We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric concert hall”

Barrowland Ballroom
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.82*
and up
Merchant City Music Walking Tour of Glasgow
Ranked #69 of 277 things to do in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Atmospheric concert hall”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Not my favourite music venue in the town but a good venue for noisy bands who get the crowd moving. Less suitable for quieter. / more mellow acts. The last sound heard at every concert is the sound of the audience crushing plastic pint glasses underfoot as they leave .

Helpful?
Thank Elgingold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    24
    8
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Intimate venue for gig's”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Great venue. If any of your favourite artists are appearing here it's worth going. Even experiment and check out some new bands. It's really old but you can smell the history.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Macorrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top venue for music gigs”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

When I see this venue for my favourite bands being advertised, I'm well chuffed. Always has a fantastic, bouncing atmosphere.
I was warned years ago not to wear my best clothes which is true as drinks etc thrown, it's hot, sweaty and a little bit mad!! Love it!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aberdeen_Ladette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrimac, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great music venue”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Not as big as the likes of abc or the arches but definatly has a vibe you just dont get anywhere else in glasgow get down and check out this famous ballroom

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank garythebadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best venue in Glasgow”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

It's increasing rare that I make it to a concert in the Barrowlands these days, especially with the O2 Academy stealing half their business but this place is miles better. The sound is fantastic and the fact you can still watch the gig as you stand at the bar is a bonus. Easily the best place to see a mainstream band in Scotland.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank flyingpig86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barrowland Ballroom also viewed

 

Been to Barrowland Ballroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing