We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Food”
Review of New City Palace

New City Palace
Ranked #851 of 2,411 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Ate here several times, always had a lovely meal, lovely friendly staff, Great Pre Theatre prices, nice clean place, would highly recommend

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank momcn73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    42
    16
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“nice decor,if only food was as nice”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Had lunch here today at 1.30pm,nicely decorated and despite only 3 tables occupied, waiter still got our order wrong.we decided to eat it anyway but soup was only lukewarm,, not a good start.main courses were ok but not the best Chinese I,ve had.this place comes very low on my list although priced reasonably its definitely not good.chicken in batter wasn't cooked inside.but hey, you learn by experience.wouldn't like to use it when its busy.if you like nice décor and ain't too fussy about the food, this is the place to come.I wont be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bahnjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not the best meal ever”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The service was friendly, but the food was only okay. No raves for this one. We had mainly appetizers, and they were adequate, but for the price, the portions were very small. We were one of only two tables at the time, but we were made to feel rushed at the end of the meal.

However, the decor was nice and the location was right around the corner from our hotel.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MaddyBresler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcliffe, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“An enjoyable meal”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Nice restaurant with nice décor and good pre-theatre specials. We had the chicken with ginger and shallot and the beef with black bean. Spring rolls were good as a starter but the starter of ribs was lacking. Prices were reasonable, the place was clean and the service was good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wynnuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden costs - food not that good either”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Raw prawns in my noodles. 2 course menu has tiny print with extras for virtually everything. My raw prawns were £2.80.
The crispy chilli beef sauce was redolent of tomato ketchup - totally disgusting. The starter had been deep fried and was over cooked and dry! OH dear! Never again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Seraphimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New City Palace also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to New City Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing