We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming”
Review of Laurieston Bar

Laurieston Bar
Ranked #12 of 209 Nightlife in Glasgow
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My wife and I were leading a school trip to explore Glasgow and the rebranding that has happened. We got off the subway with many of the girls needing the toilet, however the subway had no toilets! Popped into the pub and they were so fantastic! Not only did they let us use their facilities but they spoke to a number of our students about how the public facilities have changed and how Glasgow has changed on the whole. There was even a stag do in and the time and it was busy, but they made time to speak to us. Can't recommend them enough!

3  Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josephc1983, Owners Son at Laurieston Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review the pub.
Your comments are really appreciated.

Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

I wouldn't normally bother reviewing pubs but have to make an exception for the Laurieston, mainly because it looks so dingy from the outside and it's not in a great area so most people wouldn't even try it, but it's definitely worth the trip. When you walk in it really does look like you're in the 1960s, but it's a nice kind of shabby and it's always clean. The owners are lovely, always chatting with people. There's a free jukebox which I think is great and the selection can be relatively recent (as in 2000 onwards rather than top 40!). On the odd night a woman with a brilliant singing voice comes in and it ends up a sort of folk concert, sounds corny but it's great fun. At first I thought people would be a bit weird about us coming in because we're all in our 20s and it is admittedly a little bit of an 'old man' pub, but no problems there, always end up having a chat or a coaster pyramid competition with someone. To sum it up, it's not a high-paced place to get steaming but it's a lovely place for a relaxed night.

3  Thank machalba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josephc1983, Manager at Laurieston Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thanks for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Old fashioned, well-maintained and relaxed time-warp pub just outside the city centre. It's been used for pub interior shots on movies and TV shows set in/around the 60s. It has both a lounge and bar and there's a FREE jukebox in the bar, FREE library book system in both lounge and bar, there's a SECRET room in the bar! They also sell hot pies/bridies with peas or beans and if you're in at the right time you might get free grub! Staff are really friendly, prices are cheaper than the city centre. There are TVs in the bar showing sports, the bar tables are the old kind where you can put your pint underneath to play dominoes (or whatever). They sell real ale from Fyne ales (so has received accolades from CAMRA). Easy to get to by subway to Bridge St or (most) buses going down Jamaica St and the whole pub is on 1 level (ground floor) should you have any mobility concerns.

Thank cro-magnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josephc1983, Owners Son at Laurieston Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review the pub.
Your comments are really appreciated.

Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The Laurieston sits a five minute walk South of the River Clyde. Single storey on a corner site it doesnt look that appealing, but please give it a try. Originally a Victorian pub with a traditional island bar it was given a full refurbishment sometime in the 1960s - and it doesnt seem to have changed since! Its fantastic interior is like stepping back in time with formica and 1960s tables in the bar. It still has the old pie heaters.

As you enter from Bridge Street the bar is on the left, the lounge to the right. The lounge has a great jukebox with lots of up to date music and the venue is a favourite for those going to gigs at the Academy. (Jukebox was free when I went). The bar is excellent with various Glasgow snippets on the walls and has a friendly relaxed feel.

What really makes this place are the staff and the clientele. The older couple who run this place (Im sorry i dont know your names) and the other staff are professionals without doubt. Always checking to see if anyone needs served. Friendly staff who occassionaly serve up toasties for free...amazing.

In summary the Laurieston is a classic Glasgow pub . Please dont change.

1  Thank prvnipivni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josephc1983, Owners son / barman at Laurieston Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2015

Thanks for taking the time to review the pub glad you had a good time.


Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

all bars were like this ,surviving 60,s street corner local,now selling the superb Fyne ales on 3 handpumps,the beer is in excellent condition ,and the bar staff friendly and efficent,when i first visited and bought a pint of Jarl, the barman offered me a taste of the other two ales without any prompting,

Thank beerguru67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josephc1983, Manager at Laurieston Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thanks for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Laurieston Bar also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Laurieston Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing