We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“take away something special” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mings Express

Mings Express
Ranked #1,728 of 2,387 Restaurants in Glasgow
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Takeout
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
411 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“take away something special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is a takeaway only, but it is adjacent to Busby Train station and serves superb fast Chinese food. Main courses are £3.99 and portions are large and in my opinion good quality , some of the best Chinese foods l have tasted for a while. Pancake Rolls for starters were quite large and filling , my only comment would be to cut back on the bean sprouts as there were too many and a reduction would reduce the size and enhance the flavour .
Salt and chilli beef was dry as expected and the shredded beef was moist with Mandarin sauce and both dishes had a nice chilli bite and the fried rice and noodles were sufficient to accompany and fill. I think my perfect dish would be salt and chilli beef and Shredded beef mixed 50/50. Anyway , with free Prawn Crackers and Veg. Pancake Rolls , 4 of us were totally filled with an enjoyable and tasty meal for £35 .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Mings. Enough said.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Menu choices - all the usual suspects along with some Thai and Malaysian dishes.

Tried the meal for 1 at £7.80 (January 2014)
Soup, Appetiser and a chicken or beef Main course. Excellent price but was the food any good.

Starter - Chicken and Sweetcorn Soup. Usual portion size, not the worst but could have been a bit thicker with more flavour. Just madepass marks.

Appetiser - BBQ Spare Ribs. Small portion size as it was part of the meal deal. Nice gravy/sauce, ribs were a bit chewy. If the ribs had been a bit more tender this would be a good dish, as it was it's just a pass.

Main - Malaysian Beef Satay with Fried rice. Big portion size. Beef with onions and peppers and I think thin strips of carrots as well.
Strangest Satay I've had for a while, no real peanutty flavour and although there was some spice the taste was very tangy. Got a second opinion on this one and they agreed it was very different and not to their taste either. Went to waste I'm afraid. Definitely different from what I'd expect from a good Satay. Big fail.

Obviously just a small sample from their menu so unless someone can give me an Idea what would be excellent from Ming's I'll be giving it a miss meantime.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gdnumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“handy take away”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Not a bad take away. Very handy in its position in Busby. The Japanese sauce is very good and you never have to wait too long for your carry out.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Had lost faith in ever finding real quality chinese food locally until now!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Fantastic food, great service, fast delivery, three course meal for one is exceptional value, delighted to have found such a wonderful chinese takeaway locally which has restored my faith.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mairibonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mings Express also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Mings Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing