We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch! Couldn't fault it.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Ranked #24 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top notch! Couldn't fault it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I was staying more or less literally for a sleep overnight and breakfast. Did have dinner at the hotel and it was a very pleasant experience. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Food was pretty good both for dinner and breakfast.

No complaints about hotel room. Found it to be very comfortable.

A stress free stay in a hotel in a good location. Can't ask for more really

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mazzaroo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your top notch review. Great to see you had a stress free stay and that our Team were friendly and attentive to you throughout your stay, dinner and breakfast. We hope to see you back on your next visit to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,101
    852
    245
    63
    40
See reviews for
496
772
154
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is the second time I've stayed in this hotel, the first time was a good few years ago (prior to my Tripadvisor membership)
I decided to stay here as my fiancé and I were down for a gig in Glasgow and decided to make a long weekend of it. 4 nights for £200 is very reasonable considering this hotel's central location.
The check-in / reception staff were all very friendly throughout our stay. The room itself was very clean and modern. The only gripe I would have would be that it was very warm and stuffy (I see another Tripadvisor traveller has complained about this) But to regulate the heat there was a small fan and also you can open the window. There was also a thin sheet to use instead of the duvet if it is too warm.
Altogether a nice hotel, would definitely return. The price is right, the hotel is nice and clean and its in a prime location

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking George Street get traffic noise, the busses are particularly noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank defendertd5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your excellent review on our hotel. Great to see you had an enjoyable stay and that the room and Team all met the high standards we aim to deliver every day. We do have planning in for Air Conditioning in our bedrooms and we hope to have this installed soon, however glad to see that the fan in your room and the extra sheet helped to keep your stay more comfortable.

Thanks again for the review and be sure to check out our main Premier Inn website for all our best rates and availability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from a stay at the hotel. Have stayed loads. Its our fav hotel in glasgow as close to everything. Were booked in for 4 nites but due to a family death had to leave after 2 nights which couldnt be helped. The hotel was so hot we hadnt slept for the 2 nites we did stay and have come home exhausted. Be glad to get to my own bed tonight. As i say we always use this hotel but have not been offered any refund or compensation for the 2 most uncomfortable nights trying to sleep. Can i suggest air con. Would be a blessing as our room temp reached 28 degrees. Will probably stay again as it is central for what we need

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am sorry to hear of the bereavement in your family and that you had to cut your stay short with us. I am also sorry to hear that you never managed to get a good nights sleep due to your room being too hot. As you mention we do not have air conditioning in our hotel but please be assured this is in planning stages and we hope to have this to offer to our guests in the very near future. In the meantime we do have some other measures in place and I apologise if these did not help.

As your favourite hotel in Glasgow I certainly want to help look further in to this for you. Can I please ask that you get in contact, if not already done so, with your reservation details and I will be happy to get back to you on what we can do to help resolve this for you.

Kind Regards,
Jamie Cattigan
operationsmanager.glasgowcitygeorgesquare@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moffat, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Have just returned from a stay here and would agree with many others...super hotel, lovely staff but the rooms are unbearably hot. The temperatures in Glasgow have been mild but by no means hot, in fact today was cloudy and rainy at times. It felt quite fresh outside, but the room temperature was around 27. We had to have the fan on all night and the lowest the temperature in the room dropped to was 25. Not a comfortable night at all. To their credit the staff were very kind and apologetic when I explained that we would be leaving 3 nights early and offered to refund the amount I had paid, without me even asking.
Such a shame as the location is excellent and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good quality and value too. I would definitely recommend this Premier Inn and would like to return......for an Autumn or Winter visit! The heat was unpleasant and bizarre given the relatively fresh temperatures outside- I can't imagine what the rooms are like if the weather is actually hot !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tamlem36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your review and your kind words of us being a super hotel with lovely staff, they will be delighted to read this. We are currently in stages of having air conditioning brought to the hotel and I am sorry the heat of the rooms affected you during your stay.

I am glad to see that you managed to speak with the Team regarding this and that they were apologetic and looked after you. Great also to see that you would definitely recommend and return to us. Thank you once again for the review and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Ideal location. Very quiet considering the size of the hotel. The staff were delightful. Overall, the food was plentiful and it was excellent value for money. Well worth a stay! The best Premier Inn that I have ever stayed in. It was spotlessly clean as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emma-jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for leaving such a great review on your recent stay. It's great to hear we are the best Premier Inn you have stayed at and thank you for your kind comments regarding our Team and products. We are delighted to have made your stay more enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great hotel, Locality was just right. Minutes away from several stations (nearest being Glasgow Queen St or High st) Staff really helpful and chatty if you want them to be. Genuinely felt like they were interested in you having an enjoyable time. Don't usually pay for breakfast but on the last morning we decided to and we were pleasantly surprised.Value for money and very tasty all you can eat. We were pricing out next trip up before we had left.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank citylass17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for leaving a nice review on your recent stay. It's great too see you had a peaceful stay and that the Team looked after you during your visit. Happy to see also that you managed to get your next day off to a great start with our 'All you can eat' Premier Breakfast.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon, and be sure to check out our main Premier Inn website for all our best rates and offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Ideal location for day trips, shopping, galleries, places of interest. Clean, bright, quite and cosy hotel. Friendly, happy, helpful staff. I hope to be back again for longer stay. There is so much to see and do surrounding the hotel within 5 minutes walk..


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrigidsTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are delighted to see that you had a pleasant experience with us and that you experienced high levels of standards and service. Our location really is great and central for lots to do in Glasgow. We hope to welcome you back again soon as you further your exploration of what the city has to offer. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#21 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Address: 187 George Street, Glasgow G1 1YU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right by trendy Merchant City, the Gallery of Modern Art and the majestic Glasgow Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing