We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“APPALLING.”
Review of Bonapartes Bar - CLOSED

Bonapartes Bar
Restaurant details
airdrie
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“APPALLING.”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Despite having a children's licence, I and my 3 month old were turned away because he couldn't eat of the menu. Even when questioned, they would not budge.
Seriously.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsspykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Millport18
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Quick meal before a train”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Standard pub fare but quickly served and hot and tasty. I needed a meal before I boarded an evening train for a 4 hour journey - and I didn't want to eat the rubbish they sell on board. I ordered a standard burger and chips. The burger was excellent and well cooked and tasted. Chips were also very good. It was served quickly - I asked for that as time was pressing although the place was virtually empty so I don't think the kitchen was busy. Bar woman wasn't that friendly and a smile would have helped. Would I use it again - certainly - anything is better than the food on the train and it was fresh and tasted OK.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Millport18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Have been a few times but have felt the quality dropping. I order the same thing each time I have been in but have been charged at least 3 different amounts. When I finally got served the last time I wasn't even offered a receipt or a drink.

The half an hour waiting time got frustrating, especially as I was on limited time. Ridiculous prices as well. Have been put right off.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FeefTheHippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortrose, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The service in Bonapartes was poor to say the least - was left standing for three or four minutes before I was even acknowledged and a lady behind me was placed in exactly the same position. I enquired what the soup of the day was and none of the three on duty had a clue - I was eventually informed that it was vegetable soup which I duly ordered. When it arrived it had the consistency of portland cement!!! It was served with a roll (no butter with the roll). I ate less than half and gave up. Price wise, a gin and tonic and a plate of soup was just under £10 which I thought was over the top. This is a prime location within Queen Street Station - I certainly won't use it again and from the numbers in the place not many others use it. Properly managed, this place has the potential to be an absolute gold mine but it needs a fair bit of work to get it to the standard it should be attaining

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bonapartes Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing