We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to install air con in rooms and corridors.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Ranked #25 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Hotel is very good value for money but there isn't any air con in the rooms or corridors just the option to turn the heating down!!! Except that the hotel is very comfortable and all staff friendly!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glasvegas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,704 - 1,710 of 2,554 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

I was expecting this hotel to be overlooking the busy George Square but thankfully it was on the street of the square and therefore a bit quieter. The reception staff were very friendly and the rooms were a good size and very clean. Bed was ok. Breakfast room was struggling to cope with the number of guests wanted served on occassions but difficult to predict when people want fed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Art M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

stayed here recently with the girls. staff helpful from the moment we arrived till we left the next day, rooms were clean and comfortable, had the best sleep ive had in ages. no noise during the night or from outside so would defo recommend staying here. excellent location for shopping or to catch the train along at Queen st.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamaraForres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We booked and pre-paid for a double room plus breakfast for one night midweek. Check-in was smooth at the automated machines, although we realised afterwards that we didn't have any vouchers for our breakfast and weren't sure if we needed any..

The room was clean and spacious, the bed comfortable with crisp sheets and plenty of pillows (and a choice of soft or firm as usual in Premier Inns). The shower over the bath was powerful with ample hot water. My husband gratefully used the 30 mins of free wifi (why do these places charge???). The room was quiet, but we were on the sixth floor at the back of the hotel, not sure if it would be so quiet on the first floor at the front... Not sure about the temperature control, as the air con kept resetting itself to 24C, but we could open the window enough to get some fresh air. The curtains were long and thick and kept the light out in the morning.

On our way out to explore the city, we checked about breakfast, and were told we didn't need vouchers, just check-in at the desk in the restaurant. When we tried to do this the following morning, we were ignored by staff for a very long time, before my husband cracked and went and nabbed someone. We were grudgingly shown to a table, and left to help ourselves. A little more grace and info would have been nice. Anyway, once we worked out what was where (and it wasn't rocket science, it's only breakfast after all), we gorged ourselves on fruit, cereal, yogurt and cooked food, all well-prepared and presented.

Apart from the breakfast check-in, this was an excellent stay, in a good central location, with mainly friendly staff (I think it's obvious who the exception would be). We'd return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TalbotTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The prermier inn in Glasgow City Centre, is right in the middle of the city, handy for shops, pubs resturants and the Big Red Touring Bus.
The Hotel is very clean and lovely friendly staff, we have been using this hotel now for a few years and we have never been disapointed

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but the back rooms looking over the grave yard are always quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dianewallthatwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel for one night - £29 for double room. It was actually cheaper to book into this hotel than get a train or taxi home after a night out in the city. Hotel was spotlessly clean - very impressed. Self service check in took less than 1 minute - simple, straightforward and no fuss. Rooms are decorated nicely - purple and white and decor is new and fresh. I honestly will never look at another hotel in Glasgow. Perfect and great value for money. Even at full price it was worth it. Beds are soooooo comfortable!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louvic26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here overnight as it is close to city centre and restaurants around George Square and Merchant City areas. 5 minutes from Jamie Oliver's "Jamie's Italian".
Hotel is clean and rooms spacious. WiFi would not work though. The car park across the street is perfect and at £10 discount for 24 hours is cheap for the city. Would definitely use this hotel again for an overnight. We had the buffet breakfast which is good value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
1,176 reviews
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 93 in Glasgow
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel

Address: 187 George Street, Glasgow G1 1YU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £48 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right by trendy Merchant City, the Gallery of Modern Art and the majestic Glasgow Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Premier Inn, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing