We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ A great new years eve party”

The Grosvenor Cinema
Ranked #26 of 50 Fun & Games in Glasgow
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Grosvenor Cinema is Glasgow's only fully-licensed cinema. It contains two one-hundred capacity screens with luxury sofa chairs and comfy full-size couches. Our aim is to bring you the best cinema, from the latest releases and cult classics to world cinema and ballet. Come along, grab a glass of wine, or a bottle of beer and enjoy the show.The Grosvenor takes great pride in being at the heart of the West End. We like to do things a bit differently in our little cinema. Look out for unusual nights and events!
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ A great new years eve party”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere was a great time. On such a busy night it took forever to get a drink at the bar. They had a beatles cover band who were great. Our large group had some appys to the table and it was fantastic food. A great night out with friends.

Helpful?
Thank Shaun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinemaManager, Manager at The Grosvenor Cinema, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a comment, and we're so pleased you had a great NYE here! There was indeed a great atmosphere on the night, we had a great time as well - it was a pleasure to work it with so much great stuff going on. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    8
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Our New Favourite Cinema”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We booked to see The Hobbit - The Desolation Of Smaug whilst visiting Glasgow as it was one of the few places offering the film in 2D and also looked like an interesting alternative to the typical cineplex.

We paid a little bit extra for one of the sofa seats ... VERY comfy and ideal to snuggle up on. Having said that, all the seats looked very comfortable; definitely a cut above the usual.

They offer a wide selection of snacks and beverages BUT you can also take drinks from the adjoining The Lane bar & cafe into the cinema.

Overall a fantastic experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinemaManager, Manager at The Grosvenor Cinema, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hello AH!

Thanks very much for coming to our wee cinema, glad you enjoyed yourself! It's lovely to have such a positive review and it gives us a real boost to read it.

It's also nice to have another Grosvenor sofa fan, we love them too.

We hope to see you soon, come back and the new year and say 'Hiya!',

Lots of love, GC x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“THE place to see a movie”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Love this place. Not the cheapest, but the small cinema, comfy leather seats and being able to take in a bottle of wine, make a visit to the cinema a real event. Wouldn't go anywhere else.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinemaManager, Manager at The Grosvenor Cinema, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Hi Fiona,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! We’re always delighted to hear that our efforts to provide a unique and enjoyable cinema experience are appreciated. We’re also always up for turning a trip to the pictures into a real event, just see our summer line up of everything from Bring Your Own Seat Cinema to the World’s End Pub Crawl!

As I said, it’s fantastic to hear you've had fun here at the Grosvenor and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Visited the Grosvenor for the first time yesterday. We had booked a sofa and were very glad we had (although the seats were very comfortable too). Small cinema with tables at the side for drinks and snacks and loved having a glass of wine while watching the film!!! We are talking about our next visit already.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PollyWolly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinemaManager, Manager at The Grosvenor Cinema, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Hi Polly,

Wow, we’re so glad you put some time aside to leave such a nice review of your visit to our little cinema! It’s always wonderful to hear that people enjoy what we have to offer here, we really do make an effort to do things a bit differently and the sofas and wine are a part of that.

We can’t wait to welcome you back for your next visit, hopefully the occasion you left your comments about will be the first of many!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great night out for the release of skyfall!”
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Went here with my partner for the release of skyfall and had booked dinner and the movie with the offer. The food was lovely and I just love the atmosphere of the place. Then went downstairsfor the movie in the most comfy cinema in the world with lovely leather seats and it's made even better by the bar you can get drink to take into the movie with you. Drink is a little pricey but it's well worth it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frazer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinemaManager, Manager at The Grosvenor Cinema, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Hi Frazer,

Sorry for the lateness of this reply, although your visit was some time ago we’d still like to take the opportunity to thank you for your lovely comments!

The ‘Dinner and a Movie’ package we offer with the Grosvenor Cafe is fantastic for a special night and we’re so glad you enjoyed each part of it.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grosvenor Cinema also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Grosvenor Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing