We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we wanted”
Review of Artto Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artto Hotel
Ranked #71 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Friendly staff, across the street from the train station (literally), amazing food blocks away. Room isn't huge or anything, bed was a little spring-y but I really can't complain because the location and people were awesome! I'd recommend it if you are travelling through Glasgow.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank joanna1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

very good friendly service and so helpful with my bags and I was given a room with a bath..tho a single room with shower booked. i slept ok in 303 tho its right on the street..so expect sum city hub bub noise(it has double glazing but i like a window open for air) i got a free early check in 2pm and check out is 12 so thats good. on the down side room wasnt clean enough..dirty bathroom shelf thick with dust&grime..i had to clean myself&the carpet and chair stained..but what bothered me most was no protector on mattress or pillows..manager said she will address this i mentioned it on leaving. the breakfast is disappointing..cereals and continental selection is fine..but no cereal spoons on the table! had to request one each morning..v odd and tables laid out knife n forks all back to front. hot breakfast is poor..no menu selection cards either..first day i was told its just egg,bacon,sausage,mushroom&beens and brought up to me when i just started eating my cereal! next morning it was buffet style..same selection hot food but eggs scrambled none left and when i asked for them they said some coming but they never arrived. i wud stay again i felt safe&welcome there as a lone female traveller but would take breakfast elsewhere..noticed a Wetherspoon round the corner and the single rooms dont sound good in the attic. i have disabilities and felt staff helpful to me and its so well located i will def return and hope room cleanliness issues addressed&its ideal for the City Tour bus round the corner..overall i recommend this as a budget hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshinejoypeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Artto is a standard European hotel. The rooms are small, compared to American standards, amenities are limited, and the hotel is a little ran down. What sets the Artto apart is service and location. The staff was so incredibly friendly and helpful - everyone from the manager, reception, breakfast attendant, bartenders, and desk attendants. They went above and beyond for us. The location is also prime - right outside Central Station and close walking distance to many restaurants, attractions, and shopping.

Two minor complaints - the hotel smelled like curry at times. Rooms that face Central Station can be loud.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wanderlust678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

this place is lucky to have one of the best barmen i have ever met,
jamie take a bow
tremendously helpfull and friendly and always up for a laugh
a gang of us stayed here for a drinking weekend and picked this place for its location and its 24hr bar,
the rooms are what you expect for the money but the bar is a great laugh and the food from the adjoining indian is excellent
the only problem we had was that the 24hr bar only extended until the night staff decided they didnt want to serve anymore
im sure if jamie was on nights that would have been different,he should host a few customer service sessions with his workmates,top bloke

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moz-dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I'll start with the positives. The hotel is in the centre of Glasgow. The rooms were clean and the reception and bar staff were polite and helpful.
I'd be wary having a room at the front as this is onto a busy street. Our room could have done with someone wiping down the walls or painting it. The toilet seat needed fixing and the shower put out as much water out the joint as the shower head.
BREAKFAST, this was a Hugh disappointment. The owners need to train the staff on how to properly serve people. Disappointing food and mediocre service. Too many other hotels offering better for less.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JAM1N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel was neither wonderful nor horrible. It was reasonable value for a hotel in the city centre of Glasgow. With that location comes city noise and not the best night's sleep - although I closed the window the double-glazing wasn't up to much. The room was next to the lift so there was a banging noise repeated throughout the night. Not a good night's sleep. Overall the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was on the small side but the bathroom was very nicely presented. The bed wasn't good - we could feel the springs coming through. I've stayed in better hotels in Glasgow's city centre but this was the best option when I booked. I would not stay again with other, better places on offer despite the great location.

Room Tip: Sleep on the back of the hotel and not near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JesseClinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

After reading some poor reviews regarding this hotel I was pleasantly surprised to prove those reviewers wrong. No complaints whatsoever about this hotel. Staff were very pleasant and the room, although facing on to Hope Street was quite quiet. I will definately return at some time.

Room Tip: ask for higher floor ie 3rd
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#69 of 93 in Glasgow
1,898 reviews
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
771 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artto Hotel

Address: 37-39 Hope Street, Glasgow G2 6AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £51 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Artto Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish accommodation with the friendliest service. All located in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Artto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artto Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing