We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing like it used to be”
Review of Cocktail & Burger - CLOSED

Cocktail & Burger
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing like it used to be”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I used to love this place, but since they changed the menu it has gone totally downhill. I took a couple of friends from down south when I was in a couple of weeks ago and the once bursting walls of artwork were bare and barren looking. The music was some sort of elevator music that soundly like the same song for 40 minutes- that was until the barman decided to play motorbike noises through the speakers and almost deafened us! Not exactly what you want to hear when you are trying to eat your lunch. The waitress was running about serving the tables and pouring drinks as the barman appeared to be standing barking orders and chatting to his friend, she eventually ended up disappearing and when she came to check up on us it was obvious she had been crying, extremely awkward considering I had raved about the place to my friends- even likening it to Meat Liquor in London. I can assure you it is not. The food was enjoyable, but the menu is too small, I had the pork with fries, which come free with your burger at lunchtime but not after 3pm (seriously) and I just wish they would bring back the mussel popcorn. All in all it's a shadow of its former self, seems it's living on it's once great reputation. It will soon drown in the competition, especially with the likes of Buddies and Burger Meats Bun.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    33
    28
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I'm a regular visitor to this place & it's usually very enjoyable. Was in a few nights ago (on Saturday)-waitress was not at all friendly, don't think she even smiled. Starters were ok but not as good as usual(Coney Island fries-chilli was lumpy & pink in the middle). Burgers were practically thrown on the table -not up to usual standard & waitress never bothered asking if everything was ok. Very Disappointing visit-think it may be time to find somewhere that cares about the customer instead of a "bye" from the guy on the bar too busy trying to impress the females at the bar whilst recreating Tom Cruises' moves on Cocktail!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra09Lanarkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I had the duck burger and it was delish. Not to expensive but you have to order chips separately. Good value and good atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmbe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Room for improvement”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Have been here 3 times now and it's not as good as it was previously. Food is okay but the staff really need to pay more attention to customers and less time chatting to each other and standing on their phones. Each time I've visited it's been more expensive too. I'll give it one last go probably because I do like the atmosphere despite everything else.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamiej1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Not up to par”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

On a quiet lunchtime, a quick lunch of burgers, fries and chicken wings. Almost £30, including two draft cokes.

The cheese burger I had was just shy of £8, and was not medium rare as stated on the menu, the bun wasn't toasted, in fact, the only redeeming feature of the burger was the mound of melted blue cheese. A million miles away from the burgers offered yards from the establishment's door. The fries seemed like well-seasoned catering fries, the chicken wings were either from frozen or pre cooked, shrivelled and dry. No amount of sauce hides a bad wing.

The food, whilst not bad enough to send back or not pay, but why would anyone put up with paying a premium for this, when just down the street, they have a better product.

As we left, we were the only people in the place. Coincidence?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank igbidesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cocktail & Burger also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing