We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“on a voucher”

Singh's Little India
Ranked #875 of 2,407 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“on a voucher”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Our voucher this time was for a main course each with rice and naan to share for 2 for 13£ from livingsocial.
I loved the restaurant inside as it is quite cosey my curry was good in taste and the lamb was very tender but was very full of red food coloring which I didn't like my boyfriend had another curry with chicken the naan was really good nice and warm and crispy so all in all we did like the food and would like to return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marta c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Try It You Won't Be Dissapointed!”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a cracking wee Indian. The food is superb, very fresh, made to order, with some unusual dishes on the menu. I tried their padora bread which is like a really fluffy nan bread with sliced chilli chicken on top, mmmmmmmm. No matter what we've ordered recently, or in the past, it is always tasty. I believe the owners Mum does all the cooking. Very authentic, drinks are always well presented too, service is excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizgo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Very Tasty”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Although atmospherically nothing special and the service slow the food delivered absolutely made up for it. One of the best curry's i have tasted. Wonderful Korma, Garam Masala served with lovley fresh Nan bread. Defiantly somewhere i will be heading back to in the future.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aligravenil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Real Cut Above in Shawlands, Little India.”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Pooped into Singh's Little India on a whim as was passing. Usually eat Indian food from one of the many 3 in 1 type places on Pollokshaws/Kilmarnock Road after a few beers, so am used to the standard Mushroom, Veg and Chicken type mixed Pakoras. They usually cost £7-£8 for a large portion.
Got my £6.50 takeaway home from L I, still hot as packed in an insulated container and found a generous mix of crispy light battered, Haggis, Cauliflower, Fish and the standard Veg, Mushroom and Chicken. A good sized tub of sauce topped it off perfectly.
Fast and friendly service as well. Don't waste your money anywhere else.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“There are better curries around”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

So I visited Little India as I wanted to complete my Shawlands strip of Indian restaurants, plus it was marginally cheaper than Cafe Noor (which I had already been to) when outside of Cafe Noor's awesome pre-theatre deal time.

The service wasn't particuly speedy or good (they were very puzzled that one of our group wanted popadums with his main, not as a starter and that we weren't ordering starters) and indeed proceeded to deliver the popadums as a starter - awkward as no one else had a starter.

Beer prices around average for an Indian restaurant. The keema naan was really nice though, with a proper layer of keema in the middle of the naan.

The mince vindaloo was also very tasty, really hot too. However the Tikka Masala looked very similar to the korma which was slightly off-putting.

In a city full of very good and excellent Indian restaurants, I'm afraid I can't recommend Little India - however it's decent enough.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joeymcjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Singh's Little India also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Singh's Little India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing