We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and hotel but far too hot even when the weather isn't!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Ranked #21 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Have just returned from a stay here and would agree with many others...super hotel, lovely staff but the rooms are unbearably hot. The temperatures in Glasgow have been mild but by no means hot, in fact today was cloudy and rainy at times. It felt quite fresh outside, but the room temperature was around 27. We had to have the fan on all night and the lowest the temperature in the room dropped to was 25. Not a comfortable night at all. To their credit the staff were very kind and apologetic when I explained that we would be leaving 3 nights early and offered to refund the amount I had paid, without me even asking.
Such a shame as the location is excellent and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good quality and value too. I would definitely recommend this Premier Inn and would like to return......for an Autumn or Winter visit! The heat was unpleasant and bizarre given the relatively fresh temperatures outside- I can't imagine what the rooms are like if the weather is actually hot !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tamlem36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your review and your kind words of us being a super hotel with lovely staff, they will be delighted to read this. We are currently in stages of having air conditioning brought to the hotel and I am sorry the heat of the rooms affected you during your stay.

I am glad to see that you managed to speak with the Team regarding this and that they were apologetic and looked after you. Great also to see that you would definitely recommend and return to us. Thank you once again for the review and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,552 - 1,558 of 2,706 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Ideal location. Very quiet considering the size of the hotel. The staff were delightful. Overall, the food was plentiful and it was excellent value for money. Well worth a stay! The best Premier Inn that I have ever stayed in. It was spotlessly clean as well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank emma-jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for leaving such a great review on your recent stay. It's great to hear we are the best Premier Inn you have stayed at and thank you for your kind comments regarding our Team and products. We are delighted to have made your stay more enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great hotel, Locality was just right. Minutes away from several stations (nearest being Glasgow Queen St or High st) Staff really helpful and chatty if you want them to be. Genuinely felt like they were interested in you having an enjoyable time. Don't usually pay for breakfast but on the last morning we decided to and we were pleasantly surprised.Value for money and very tasty all you can eat. We were pricing out next trip up before we had left.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citylass17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for leaving a nice review on your recent stay. It's great too see you had a peaceful stay and that the Team looked after you during your visit. Happy to see also that you managed to get your next day off to a great start with our 'All you can eat' Premier Breakfast.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon, and be sure to check out our main Premier Inn website for all our best rates and offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Ideal location for day trips, shopping, galleries, places of interest. Clean, bright, quite and cosy hotel. Friendly, happy, helpful staff. I hope to be back again for longer stay. There is so much to see and do surrounding the hotel within 5 minutes walk..


  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrigidsTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are delighted to see that you had a pleasant experience with us and that you experienced high levels of standards and service. Our location really is great and central for lots to do in Glasgow. We hope to welcome you back again soon as you further your exploration of what the city has to offer. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Very clean rooms, quite location but only 5 mins from the hussle and bussle of the city centre, service was great friendly staff, very helpful, great that they have a bag storage area for an extra 24 hours
Free of charge

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilkotrougher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your review. It's great to see that we helped you to enjoy your weekend in Glasgow and thank you for your kind comments regarding our location, rooms and the service. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel in December for three nights and it was 5 out of 5, a great stay. this time everything was as good, clean spacious room, spotlessly clean, lovely staff, excellent welcome ......but OMG......the heat in the room 28 degrees......despite large free standing fan and sheet provided to use instead of duvet.....window only opened slightly on upward tilt.....this did not allow heat to escape.... window should open vertically inward, but has been altered in a poor unsightly fashion......the other window had been screwed shut completely....supposedly for safety,.. but since all windows anywhere, have safety lock to stop them opening too far....I think it has been done to stop smokers using window and everyone else has to endure the heat.......such a shame, the heat was exhausting, didn't want to come out of shower..........we will return,,,,,,it is an excellently situated hotel, and despite location rooms are quiet......but not if the sun is out !!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosebankself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your visits to our hotel. It's great to see you had such a nice time in December that you chose to return to us, and great to see that you found everything just as clean and welcoming as your previous visit. However I apologise that the temperature of your room was too hot for you on this visit.

We do have several measures in place as you mention to try help control the heat throughout the hotter months of our summer and I am sorry to hear that this did not assist during your stay. We are constantly working to ensure we provide our guests with everything they need during their stay and please be assured that Air Conditioning is part of this and is currently sitting awaiting for planning permission to progress on this install.

I understand this did not help you during your stay, however I am glad to see that you will return to our hotel and that you enjoy our location and quiet bedrooms. Thank you again for your feedback and kind comments and we hope to welcome you back later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A 5 minute walk from George Square and Queen St station makes this a very convenient city-centre budget hotel. A large hotel within the Premier Inn chain, but the check-in was quick and smooth. But be aware that nearby parking is expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PA34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for leaving a review on your recent visit to our hotel. It's great to see that our location suited you well for your visit and that you experienced a smooth and quick check-in to your room. We do have a deal set up with the NCP Car Park across from the hotel with a rate of £10 per 24 hours, hopefully you managed to secure this for your visit. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again at Premier Inn soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,262 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#22 of 93 in Glasgow
1,128 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel

Address: 187 George Street, Glasgow G1 1YU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £57 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right by trendy Merchant City, the Gallery of Modern Art and the majestic Glasgow Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing