We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olympic House Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olympic House Apartments
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed here for a few days at the start of the month. When we arrived we had been given the old code for the door but thankfully a number had been left for us to contact for the new one. It was given to us without question but the chap on the phone was clearly otherwise engaged and hung up before I got the chance to ask any more questions. The location is brilliant so central and accessible as it is right next to Queen Street station. When you look out of the window there is actually a building site as the next block has been flattened but we were here when work was being carried out and didn't find it noisy at all.

The apartment itself (201) was very sparse inside and with one small corner sofa and a dining table in the quite large living room. The cutlery and crockery provided were very basic but clean although we were left with one dish towel which wasn't clean and smelled horrific. The living area was constantly freezing and we could not adjust the heat from inside the apartment and it appeared to be off but the hallways and bedrooms were boiling hot and we had to leave the windows open - which is not ideal for a city centre apartment with a building site next door...

It was ok but I have stayed in better serviced apartments in the city for very similar money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank futret81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    15
    11
    6
    10
See reviews for
9
18
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This is the first time I've stayed at serviced apartments in the UK. Despite a quite problematic check, ie there is no reception and the instructions only work providing the key safe works.
The rooms or should I say proper apartment are fantastic, a separate bathroom, bedroom and living room/kitchen. Very modern and All in excellent condition.
Olympic House is as central as you need to be. In fact the noise can get a little bit much, but not too bad.
straight out of the door there are places to eat and places to visit.
Will definitely use again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bangkokram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great apartments centrally located in George Square. I have stayed every week for the last few months on business and find the staff very accommodating, helpful and the apartments perfect for my requirements.
Only improvements could be better blinds on the windows to keep more light out but this is minor.

I would definitely recommend these for business or leisure travellers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I booked here having read mixed reviews on tripadvisor but on the balance most reviewers thought the appartments were ok
My experience was not good and even though a 2 bedroom appartment is roomy that is all that's going for it
There is no reception - even during the daytime when it is advertised that this is available We arrived at midday on a Friday - we had the code to get into the building I went to the reception room which had no light and had unopened mail on the desk The safe that was supposed to have the key in if reception was unattended was empty We rang the number for emergencies and the person who answered got the cleaning lady to meet us in the foyer and we got the key.There was no check of my identity and the key was handed over
The2bedroom apartment was spacious but smelt of cooking oils from the restaurants next door
The carpet was stained and walls grimy The hard floors were clean as were the bathrooms but there were holes in the wall in one bathroom where a towel rail had been
It was very hot inside and there was no instruction on how to manage heating Some of the windows opened slightly
Both of the beds are double only with thin pillows and very thick doonas
There is a massive building project happening next door (which I knew about from tripadvisor comments )which starts at 730 and goes till about 6 It is so loud that someone has sensibly programmed the TV so there is English subtext as you can't hear the tele if you have it on during the dayWe went out all day so it didn't really bother us
We stayed for 2 nights and the apartment was not serviced at all We had to buy more toilet paper and luckily had not left our towels on the floor expecting new ones
All of this was unsatisfactory but the most concerning aspect of this place is the total lack of any instruction in the event of an emergency
There was no instruction about what to do in the event of a fire in the building, and no emergency numbers to call if there was a medical emergency or a security problem .I knew from previous comments that there was virtually no support but I found this complete lack of information unnerving

The apartments are close to the railway station but this means they are in central Glascow and there are some down sides to this location eg beggars out the front of the building and the sounds of people fighting and screaming outside at night .I would have felt quite nervous if I had been staying there alone
Find somewhere else

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michellebrownmax, Manager at Olympic House Apartments, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for your review. Check In time is 3pm unless arranged beforehand, we do not put keys in the safe until all rooms have been cleaned and thoroughly checked. The lights in reception work on a sensor this conserves energy which we feel is better for the environment in the long run. The radiators in the room have settings running from 1-5 and there is also a thermostat on the wall should you find the room to warm. At this time of year we do put the heating on in the arrival rooms as we feel this gives a more welcoming atmosphere. All our windows are fitted with standard security latches. Unfortunately there has been some building work going on in the building next to us, all guests who are on the side of the building this affects are made aware of this upon booking, I'm sure you can understand this is something beyond our control. The apartments are serviced once a week for guests staying longer than 7 nights this is stated clearly on your confirmation however extra cleans can be arranged at a cost. As you state there is an emergency number. This is displayed clearly throughout Olympic house and is available for contact at all times, Should any situation arise this is the point of call. I'm sure you can understand there is bound to be some level of noise in a city center apartment although we do all we can to minimize this for our guests. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion but hope the above has outlined and addressed the issues you have raised. We hope to welcome you back to any of our sites in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Not a great start almost impossible to park close by so dropping off the luggage was difficult to say the least - no one available in office when we arrived and no key. But on the positive side the location is great a minute from Buchanan street and major shops; some great restaurants nearby the apartments are a good size. Probably these apartments will be better to use in 12 months time once the adjacent buiding demolision and constuction is completed.
Please get rid of the inch thick pillows - what was that!

Room Tip: Any room away from the construction side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benbecula Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed in a one bedroomed apartment, couldn't fault it: Clean, spacious, nicely decorated. There was a big building site backing on to my bedroom, heavy plant machinery going from about 07.30 each morning I was there (THIS IS NOT A DIG AT THE FACILITY) and judging from the size of the site this work will be ongoing for quite a while yet. Also as somebody else has mentioned, if you book through a 3rd party, make sure you contact the reception to get the relevant codes to get in to the building and collect your key, I had to wait for about 20 minutes while somebody got my key for me, not a massive issue as I was in no rush, I will know for next time! Almost forgot to mention the location, walking distance to Queen St and Central Stations, walking distance to Merchant City...basically walking distance to everywhere in town! Really good place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MuzzyOban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

It would have had a nightmare had I wanted to be anywhere around 4 or 5pm (my concert was at 8). It was a hard place to find. You collected your key from the keybox, however mine was not available when I arrived at 4pm. There was no reception so I was left clueless. After a meal across the road, my key was in the collection box. My room was nice, clean and modern. Good location, enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iprefertobefair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Artto Hotel
Artto Hotel
#75 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
City Centre
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic House Apartments

Property: Olympic House Apartments
Address: 142 Queen Street, Glasgow G1 3BU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Olympic House Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Olympic House Apartments Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing