We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & not cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Ranked #23 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheap & not cheerful”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed here because a friend had recommended Premier Inns as a chain, & this was the closest to the railway station. Although they claim you can stay for L29, we had to pay the full rate. We were doubtful about staying as the hotel is on a busy main road, & requested a quiet room. The staff member said she would put us in a room overlooking an old cemetery, which probably would have been quiet, however that wasn't where we were. The room was very small, & very hot as it had been a sunny day & this room must have faced south. There was no air conditioning, only heating, in the room, & one window which opened less than 2 inches, so no way to cool it down. The facilities are very basic, & the wi-fi is not free. We ended up not sleeping because of the noise from the hotel's central ventilation system which seemed to be above our room, however when we complained about this at check-out they did refund the charges, as they guarantee a good night's sleep. We didn't use their restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Social Media at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you for your review.

It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. We do hope that your refund in line with our Good Night Guarantee reaffirmed to you our commitment to ensuring our guests enjoy their stay, please be assured that your comments will be passed onto the Management Team at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,190
    918
    270
    65
    44
See reviews for
529
846
170
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Stayed at this hotel in June the reception area not very welcoming had to check in by computer ourselves although the staff helped, we asked for a quiet room and the receptionist says they had no control over this and we get what we get, (more or less) we got one at the front, very noisy and a wee bit of an odour in the room, but the bar and restaurant were excellent, the breakfast we excellent and real value for money, the staff were attentive and friendly, as were the bar staff, we also had an evening meal which was great although they had run out of a few things on the menu, but there was still plenty to choose from The drinks in the bar is above average price , we would stay here again but insist on a room at the back of the hotel as i would hope would be less noisy. We have given this a very good because of the restaurant and bar area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emondo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2012

As a business traveller...what you need is a good clean room with a clean toilet, a good breakfast. But, what is more important is a sound night sleep. This hotel gives you that...truly appreciable. Also, the rooms are much more larger / spacious than equivalent brands,,,much cheaper. So, it will be my first choice when as a solo business traveller.

Room Tip: ...I can't comment, as I was there for about 12 hours...but please check the heating facility in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdddpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorks, England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This hotel is ideally situated close to the wonderful Merchant Quarter and shopping centre. Just off the motorway and easily accessed. The NCP secure carpark is across the road from the hotel there is a 10% reduction on the £22 for 24 hours. On arrival the friendly staff showed us the automated booking in and offered any advise required. The room was large clean with a choice of pillows. We chose to eat in the Merchant Quarter rather than the restaurant, but called in the comfortable bar for a night cap. We had a good nights peaceful sleep on a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawkeyeYorks_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bjs120872
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Booked this for a two night stay. Premier inn hotels are always excellent and in the majority we were not disappointed.

The room was spacious and clean. Staff very welcoming on arrival and so helpful. The location is perfect with a car park nearby (£22 for 24 hours so a bit pricey but very secure) and a short walk to the city centre.

The bed was too hard for my liking and i didnt sleep at all on the first night. Mentioned it to the staff who offered to change the room but i opted for a duvet to lie on as a mattress topper instead.

The evening meals were good and so was breakfast on the first morning.

Unfortunately the breakfast on the second morning (Friday) wasnt. On arrival into the restaurant i ordered two hard boiled eggs. 20 minutes later they arrived and when i opened them they were hardly cooked with the white still runny so i sent them back. Went to get the rest of my cooked breakfast whilst the second eggs were cooking. No plates. Asked for some and they came straight away but the top 10 or so plates were dirty with egg yolk stains. Eventually the waitress came out with one 'soft boiled' egg so i told her not to worry and that i didnt want it.

Breakfast staff seemed very disorganised on the second day. Such a disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjs120872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. Please accept my apologies for the disappointment caused with the service you received in the restaurant.

Your comments regarding this have been duly noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at the hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

The staff were wonderful. Very helpful, friendly and polite, without being intrusuve in any way.
The room is basic, but is clean, central, modern and the beds comfortable.
I've said this about nearly every hotel I stayed in in UK, but the room needs a fridge... just something little to keep milk and water in.... perhaps mine is just an Australian perspective, but I do consider a fridge to be standard in these types of rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pananian06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Premier Inn Glasgow City Center for a week and, in general, its central location is constantly being undercut by less than satisfactory services. First, the Internet service that we bought for 10 pounds was not working, then working at speeds slower than a 1992 dialup (not a guess, checked by a speed test, 11.2 kbps). And in addition to that, they kept leaving one bath towel for a room with two people -- at least 4 days in a row! (They did bring the second towel every time once we called the front desk, but why did we have to do that every single day?) It looks like they're trying to save on essentials that they shouldn't be saving on.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lifeandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that your comments will passed onto the Management Team at this hotel. Your feedback regarding our Wi-Fi will be passed onto our Site Team.

Once again thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,128 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#24 of 93 in Glasgow
1,005 reviews
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Queen Street Hotel
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#32 of 93 in Glasgow
3,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Address: 187 George Street, Glasgow G1 1YU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right by trendy Merchant City, the Gallery of Modern Art and the majestic Glasgow Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing