We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sushi!”
Review of Nippon Kitchen

Nippon Kitchen
Ranked #84 of 2,543 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$39
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Modern Japan meets old Glasgow in this cool and contemporary refurb of a Grade A listed City Centre building.Authentic Japanese food made using fresh locally sourced ingredients and served in a relaxed and informal setting.Serving crisp tempura, mouth-watering noodle dishes, the freshest sushi, handmade to order, and much more.A true taste of Japan in the centre of Glasgow.
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I visited here with my family during the commonwealth games. I had a bento box and everything was delicious. The fish was the freshest I've ever tasted and the sushi was delicious.

The only bad comment I could say is we ordered starters (2 to share) and our mains arrived and nothing was said about the starters, so a bit disorganised and lack of communication within the team maybe.

However, this was handle by the staff member very well and we ended up getting a discount off our meal and complementary green tea ice cream, which was also amazing!

I will definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jasmine0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippon_Kitchen, Manager at Nippon Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Thanks very much for taking the time to review us.
Apologies for the mix up you experienced, though we're pleased that you enjoyed your overall experience and the complimentary ice cream (the green tea ice cream is our favourite!).
We hope to welcome you back soon and often.
Kindest Regards,
The Nippon Kitchen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

739 - 743 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Visited the Nippon Kitchen just last week and had lunch with three friends and it was outstanding. We did not have a booking but we were able to get a table at lunchtime and it was a great lunch. The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere was nice. The selction of food was worthy of many visits but in this case we all had different types of bento boxes and they were great. Nice food and good service for a good price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippon_Kitchen, Manager at Nippon Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Thanks very much for taking the time to let us know about your Nippon experience, we're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and the bentos as much as you did!
We do hope you'll be back in again soon.
Kindest Regards,
The Nippon Kitchen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Visited here during the Commonwealth Games. We had a bento box and some salmon sashimi for lunch as well as a couple of cheeky lunchtime cocktails. The food was great, really fresh and well presented. House cocktails fab! Decor inside is very nice and service was excellent. Highly recommended. Also.....we saw Denise Lewis getting take-out so she's on board with this place too!

Thank Becca115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippon_Kitchen, Manager at Nippon Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Thanks very much for taking the time to write your review, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself as much as you did!
We're glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your meal, including the celebrity spotting!
We hope to welcome you back soon and often.
Kindest Regards,
The Nippon Kitchen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

After hearing some great reviews me and the misses came in for what i can only describe as the best Sushi ive had in this country started off with the tempura prawns and the kimchi soup simply fantastic great balance of flavours. To move onto chicken katsu curry salmon sashimi eel nigiri soft shell crab and chicken gyoza all were fantastic and really well presented top marks. Also recommend the lychee saki (cold) well be back

Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippon_Kitchen, Manager at Nippon Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

We're so thrilled to hear that we've converted you to our Nippon way of life!
Thanks very much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your meal, it's very much appreciated.
Kindest Regards,
The Nippon Kitchen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Being up in Glasgow for the commonwealth games my daughter wanted sushi and this place came highly recommended by a friend of mine. We booked a table for 6 pm and I am glad we did because the place was really busy even though it was so early in the evening and also because our meal was so nice. The restaurant itself is a really nice space and the staff were very attentive. We managed to eat our way through 2 starters, 2 mains, some shashimi and 2 sushi dishes. All of that with a bottle of wine, a pint of crisp Japanese lager and a coke came in at less than £70 which was really good value for money. It's clear to see why this place is so popular with the locals.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 2housty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippon_Kitchen, Manager at Nippon Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Thanks so much for such a glowing review, we're really pleased that you and your daughter enjoyed yourself as much as you did!
We hope that you'll be back in upon your next Glasgow visit.
Thanks again for taking the time to review us.
Kindest Regards,
The Nippon Kitchen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nippon Kitchen also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Nippon Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing