We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cooking in glasgow hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Ranked #24 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“cooking in glasgow hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

booked into premier inn with my wife on a visit to see family and friends, glasgow was alive with people having a wonderful time ,we did too our only disappointment was our hotel ,we were given the second last room on the very top floor, great we thought peace and quiet we thought,but the heat in the room was such that we slept on top of the bed all night with a tower fan going ,not good i dont sleep so well with noise i did try to alter the thermostat in the room but no joy it just seemed to register the ambient temperature,the following morning after spending a night with my my face stuck to the pillow i reported my problem at the desk the friendly young man at the desk told me that he would take a look at the problem but that the thermostat in the room wasent for cooling ,later that day after visiting family we came back to our room the same blast of heat met us at the door but we were in luck we now had two fans ,a huge fan on a stand had been added.we again slept on top of the covers and all the fans did was stir the hot air arround ,every day my pillow had to be changed not just the cover but the whole pillow on our very last night i noticed that some windows downstair were opened ,a member of staff told me that in every room there is one window that opens to let heat escape , it was a help but after a week i'd had enough,one other thing the bath cum shower has no safety grip on the wall so try not to slip on your way out.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent visit to our hotel. It's good to see that you found Glasgow to have a great atmosphere and that you and your family enjoyed what Glasgow had to offer. I am sorry to hear though that you had issues with the temperature in your room. Our hotel does not have Air Conditioning as yet however we do have other measures in place such as bedroom fans, sheets instead of duvets and closing the curtains to keep the sun out - I apologise if this did not help. I am happy to see that you raised the issue with our Team and that they were able to assist you further, however apologise if this did not fully rectify the situation for you. I really hope that this has not dissuaded you from choosing Premier Inn again in the future and if I can be of any further assitance please do not hesitate to get in contact.

Kind Regards,
Jamie Cattigan
operationsmanager.glasgowcitygeorgesquare@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,105
    852
    245
    63
    40
See reviews for
496
774
154
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Durham
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in May, check in was simple and straight forward, room was as most premier inns, a bit marked in places, carpet had stains on but overall all linen and towels were very clean, bathroom was immaculate.
Premier Inn offer everything for a basic nights stay, to be fair we only slept here as we were out all the time, this hotel is very central and excellent for a shopping weekend or shot break if your not looking for luxury but just somewhere to rest.
The bar is lovely, nice feel and good staff.
Definitely stay again as at £70 for two nights for a couple, you really can't go too far wrong!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsSCountyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your pleasant review. We are happy to see that we supplied you with everything you needed for your stay and we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

It's two minutes walking distance to the George Square (one of the tourist attractions in Glasgow), and 3 minutes to Queen Street train station where you can travel to Highlands. and 10 minutes walk to Buchanan Street (the major shopping district). Even though it is close to the central, the Hotel is in a quiet street so it is great for a good sleep. The room is a bit small but clean and tidy. The staff are friendly. Wifi is free for 1st 30 minutes. £3 for 24 hours. It'd be better if Wifi is free for an hour a day.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ko Moe U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your review on our hotel. Our location really is central for many attractions in the city and glad that this suited you well for your stay. Glad to see you found our hotel to be clean and friendly and please be assured Premier Inn are working on the Wi-Fi currently and we hope to change our offering to our guests in the coming months. We look forward to seeing you back at one of our many hotels again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for one night just before the commonwealth and were very happy with this hotel. Excellent location just up the road from George's Square, walking distance to bars and restaurants. The Thai restaurant Chaophraya next to Nelson Mandela Square is well worth a trip but sit inside to enjoy the exquisite old music hall architecture. The room was spacious, a fan was provided and was well needed in the heat wave, there is no air con but this was not an issue for us. It was clean, staff were friendly and polite, breakfast was good and the poached eggs were done to perfection. Parking is available at the NCP on Montrose Street opposite the hotel, ideally located for the hotel. Perfect location for the town centre and also the more historic Cathedral and the Necropolis. Would definitely stay here again when visiting Glasgow.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review on your recent stay. We're really pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay and we'll be sure to pass on your compliments to the breakfastchef regarding your poached eggs! We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for one night during the Commonwealth Games. The location was excellent with very handy parking at reduced rate just across the road. We had two rooms, one of which was a standard the family rooom. The second room was lovely, really big and on the corner of the building. There was plenty of room for us all and we also got a great view of the women's road race as they whizzed by in the morning. The breakfast was good and the staff were all really friendly. The only downside, but a big one, was the amount of noise in the street overnight. Being in a city centre you expect some noise but this was all night and a mix of noisy revellers and people putting up the barriers for the cycle race. I got very little sleep to the point that I struggled with breakfast and did not have the energy or brain power to verbalise a complaint. My fatigue also interferred with my enjoyment of the Games that day. It was on the expensive side for a Premier Inn, despite booking 5 months in advance.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are lovely and spacious-perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us. It's great to see that our location suited you well for your visit to the city and that the rooms were ideal and you enjoyed the space in the family room you were allocated. I am sorry though to hear of the noise disturbance caused from outside the hotel.

As you mention it was the Commonwealth Games and the cycle race route was partly outside our hotel. As much as I am glad your room gave you a great view of the race it is disappointing to hear that the set up of the route was noisey as they prepared the streets. We did work closely with the council to try to arrange suitable times and minimal disruption, however I'm sure you can understand the timeframes they needed to work to for the set up and the challenge of doing so in the city centre. Again I apologise for this.

Hopefully this unfortunate incident has not dissuaded you from return to Premier Inn and if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to get in touch.

Kind Regards,
Jamie Cattigan
operationsmanager.glasgowcitygeorgesquare@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We've just stayed here for 2 nights for the commenwealth games. Location is perfect for city centre. Standard premier inn room, clean, comfy , decent bathroom etc. We had a fantastic stay, everyone we met were so friendly and helpful including all the staff at the premier inn. The bar is a decent place to have a beer and relax. Yes we paid a inflated price for this hotel per night but unfortunately that was standard for all the hotels in Glasgow.
There's parking in a NCP car park opp the hotel which is easy access off the M8. The hotel will validate the parking token and it's £10 for 24hours. I'll be staying here again when I return to Glasgow.
Thank you to everyone in Glasgow we met, you made it a great stay!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thanks for such a glowing review. Great to see you had a clean and comfy stay and that the Team looked after you during your time with us. We look forward to seeing you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands
Level Contributor
263 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed a night here before a very early Commonwealth Games session. The hotel is excellently placed for Glasgow's main rail and bus stations, and for the city centre in general. Everything about the hotel was fine - room size, comfort, cleanliness and staff helpfulness. If we were to be in Glasgow again, we would be happy to return, but on the assumption that prices were in line with what one should expect of Premier Inn ie about one fifth of what we paid.
The only saving grace about the price hike was the knowledge that all Glasgow hotels were at it, and nearly all were even more expensive than Premier Inn.
At least the hotel was happy to store our luggage for us until our Games day was over.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotty062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you taking the time to leave a review on your stay. We're glad to see that everything suited you during your stay and that you will be happy to return to us. As you state our prices were increased due to the Commonwealth Games, however we do feel that our prices still reflected good value in variation to other hotels in the city as you state. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and be sure to keep an eye on the main Premier Inn website for all our best deals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#21 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Address: 187 George Street, Glasgow G1 1YU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right by trendy Merchant City, the Gallery of Modern Art and the majestic Glasgow Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing