We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant”
Review of McCune Smith Cafe

McCune Smith Cafe
Ranked #330 of 2,428 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$13
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: McCune Smith Cafe offers a range of enlightenment deli sandwiches and other tasty treats...Think NYC meets Glesga! We enjoy sourcing our supplies as locally and ethically as possible, the sandwich combinations on the menu are designed with nutrition in mind...Some food for thought!
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely brilliant”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Fab staff, fab place, fab menu and the coffee is AMAZING! Such an impressive wee place - well worth a visit!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    18
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Wee gem. High quality food.”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This little cafe is a wee gem. It opened last year and I've been a regular ever since. They do excellent breakfasts (porridge, roll and sausage), a good range of sandwiches and home made soup, a delicious range of cakes and good coffee. This is not a an ordinary food though. The porridge comes with honey and blueberries, the sausages are pork and herb (and HUGE), the sandwiches are hand-made to order from high quality ingredients, The service is excellent - the staff are have genuine smiles. Its's a good place to sit in with a couple of friends - or by yourself with a coffee and read of their newspapers. Considering the quality of the ingredients, its very good value. The decor is classy too. They are now doing occasional evening openings which would also be worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzieS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McCuneSmithCafe, Public Relations Manager at McCune Smith Cafe, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for the lovely comments, and cheers for taking the time to leave feedback. I have to say that when it comes to the delicious Ramsay's of Carluke bacon and sausages, we are very lucky to have such good produce so locally, we love their products. Thanks again! AB, McCune Smith Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Such good value (and great taste)”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Every item has been thought through
Great coffee
Stupendous cake
Stonkingly good sandwiches
BUT needs more bench seats..:)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank shawbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything spot-on at this very smart café”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I've visited this place four times (twice for breakfast and twice for lunch) and every time I've left very happy. Their extensive choice of sandwiches is different to most cafés I've been to and they're almost always delicious. Great coffee, good cakes, very pleasant service and very smartly decorated. I'd even say it's worth that extra few minutes it takes to get there from the city centre.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Padougy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Super stylish, fantastic coffee, tasty well sourced food and friendly service. Top notch.

Looking forward to trying more of their lunch options.

Helpful?
1 Thank aldoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McCune Smith Cafe also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to McCune Smith Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing