We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre Buchanan Galleries Hotel
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The Best!!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We arrived on the train late from a long day of travel. Our biggest problem was finding the hotel. We are from the US and used to street signs...oops..
I knew it had a view of the Edinburg Castle from its website, so we kept on walking. The signage is very discrete, next door to the Starbucks. Our troubles were over when we entered the hotel! The staff were so friendly and welcoming. We checked in to our room and I was disappointed to be looking at an alley way. I asked reception if they had any other rooms and to my disappointment they didn't, but assured me they would do their best to accommodate us the following evening. Before we left for a day of touring they assured us to have our things together and we would be in a new room when we arrived. After a long day of touring and returning to clean up for a nice dinner, we where sent to our new room with a stunning view of the castle, a very sweet welcoming card and balloons! WE dined out for our anniversary and upon our return, I mentioned it would be nice to have an after dinner drink and some dessert. The restaurant was closed but we were offered a brownie with Ice cream. The staff was exceptional! The room is a standard European style room, clean and new. WE give this hotel a 5star for its great staff and location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toothfairy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,018
    696
    121
    30
    16
See reviews for
668
1,153
154
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just a short weekend visit. The hotel is pretty new so decor is fresh. Good air-conditioning which is important during the short Scottish summer. Obviously one of the best things about the hotel is its city centre location. The breakfast was pretty good too.

Room Tip: Parking is not easy close to hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotsman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed on a visit to the Commonwealth Games. Staff, location, rooms excellent. Price will drop once games are over and this will be excellent value. Loads of good shops and pubs around. Even found time to have a haircut in Malik's across the road.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vandal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Market, Maryland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel during a hot spell. It had air conditioning (the only hotel in Scotland that we visited that was so equipped). Otherwise it was a well located average city hotel of the economy type.
This is a rather large hotel with many stories and is typical of its type (small rooms cramped lifts, impersonal). It's my impression that many guests were in town for business (it's quite centrally located, near the train station and city subway lines) based on the number of people in the bar wearing business clothes and huddling intensely over tablets. It probably meet business needs quite nicely; it would meet mine if I had been there for business. Otherwise, its surely not a place where you want to hang out in your room much (other than to enjoy the aforementioned air conditioning). We were vacationing though and so, while the hotel met many needs, the room was just okay. But okay was good enough given the location.
The lobby for this hotel is on the second floor. There is a single entrance, on the unfortunately named West Nile (think of the virus) street. Getting up to the actual door involves dragging bags up a short flight (say, five steps) to get to the elevators. If you have large bags that don't drag easily or if you are not in a condition to do the dragging there is a lift to the first level for those with disabilities (to the right). It's capable of handling bags as well as people. Baggage storage is also on this level, so if you must arrange for someone from the front desk staff to accompany you back down stairs to store or retrieve bags.
The front desk actually isn't one. It's a pair of podiums at which greeters stand, ready to check you in or out or to answer questions. This Premier has adopted a lot of little technology tools and check in is part of that. I found it to be quick and efficient.
The restaurant and bar are off the lobby near reception and elevators are opposite the front desk (front podia?) through a door. This is not immediately apparent, but there are signs. The elevators are quick and quiet, which is good because there are a lot of floors and it can be a long ride. This hotel is very serious about security (although the area seems safe enough) and as in all good security systems there are concentric perimeter rings. These begin with access card requirements for the elevators above reception (room key) and include access card requirements for doors leading off of elevator lobbies on each floor and then room key cards.
The service was cheerful and friendly at all times. Everyone was willing to help out and some refused tips (I know gratuities are included in a lot of prices, but many offer small sums for superior assistance in the UK).
The bar/restaurant is the weak spot for this hotel. First of all its not open for all three meals so check before planning on eating there. The wine list is very poor; beer appears to be better. The view from the dining room, however, is terrific and the bar staff is very friendly, cheerful and helpful. There are much better places to eat nearby, but if you are staying at the hotel for business or a conference and need a place to eat it is convenient.

Room Tip: If you have limited mobility this might not be the hotel for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BizDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed at this Premier Inn during the Commonwealth Games. Fantastic hotel.We were on the 17th floor....Great view and so quiet. Room was super. Spotlessly clean and completely newly decorated. Had the 'All you can eat' breakfasts which were very good,we especially liked the choice of teas and coffees. This hotel is right in the centre of the shopping area and close to bars and restaurants.Staff are friendly and helpful. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Very clean, super A/C, quiet - great to sleep. Super location for the city, bus and train station. Friendly, efficient staff. Despite the hotel being full, everything worked well. Congratulations to all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliDUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here - a great place to visit the city and for us a great base for the Commonwealth games. Highlight was definitely the restaurant, and in particular waiting staff Laura and Javier, who went out of their way to look after us and to look after our 5 year old son (who suffers from a number of food allergies) - their care and attention made the stay for him, and therefore for us all. That said, everyone we dealt with was friendly, attentive and helpful, and made our stay, even though the hotel was packed every night.

The only small downsides were the difficulty in parking to unload (the car park is 5 minutes walk away which is usually fine but too far to easily bring the luggage for a family of 4 for 3 nights) and the fact that the mattress on our bed was a little tired but overall a great experience and definitely somewhere I'd recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,961 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre Buchanan Galleries Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre Buchanan Galleries Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre Buchanan Galleries Hotel
Address: 141 West Nile Street | St Andrew House, Glasgow G1 2RN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Best Value Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre Buchanan Galleries Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich pickings for shopping and the arts, close to the King's Theatre and Glasgow Royal Concert Hall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre Buchanan Galleries Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre Buchanan Galleries Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing