We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is premier but the price - indeed! :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Ranked #26 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I am a huge fan of this hotel! Whenever I book tickets for an event in Glasgow, this particular Premier Inn is the hotel of choice.
It is very central – 5 minute walk from George Square/Queen st. Train Station; value for money is incredible, it’s clean, modern, spacious
Staff are always very friendly and helpful and I love self-check in on arrival - it takes a couple of minutes and is super efficient!
First time I stayed at a Premier Inn, I was pleasantly surprised at how modern and comfortable the room was. Since then I have stayed a number of times at this branch and a couple of others and have never been disappointed... for a hotel, that provides such great comfort and can cost around £20 a night, I just can’t see any negatives and make a point of recommending to all my friends.

Room Tip: Some of the higher rooms have excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivc-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,558 - 1,564 of 2,603 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

The point of Premier Inn is that you know what you're getting. This stay was more expensive than usual, but for a city centre location within walking distance of work, £80 is ok.

The revelation was Thyme restaurant. In contrast to the rather desperate pubs with bad food that often go with Premier Inns, the food was excellent, including a freshly made courgette soup, and the service was exemplary. Atmosphere is fine if a bit corporate, but better than most pubs and restaurants locally. I'd eat there again even if not staying.

Room Tip: Even numbers face George Street or Montrose Street, and can be noisy, so if you want a bit more quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avermes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed one night. Yes it’s clean, beds comfy and staff
are polite. But there is street noise both from traffic and
passers by. Perhaps if I’d complained at the time I could
have changed rooms. But at 2 in the morning I didn't
feel like changing clothes and repacking my case.

Looked forward to having the “Full Breakfast” at 10a.m. but many items
were dried out and not tasty at all. No one on hand to check if
you needed help with the contraption for making your own toast or help
with the coffee machine which seemed to be a bit hit and miss for some
of us.

Went home tired and hungry, won’t be back

Room Tip: avoid room 414 on the 4th floor street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Hi Josie733

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a quiet comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated.
In line with our unique 'Good Night Guarantee' please send me details of your booking to the address below & I will arrange the refund.
Once again many thanks for taking the time to review your stay.

operationsmanager.glasgowcitygeorgesquare@whitbread.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

You know what to expect & what you get with a premier inn & that's the selling point. The hotel is clean, modern and bright. The staff are always friendly & welcoming. Nothing is too much bother for them they go out of their way to make sure you have a good stay. The restaurant staff are warm, polite & accommodating. Food is traditional pub grub but well cooked & presented. If on a meal deal this is really good value. Rooms are good size, clean & have what you need. Book early to get the best prices it does get busy & prices rise. Premier inn have the good night guarantee as their USP this one delivers exactly that. Happy and will return.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank DawnMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hi DawnMT

Many thanks for your review of Premier Inn Glasgow City George Square. It really is great to hear your fantastic comments about our friendly & helpful team, great service & food. As you said our meal deal is great value as well as our rooms and you will always have peace of mind with our unique 'Good Night Guarantee'.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Glasgow !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed Thursday night, would stay again. Room clean and beds comfy, had air con too. Windows not great could hear traffic outside but wasn't too busy so didn't keep me up. Didn't eat there. Biggest dissapointment was that I tried to ask for a wake up call but reception said they couldn't as there was no guarantee as they might be too busy after 7. Don't need to check out till 12 which is great if you want a lie in, and automated check in is great . If its free I would recommend the one at Buchanan Galleries in terms of location, but I we wouldn't object to staying at this one again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Spent 4 nights in mid-March. Room is decent size, with a very comfortable bed. They provide for the basics, but not much more. Bathroom is fine, with decent shower pressure. Internet connection was very slow, and at times dropped to nil. No artwork anywhere, and some touch up to the wall finishes would be warranted. No mini-bar or small frig. Pretty basic.
The location of the hotel is very close to George's Square and within easy walking distance to good restaurants, shopping, business, and tourist attractions. Staff is very helpful and welcoming. Restaurant and bar are fine, but not 'fine dining'. Breakfast is plentiful, with decent variety of fresh made and pre-made offerings.

Room Tip: rear facing rooms over look a church yard and cemetery...which means things are nice a quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Great location but very expensive £185 for 2 night stay whilst my daughter had a hospital appointment, was hoping to get the £29 a night deal but no such luck, great food in the restaurant and great service from the waiter Scott, he couldn't do enough for us very helpful. Good clean rooms and close to the city .

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jacksonalimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#17 of 93 in Glasgow
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#21 of 93 in Glasgow
1,071 reviews
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel

Address: 187 George Street, Glasgow G1 1YU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £45 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right by trendy Merchant City, the Gallery of Modern Art and the majestic Glasgow Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing