We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff / good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Ranked #24 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Dunadry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great staff / good location.”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here 2 nights, on arrival met by very friendly guy who was more than helpful, sorry cant remember his name. All the staff very very friendly and genuine. Rooms are good sized, tv, coffee making facilities. Breakfast was superb, self service, numerous cereals, fruit salad, hot breakfast etc etc. No need for lunch ! Location is close to George square, numerous restaurants within 5-10 ins walk. Appeared a safe area at night. Carparking in 24 hr multi story across the street, basicsally £10 per night. Limited wi fi in lobby !!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadagain567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear ontheroadagain567

Thanks for your review regarding Premier Inn Glasgow City George Square. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our hotel, great location and our great team here met your expectations. At Premier Inn we continuously strive to deliver a high level of service and it's great you feel this was achieved. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,157
    891
    260
    64
    42
See reviews for
514
817
162
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The location and price couldn't be better if you want something central. Rooms are huge, even the bath was enormous by hotel standards. But I had to change room because my original one was boiling hot (28.5 degrees C 2 hours after switching off the only heater); they suggested bringing a fan up which wouldn't have been much fun overnight. Also I had to call reception on my mobile, getting through a ludicrous long menu before being put through, because there wasn't a phone in my first room! They say there's free wi-fi but it's free only for half an hour. Breakfast was OK, nothing more. I had a great trip to Glasgow but would choose another hotel next time.

Room Tip: The room at the back was very hot, but at the front of the hotel it's noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banana12London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear banana12London

Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible standards and service. Once again thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My second stay at this hotel and this time in room 210 on the second floor overlooking George Street. As the Premier Inn TV advert says "When you're all done in, you can always rely on a premier Inn", well, almost !!
The room is quite spacious and has the usual PI comforts. The windows are double glazed but unfortunately are not thermal and sound proofed. So you get draughts (Glasgow was chilly last week) and noise coming up from the street below. There are many students residing in this part of Glasgow as the Universities are close etc. Also, traffic noise was a problem, particularly if you are a light sleeper.
Didn't do breakfast so cannot comment but I did dine in the 'thyme' restaurant a couple of nights and I can recommend the quorn "Veggie Burger" meal option - very tasty !

Room Tip: Owing to noise from George Street, ask for a room at the back. There is an old churchyard at the rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArcticExplorer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear ArcticExplorer51

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a quiet comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comber
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here with my brother-in-law and his girlfriend. The rooms were clean, bright, spacious, the bed very comfortable. The room was a bit to warm, and unfortunately there was no air-conditioning. But over all for the price paid brilliant value for money we had a great time in Glasgow. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank techform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear techform

Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We’re so pleased to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us here at Glasgow George Square Premier Inn and we do hope to see you again in the very near future. Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Wow! Perfect location for taking part in the half marathon starting at George Square. Car parking across the road from hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Large selection on offer at breakfast. We were a family with 2 rooms - one at the front and one at the back. Back room definitely quieter than the front, however, this is a city hotel with a very central location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back facing the grave yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 08bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear 08bee


Thanks for your review regarding Premier Inn Glasgow City George Square. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our hotel, great location and our great team here met your expectations. At Premier Inn we continuously strive to deliver a high level of service and it's great you feel this was achieved. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
175 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Ideally located in the centre of Glasgow. Stayed on a Friday night and the hotel seemed to be full. Asked for a room at the back so it was fairly quiet and got a good nights sleep. As always with a Premier Inn the beds are comfortable and the breakfasts are good. I would say it is one of the older Premier Inns is it is starting to look a wee bit tired! I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LighthouseFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed 3 nights. Room spotlessly cleaned every day! On arrival were given a room at front overlooking the main road! Asked if it could be changed to overlook the 'Park' at the back! Not a problem - 'It's a Graveyard, Not a Park' we were told!! - Should be dead quiet then eh! Staff here are lovely too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnny503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,072 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Queen Street Hotel
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 95 in Glasgow
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Address: 187 George Street, Glasgow G1 1YU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right by trendy Merchant City, the Gallery of Modern Art and the majestic Glasgow Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing