We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Common Sense Venue”
Review of The SSE Hydro

The SSE Hydro
Book In Advance
More Info
US$98.05*
and up
Glasgow Bite Size
More Info
US$111.13*
and up
Glasgow's West End Private Tour
Ranked #1 of 28 Concerts & Shows in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The SSE Hydro is a purpose built entertainment venue which opened in Glasgow, Scotland in September 2013.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Common Sense Venue”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

What do people expect when they go somewhere to enjoy a gig/see a show? A drink, a toilet and a decent seat! FINALLY someone has taken that into account when building a venue. As a female I am quite accustomed to having to spend my entire interval queuing for the ladies' room and often have to miss a chunk of whatever I'm there to see thanks to said queue. Can I just say - I DIDN'T HAVE TO QUEUE because there were so many toilets. Men will have no idea why I'm so excited but the women will understand what a refreshing change this is, there is ALWAYS a queue coming out of the ladies.

Unfortunately there was still a significant queue at the bar but not the worst I have seen thanks to the numerous bars. Yes the bar is expensive but again this is common at all venues these days and to be fair it wasn't too far from the inflated city prices (country bumpkin here!)

We were seated on the second tier and were still very impressed with the sound quality and the large screens allowing us to see the band 'up close.' There are no poles or pillars to get in your way, the odd glass screen is annoying when the lights reflect on them and blind you - but this is more the staging than the actual fault of the arena.

I agree with the other reviewers about the ridiculous heat during the gig and regretted wearing jeans that night. Hopefully this is an issue they can resolve because apart from that I was seriously impressed and I look forward to returning.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,087
    681
    342
    211
    218
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Katy Perry 18/5/14”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Well this was my second time at The Hydro,the first was X Factor tour and not a great experience as one of the main acts didn't perform and no prior notice or apology. I wasn't sure what to expect at Katy Perry gig with buying a standing ticket then finding out there was a reflection section directly in front of stage although I wasnt disappointed as I was in front row at side of where the stage formed a triangle shape and Katy danced down several times during the show. The G4S staff this time were very nice,professional and helpful providing an endless supply of water for those who requested it. I will no doubt return for another gig as long as its not in the seated/tiered section as it seems so far from the stage/act.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Concert Venue”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This certainly puts Glasgow on the map as far as purpose built concert venues go. Not just as big as the 02 in London - but perhaps that's just as well as some of the seats on the tiered section are very high up. Must say I thought safety could be improved by providing handrails to access (and more importantly exit) the tiered sections.
Having said that, the seats were comfortable and didn't feel too claustrophobic. The heat was unbearable at points and access to water meant a fifteen minute wait in a queue. Bags were searched on entry and any liquids were confiscated. This was very annoying because the first thing you had to do was get in a queue to buy more water to replace that which had just been confiscated. - This definitely needs to be thought through to a more satisfactory arrangement. Despite these niggles - a thoroughly enjoyable evening in a venue Glasgow can be very proud of.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MaisieBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Hydro - A very poor venue indeed”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A great Eagles concert as always, I could go on but won't.... We all know how great these guys are.

A terrible venue, badly designed, poor catering, very limited male toilet facilities offered, very poor acoustics, and above all if their was a major emergency and the place had to be evacuated, then God help us, the death toll would be devastating - I won't be rushing back no matter which top act is playing. Even worse than the main hall at the SECC.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bishopton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Another great Glasgow attraction”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Our first visit to this new venue, great design, access in and around is easy. Large, functional, great sound, clear viewing plus large screens. Accent on safety, security, felt very comfortable in such a large venue.
Wheelchair access, internal elevators, and a full range of drink, food, shops and facilities.
An enjoyable evening. Again friendly, welcoming staff despite dealing with a huge influx of excitable public.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Je809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The SSE Hydro also viewed

 

Been to The SSE Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing