We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont Do it !”

Harvester Hillington
Ranked #766 of 2,393 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Dont Do it !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I should have realised when i saw the heavily stained fabric on the booth we were sent to. It was my mothers treat or i would have walked. It was a festive menu- 4 choices only, except that the parsnip soup was now squash, there was no beef left and the vegetarian option of loaf was no a wellington with goats cheese ( not everyones favourite). The prawn cocktail served in a soup bowl with a lettuce leaf and some coleslaw was to be seen to be believed. The carrots on our main were probably OK when they were hot and my favourite frozen roast potatoes- yum. drinks were ok and i especially loved the flat pepsi. coffee served in a mug was fine, although all the stickys from teabags on the side of the tea pot indicated that the wash up process wasnt to be complimented.
Glad to leave- pity it was my mothers treat and we had to say it was good so as not to offend.

maybe thats why it was quit on the 1st of January, i say again- DONT DOI IT !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Hillington, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
We are very sorry that you left disappointed, following your meal at Harvester Hillington. We have emailed you personally as it is our goal to give every customer the best service possible and your feedback can help us achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    47
    34
    19
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely food, furniture due a refurb ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

If at Braehead shopping centre, this is a nice little place to dine nearby. The food was beautiful and salad bar was well stocked. Refillable Pepsi was great for kids. Prices average for pub grub.

On the negative side was the ageing furniture with worn materials and stuffing showing. A little wait to be seated, even though tables were plentiful. Also, the gents toilet was freezing cold and floor sticky. Perhaps, just a one off on our visit.

Worth a visit for the food.

Helpful?
Thank Glasgow_Rainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Hillington, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your meal with us on our Trip Advisor page. We were disappointed to read that you were not satisfied in your visit to the Harvester Hillington, and we have replied to you personally about this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ardrossan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“ann is a wee gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We visit here about a dozen times a year and only once or twice have we been slightly disappointed. Ann the waitress is just amazing... friendly,great memory and bends over backwards to help at every opportunity.the food is nice but the free salad cart can get a bit messy but the staff are always on top of it. An odd time if its really busy the staff seem a bit frazzled and like they need another member of staff to gelp. I complained once about overcooked chicken and they were so helpful and offered a replacement meal or the meal removed from the bill.

A cheap, cheerful place for a nice meal

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msfoxymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Hillington, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at Harvester Hillington. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Visited here and was pleasantly surprised. Food was really nice, salad bar was well stocked and the refill drinks were a good option. The only slight downfall (and the reason it's not a 5/5) was the waitress who served us wasn't particularly friendly. Not unpleasant but could have made more of an effort.

Helpful?
Thank Farmboy2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Hillington, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at Harvester Hillington, and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one we have written to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Happy Harvester...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Lovely place and very friendly staff. Decent menu overall and the food was great. Value was excellent and salad bar was an added bonus. Thoroughly enjoyed the visit and woul certainly visit again'
Highly recommended. Try it......

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DENISE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester Hillington, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Harvester Hillington and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harvester Hillington also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Renfrew, Renfrewshire
 

Been to Harvester Hillington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing