We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Ranked #24 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We arrived early and were able to check in Immediately. Staff were very friendly, the hotel (bedrooms, public areas etc), were all very clean. Breakfast was very nice. The only critisicm I would have was that the bedroom window didnt seem to close properly and the traffic noise could be heard all night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean76_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,186 - 2,192 of 2,702 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

On arrival, we were able to check in an hour or so earlier than normal. This was a lovely start to our stay, which set the mood for the entire stay. We paid £52 and everything was great. Very friendly staff, really clean rooms, styish decor, comfy beds and a bar that was open late! Also fantastic location - not moments away walking from Queen Street Railway Station

Room Tip: We booked ours via the Premier Inn website - this seemed the absolute best price we could find!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraP1881983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I stayed in this hotel whilst on businees in Glasgow.
The hotel is modern looking and i loved the self check in, the receptionist was very friendly and showed people how to check in.
It is a very secure hotel as you need to swipe your key card to use the lift or stairs!
The rooms are of normal Premier Inn standards, the best feature of this hotel is the bar and resteraunt, the food is of really good quality and reasonbly priced too.
The staff were extremly efficient and corteous.
The breakfast is excellent and the choice on offer was huge!
I would stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philw1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed here two nights, the room was basic but clean. There was a smell that made us wonder if someone had smoked in the room before us but it was not strong. The location was great, easy walk from the train station, and close to shopping. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast, a good selection and the price was reasonable. Staff was friendly , did wonder why they had self check in , there were two reception people there anyway. Had to pay for wifi, it was a little on the slow side. We would stay here again given the price..

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumbo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the second time, and basically love it. Last year we arrived very early and were able to check in around 11am. This year we got diverted by Wetherspoons along the way, but still arrived too early to check in officially.

Disappointing that both receptionists were on the phone when we arrived and didn't show any sign of recognition that we were waiting.... however I noticed the self-service check in which was much preferable to the usual Premier Inn spiel about the Good Night Guarantee and intrusive questions about who is sharing my room. Luckily our room was ready and we were able to go there straight away.

The property itself is new, spotless and in an excellent position. We had drinks in the bar which weren't badly priced, but we preferred to breakfast at Wetherspoons - a choice of two in George Square.

Although Wifi still isn't totally free (how can cheap motels in the US offer this but not here?) but you do get a free 30 mins and 24 hours is reasonably priced. The biggest negative in pricing, which I was shocked to see is that you have to pay for an 0871 call to ring reception! What is that about? Come on Premier Inn, good, accessible front desk service is key, and you are failing in the basics if you do not deliver this.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We arrived early Told no check in until 2pm.Stored bags til then.Dinner that evening managed to make our top 10 worst of all time.Briefly,Try to reserve a table for 7.15pm but told because of large party arriving at 7.00pm that 8.15pm would be better for them & us.Arrive,seated then 20 minutes later orders taken for entree & main course each. Meantime Chef & offsider now receiving applause from party of 30 (I think an in-house conference group) Disgusting main courses arrive whichy were almost inedible.Still waiting for entree! Complained and received apology from wait staff (not their fault or responsibility) Decided to try again following night - about a 1000% improvement. There is no on-site parking but apart from the dreadful dinner on 22/5 an enjoyable stay in a centrally located hotel

Room Tip: Try for a room that does not face George Street as the late night yobboes get a bit rowdy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macca044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Premier inn was well situated in Glagow near to railway station. Rooms were realy fresh and clean Breakfast was pletifull and quality also loads of fresh coffee

Room Tip: rooms to front are a bit noisy from the adjacent car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tay05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,260 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 93 in Glasgow
1,127 reviews
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel

Address: 187 George Street, Glasgow G1 1YU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £55 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right by trendy Merchant City, the Gallery of Modern Art and the majestic Glasgow Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing