We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“George square premier inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Ranked #23 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“George square premier inn”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Very central and handy for everything like restaurants and shops. The rooms are spacious and pleasantly comfortable . Shame about food in the restaurant . Fighting your way through the smokers and cigarette butts on the front steps is no fun if you're a non smoker.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi Martin K

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. Please accept my apologies for the issues you had during your stay. Firstly the disappointment caused with the food you received in the restaurant and secondly, with regards to smoking at the front door, we do try to enforce the designated smoking areas as much as possible. Your comments regarding these issues have been duly noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at the hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,190
    918
    270
    65
    44
See reviews for
529
846
170
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Great city centre location. In the main, staff cannot be faulted - very helpful, pleasant, polite and cheerful. However it did seem understaffed in early afternoon and took ages to get someone to serve us for lunch.

The food varies. We booked the meal deal which is good value. Lunch was below average. I had a panini and it was really awful - dry and artificial tasting. Dinner was good (not great). One steak was overcooked but a freshly cooked one was brought very quickly and with no fuss. The breakfast was fantastic. Eggs cooked to order, great coffee and a fabulous selection of top quality food. Some 4 and 5 star hotels should take a good look at Premier Inn's breakfasts. This is one area where Premier Inn have nailed it 100%.

The room was basic and functional - a standard Premier Inn bedroom. It was a little tired looking but clean enough. Hopefully they will consider bigger TVs when refubishing :) The pillows were fantastic but the mattress felt as though it had seen better days. The bedding was, however, spotless which is top priority for me.

Won't hesitate to stay here again and would recommend it for a city centre stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I have stayed at this premier inn twice for one night visiting Glasgow on business. Both times the hotel was great, in a really good location for central Glasgow.
Usual Premier Inn good standard of rooms - this time I had a very spacious room at the front, although rooms at the back (overlooking the graveyard!) are quieter.
I checked in late and the chap on reception was very welcoming and helpful.
Good standard of breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welovetravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middx
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We came here for a long weekend in February.Started off well as we were allowed into the room when we arrived at 10am Very pleasant staff, clean hotel, good location.We enjoyed Jamies Italian in George Sq.Everything we wanted !

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

we stayed at George square premier in on 31st January as we were meeting friends for a show. very nice staff and clean and lovely rooms. very helpful when checking in. nice food and good menu. my only fault was paying £2.25 for a bottle of water, apart from that first class premier inn,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lincluden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I love the Premier Inn - as I always say "you get what you pay for" but I always think that in Premier Inn's case you know what you're getting and it is great value.

Well especially since we were enjoying one of the Free Nights.

I've stayed at this hotel 4 times and as always it was great - clean, friendly staff and great location.

The staff on the front desk (Kim I think) were lovely. 5 minutes to city centre bars/shops/restaurants. Couldn't ask for more really.

See you next year!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieWEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Great nights sleep and spotless and spacious rooms but, the staff were not helpful and did not explain about the meal times or the use of the bedroom keysto get the elevators. I would recommend the hotel as the location is Fab if it is your first visit to Glasgow.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,128 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#24 of 93 in Glasgow
1,005 reviews
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Queen Street Hotel
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#32 of 93 in Glasgow
3,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Address: 187 George Street, Glasgow G1 1YU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right by trendy Merchant City, the Gallery of Modern Art and the majestic Glasgow Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing