We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you get what you pay for”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Artto Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Artto Hotel
Ranked #76 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“you get what you pay for”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

this place is lucky to have one of the best barmen i have ever met,
jamie take a bow
tremendously helpfull and friendly and always up for a laugh
a gang of us stayed here for a drinking weekend and picked this place for its location and its 24hr bar,
the rooms are what you expect for the money but the bar is a great laugh and the food from the adjoining indian is excellent
the only problem we had was that the 24hr bar only extended until the night staff decided they didnt want to serve anymore
im sure if jamie was on nights that would have been different,he should host a few customer service sessions with his workmates,top bloke

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moz-dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    157
    154
    73
    66
See reviews for
36
170
71
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I'll start with the positives. The hotel is in the centre of Glasgow. The rooms were clean and the reception and bar staff were polite and helpful.
I'd be wary having a room at the front as this is onto a busy street. Our room could have done with someone wiping down the walls or painting it. The toilet seat needed fixing and the shower put out as much water out the joint as the shower head.
BREAKFAST, this was a Hugh disappointment. The owners need to train the staff on how to properly serve people. Disappointing food and mediocre service. Too many other hotels offering better for less.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JAM1N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel was neither wonderful nor horrible. It was reasonable value for a hotel in the city centre of Glasgow. With that location comes city noise and not the best night's sleep - although I closed the window the double-glazing wasn't up to much. The room was next to the lift so there was a banging noise repeated throughout the night. Not a good night's sleep. Overall the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was on the small side but the bathroom was very nicely presented. The bed wasn't good - we could feel the springs coming through. I've stayed in better hotels in Glasgow's city centre but this was the best option when I booked. I would not stay again with other, better places on offer despite the great location.

Room Tip: Sleep on the back of the hotel and not near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesseClinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

After reading some poor reviews regarding this hotel I was pleasantly surprised to prove those reviewers wrong. No complaints whatsoever about this hotel. Staff were very pleasant and the room, although facing on to Hope Street was quite quiet. I will definately return at some time.

Room Tip: ask for higher floor ie 3rd
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Had a luvly stay in artto hotel, room was bit small but clean and slept well. Bathroom was a good size and spotless. Staff were friendly and helpfull and they let us leave our cases with them after checking out till it was time for us to catch our train

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Janojanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The reception looks OK on entering the hotel but be aware the poor rooms. The room was dirty, in need of decoration and the bed did not have a mattress protector. The mattress was incredibly uncomfortable and i ended sleeping on the pillows. The bathroom needed a refurbishment with broken tiles and corroded taps. The bathroom door also did not shut. Be aware they insist on full payment upfront before you go to your room. Not surprising as i would have left if i had the choice. The worst hotel i have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here overnight last saturday, perfectly situated in central Glasgow, lovely hotel , staff very friendly, lovely reception and bar area, room very clean, size just perfect for 2, if we had to say anything negative it would be matress could be doing with being replaced, to soft for our liking (but that's just our personal preference) bathroom in hotel was spotless, breakfast in morning was really tasty - was offered continental or cooked breakfast (we had cooked). We were on 2nd floor facing rear of building, very little noise, bit you are staying in central Glasgow so obviously like any other central hotel you have to expect some noise! Will definitely be back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Scots_Chick_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 96 in Glasgow
1,747 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
1,010 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artto Hotel

Property: Artto Hotel
Address: 37-39 Hope Street, Glasgow G2 6AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Artto Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish accommodation with the friendliest service. All located in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Artto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artto Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing