We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time for a business modell change”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson
Ranked #38 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Bussum, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Time for a business modell change”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Free Wi-Fi, clean and in the city centre. This was stated when I booked the hotel. 2 were true, one was a lie.

The hotel is indeed in the city centre, the location is just spot on. Everything is within walking distance. The hotel itself is clean and the staff is friendly. The rooms, though a bit small, are nice and have everything you need. The beds are excellent actually, so the hotel has got a lot of positive sides. The restaurant and bar is a boring environment, but nothing unusual for a UK hotel.

As a business traveler I need Wifi. Now, the hotel claims it’s free. However, the free part is an absolutely mind-blowingly slow connection and it’s limited to one device. Working on that line was impossible. Also, 1 device per room is rubbish. Everyone has at least 2 devices (phone/laptop/tablet), and if you are with 2 in a room, you’re stuck. So, this is costing them a point.

Ok, so I’ve decided that I need the upgrade, which gives you OK internet speed (nothing more). Still a limit but 4 devices. The price? 10GBP. Really? So, for me it’s now cheaper to hook up my phone as Wi-Fi hotspot and pay the roaming costs. And, it’s actually faster too.
This is just plain stupid. There goes another point.

It’s time these kind of hotels reconsider their business models.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossSaunders, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Hi Knevel,

Thank you for the tripadvisor review.

I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel staff, facilities, and location. A city centre hotel with excellent service and impeccable cleanliness are goals we strive to provide every day.

I'm sorry to hear you had difficulties with the wi fi connection. We have 24 hour support from our provided to eliminate these obstacles.

I hope this will not deter you from using the hotel in the future and I hope we will see you again soon.

Regards,
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    363
    129
    41
    9
See reviews for
94
392
63
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maribor
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Centrally located Hotel, but with almost no outside noise after midnight. Very friendly, helpful staff. Towel rails and more storage in bathroom would be needed, but the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Free internet in room included! Would stay again if every in Glasgow again.

Room Tip: If you want less noise, ask for a room to the side street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skripec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossSaunders, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thanks for the 5* review skripec!

Of all the positive comments you have mentioned we are especially proud of your staff appraisal. :)

The addition of a secondary glazing unit in all of our rooms helps minimise the external noise expected from a busy city centre while allowing you to be right in the thick of the action, exactly where you want to be in Glasgow!

I hope we see you again soon.

Regards,
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Recently stayed for 3 nights .Very clean, spacious room. Food was fine and breakfast had a great choice. Nice staff and excellent location for shops, transport, bars and places to eat. Would definately return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicos m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossSaunders, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for the 5* review rnikki2014!!!

It's great to know you had a fantastic relaxing trip to Glasgow and we are chuffed to have been part of this.

I hope we see you again soon.

Regards,
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just spent another weekend at this centrally located hotel. Rooms very neat and minimalist inside, bathroom small & compact but very clean with an excellent shower and lovely towels.
No real parking available and some external noise due to its location but didn't stop us from sleeping in the very comfortable bed with nice bedding. Dining room well set out, staff appear to be under pressure, I think there are less staff available than last years visit which may account for the fact they are all hurrying about.
No obvious front of house manager about as there was last year, I put that the fact the hotel was very new last year.
Evening meal Ok.Breakfast many & varied choices, either continental or full Scottish, one small complaint - the cold plates on offer only make the just warm breakfast even colder. Surely there are means of producing/or keeping a plate hot to make the breakfast really good. Would stay here again but think I would speak to a manager if I could find one!

Room Tip: We had front bedroom on both occasions but experienced some noise from the street, so suggest the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iloveitaly65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossSaunders, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Hi IloveItaly65,

Thank you for the positive review.

All the staff at the hotel endeavour to provide excellent customer service. We do have a duty manager on shift 24/7 to ensure smooth running of the hotel and I'm sorry their presence was not felt while you were in the restaurant.

I hope we will see you again soon.

Regards,
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkhamsted
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The staff here all tried to be helpful but were hampered by the chain's format and the hotel's location. We were caught short, and this was one of the last rooms available - but the down side was that it was absurdly expensive for what we offered.

The hotel advertises 'free internet - available for all guests' - this is not true. it is available for one piece of kit for each room - well my wife and i have different e-mail arrangements set up on two pieces of kit - so free internet was not available for both.

I am lame so avoid stairs - do not go to this hotel - you can only get into reception on the first occasion by climbing stairs. The disabled exit leads one to a dark side lane where a lone woman would not normally choose to go.

The room was small - especially for the money - and although there was double glazing I did not enjoy being woken at 0400 hours by police sirens, shouting in the street, revving cars and so on.

All in all, the worst night i have spent in Glasgow - not good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisBerkhamsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossSaunders, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Hi chrisBerkhamsted,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor review.

First off I'd like to thank you for the appraisal of our staff who are always on hand to assist as best they can.

I'd also like to apologise that we did not meet your expectations in some aspects of your visit.

Our accessible entrance at the rear of the hotel allows access to the reception area and room floors without the challenge of the stairs at the front of the hotel. We are a grade two listed building which provides both aesthetically pleasing architecture, but simultaneously building restrictions as we are unable to change the layout of the entrances.

Free wi fi is offered throughout the hotel. There is also an alternative premium option that allows for multiple devices and a faster connections.

We have 91 rooms all with different layouts and sizes, I'm sorry you did not like the room you were assigned. In the future we could show you some alternatives that you may prefer.

I hope this visit will not deter you from using the hotel in the future and I hope we see you again soon.

Regards,
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Centrally located Hotel, although central location does mean some outside noise up to 3am. Very friendly, helpful staff. Towel rails and more storage in bathroom needed. Room and bathroom spotlessly clean. Would stay again if every in Glasgow again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Inn by Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Shiela I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossSaunders, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thanks for the great review Shiela I.

It's great to know you would use our hotel again and I hope you are back soon!!! :)

Regards,
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Unfortunately we only stayed here one night, would have liked to stay longer as it is a lovely hotel however we could only get tickets for one event at the Commonwealth Games. The greeting when we arrived was really lovely, friendly and informative. Our room was great, nice and clean, decent size, quiet air conditioning which worked well, comfy bed and nice bathroom. The location is excellent right in the middle of Glasgow, I can understand the front stairs could be a problem for some. when we returned from our day at the games in our room was a bottle of water, some snacks and apples with a nice note from the hotel, this was just what we needed after a hot trip back on the train from the velodrome. We felt the price of the room was comparable considering the games were on, we were lucky enough to be able to book early on though so this may have helped. We will definitely stay here again and would also recommend a visit to Gin71 bar and enjoy how they serve their gin and the collection.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossSaunders, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for the 5* review BerkshireJulie!

The Commonwealth Games were an excellent showcase of what this amazing city is capable of. I'm glad we were a part of your experience in the games and hope we see you again soon!

Regards,
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,127 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson

Property: Park Inn by Radisson
Address: 139 - 141 West George Street, Glasgow G2 2JJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Inn by Radisson Glasgow City Centre puts guests on the doorstep of Glasgow's nightlife and dining scene. Located near the financial district, the hotel is an ideal hub for business and leisure travellers. Premier attractions, train stations and the airport are close by. Relax in one of the 91 stylish, colourful and comfortable bedrooms, which include superb amenities like Free Wireless High-speed Internet, flat-screen televisions and complimentary toiletries. Enjoy an appetising meal for breakfast in the colourful restaurant. Hotel facilities also include a fitness centre so you can work out without leaving the premises. The event's staff can help visitors make the most of our 2 well-equipped meeting rooms, perfect for hosting small events for up to 40 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo, Rezidor, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing