We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for both beginner and advanced climbers”

Glasgow Climbing Centre
Ranked #18 of 50 Fun & Games in Glasgow
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The award winning Glasgow Climbing Centre offers a unique rock climbing experience, for people looking for a new sport to enjoy, or for existing climbers just arrived in Glasgow. We make full use of the converted church we are in, with climbing routes stretching up into the original oak beamed ceiling. We offer Bouldering, Top/Bottom roped climbing and Lead climbing with route graded from beginner to elite. Our great eatery, The Balcony Cafe, offers something for climbers and non climbers alike, with alternate vistas of climbing and original stained glass windows. This year we are Hit Listed by The List, as one of the finest cafes in Glasgow.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Lockers / storage
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for both beginner and advanced climbers”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Very friendly staff, good music for motivation, good variation of levels, tasty food upstairs in the cafe- a great way to spend a couple of hours! The only negative is that it's a little expensive.

Visited October 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank p0p10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    11
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One activity that suits kids 7-14, at long last, I've found it!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

All 4 of my kids have now had 2 brilliant sessions here. Aged 7,7,12&14, it's great to find something they all enjoy at the same time.
Atmosphere at the centre is great and I can't wait until the older 2 can join & climb together.
I wait in the cafe & smell the onions and garlic frying- great coffee.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MadmumGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCC_Manager_Rob, Manager at Glasgow Climbing Centre, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Hi MadMumGlasgow.
Thanks for your lovely review. You know that if you learn to climb too, you can sign in your kids as guests. This can work out a cheaper option than using my staff, although, sitting in the cafe relaxing while they all go off and climb is very nice too!
Cheers.
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place for a work-out, good routes, nice cafe and friendly atmosphere.”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Love this place! It attracts all sorts of people - couples, groups of friends, school groups and individuals.

It's great for a session after work, people are really friendly and you can sign someone in if you have a friend who wants to try climbing. Downstairs is a great bouldering room with crash mats where problem-solving skills are needed. Ground floor has top ropes already in-situ but you'll need to take ropes if you want to lead any of the bolted routes.

There's a small but well-stocked cafe upstairs if you haven't had time to grab some food first and there's nearly always music playing too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCC_Manager_Rob, Manager at Glasgow Climbing Centre, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi Josie.
Thanks for your great review. We try and keep the tunes playing all the time, as the building feels a bit wierd with out them! Everything is from Spotify, so if their is anything you want to listen to, just let us know next time your in. Oh, and what do you think of the cafe's new sandwich menu? Im working my way through the lot (for quality assurance purposes of course....!)

All the best.
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No return call”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Wanted to try our hand at climbing here while in Glasgow. Left both a voice message and sent an email to secure reservations and received a response to neither.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hallfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCC_Manager_Rob, Manager at Glasgow Climbing Centre, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi Hallfour.
Thanks for your feedback, with dates of contact. Your emails unfortunately were caught by our spam filter (I found them when I had the dates right). That is no excuse for us not returning your answerphone message though, and am sorry we missed out on seeing your climbing skills. I hope you will try us again next time you are in Glasgow.
All the best.
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Rock Climbing with a Soft landing”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The climbing walls are colour-coded for all abilities. None are very high and the floor is thick rubber so that if you do come off you have a safe landing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank April0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCC_Manager_Rob, Manager at Glasgow Climbing Centre, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi April.
Thanks for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Did you do any roped climbing, or was it just the bouldering? Ropes make falling off even safer than soft mats, so long as you trust the person holding the other end of the rope......... :-)
All the best.
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glasgow Climbing Centre also viewed

 

Been to Glasgow Climbing Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing