We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, very clean, what more could we ask for?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Ranked #25 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Just spent four nights here. Very impressed with the room, looked like it had just been refurbished, we did ask, but apparently it was more than a year ago. The sink in the bathroom was so shiny and clean I almost didn't want to use it! We loved the Imperial Leather shower/hair gel on the wall of shower and of course the liquid soap on the wall over the sink served its purpose! We were in room 404 which overlooked the front which was a main road, but we just shut the window before we went to bed, there were a few sounds that got through but it made interesting viewing from the window. There wasn't much noise from the corridor, even though we were right by the internal fire door.

If I want to find fault, although two of us we kept getting only one bath towel, once we asked at reception for the extra towel and it reached our room before we did. Also there was a notice on the bathroom door to keep it shut whilst the bathroom was steamy as apparently it set off their smoke alarms. Therefore the bathroom became unbearingly hot....

My husband had four full breakfasts and was very satisfied with them. I only had one breakfast and asked (the day before) for gluten free bread, which they duly bought on my behalf - thank you. We had a meal in the restaurant one evening, and again we were perfectly satisfied. All the staff were professional and friendly.

I even ran my fingers on the stair rails and there was no dust! If we come to Glasgow again we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seagulls2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,531)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,720 - 1,726 of 2,531 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed for a Friday night in early June. It was very central to where we needed to be and once again the Premier Inn experience is hard to beat. I cannot single out any one member of staff because they all tried very hard to make our stay a pleasant one and they succeeded. The hotel did not give the impression of being particularly busy on the night we stayed and therefore once we finally retired to bed there was no noise and the bed was every bit as comfortable as we now expect from Premier Inn. We also took advantage of the meal deal to partake of both dinner and breakfast and the food was very good indeed.
We would have no hesitation in booking again.

Room Tip: Not really appropriate question for a city centre hotel but we were based on the fourth floor at the...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachbabe013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed here for two nights in June and the purpose of the trip was to watch a concert in Glasgow Green. The location of the hotel is great being a short walk to everywhere we wanted to go except the West End.It is also close to the train station and bus station.

Although the rooms are basic and the standard Premier Inn design they are neutral, clean and a decent size with a small amount of storage that would only be adequate for a short break. The bathroom was clean and perfectly adequate.

There is a flat screen TV in the room and a hair-dryer in the bathroom and you can get an iron and ironing board from a self serve storage room on each level.

The staff were very helpful and pleasant and the hotel has a bag storage area where bags can be stored securely before check in and after check out. I would recommend this hotel as it is great value accommodation in a central location with really good service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emily2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Definitely not the hi light of our trip to Scotland, but certainly adequate and clean. It was great to start our busy days off with a large, complete breakfast and the hotel was located very conveniently just a block from the train station and St George Square, but it was really noisy (you could hear every other room door closing all night long) and the beds were hard as a rock. Also, no amenities (shampoo, soap, etc) which was not a huge deal for us as we do pack our own, but it is nice to know if you forget yours at the previous place, there is something to use upon arrival.

Room Tip: Great for families looking for economy with children....not great for adults only,looking for some p...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manorlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Very short walk from train station which was good. We checked in and went up to our room. I needed to go to the bathroom, but found the toilet seat was not clean. My partner went to reception and they were very quick to move us to a new room to investigate and gave us breakfast the next morning. The new room was big and clean. The next morning we found there was only one towel, so I phoned reception who said they'd get one sent up. After 15 minutes still nothing, so I called again and one was delivered 5 minutes after that. The receptionist was very apologetic but the housekeeper that brought it up didn't say anything, just handed it over and scuttled off. Breakfast was good, decent selection. I was happy with the resolution to the issues we had, and have to say it is the first time we have struck anything like that at a Premier Inn. I would still stay there again, and would still recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ekh86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

So another town a different Premier Inn, but guess what same quality and value for money, this is and the service rooms and food are the usual good standard I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Only one thing that let the stay down I booked three rooms on the one booking and we were on three different floors, they need to get their act together!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CastlefordAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Stay here on a regular basis when collecting my daughter from university. Really friendly staff good restuarant will return after time and time again. The location is perfect for the city centre and right next to Strathclyde University. There is parking across the road with a special rate for hotel guests just get your disc verified by reception.

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank magwll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,157 reviews
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Queen Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel

Address: 187 George Street, Glasgow G1 1YU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £51 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right by trendy Merchant City, the Gallery of Modern Art and the majestic Glasgow Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Premier Inn, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing