaten track, near the Cathcart entrance to Linn Park which meant a pleasant walk home for us. Maybe we will return on a Friday or Saturday night the next time in the hope that it is busier.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank TopWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Don't use this takeaway”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Ordered my Indian through just eat.com it took 1hour and 40mibs to arrive after me phoning twice to find out what was taking so long upon arrival I had to reheat my curry as it was cold and there was 5tiny little bits of chicken in the curry, very disappointed will not be using this takeaway again

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doh89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“the food took ages to come”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Family business. the food took ages to arrive to our table though the restaurant was empty. the food was average my soup tasted of burnt while my boyfriend who is pakistani didn't enjoy the food at all and claims the food served to him was cold

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank marta c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A wee beauty in the midst of nothing spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

This restaurant is literally in the midst of a housing scheme. We (my husband and myself,husband being a chef to trade) have eaten here twice.The rating of this restaurant as I have marked it, is based on the food and food only.

This restaurant seemingly has only been open for approximately one year,and I can not understand how it is not busier.

The food is excellent and the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners is brilliant.

The only thing I would say is they are needing to take a little more care with the appearance of the tables. Their laundry is not of the best standard. ( On saying that we eat off plates,not table-covers.)

We had a Living-Social voucher and the deal was for a starter and main course,we decided to go on a Wednesday evening and the place was empty. A few carry out meals were served and we were the only people eating.

But the staff could not have been nicer,or friendlier,and best of all the food could not have been nicer. This is the reason my award is 10/10

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank linda1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed HOT MASALA South Indian restaurant also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing