We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place”
Review of Cairncross House

Cairncross House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cairncross House
Ranked #81 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Are you going to Glasgow? Stay at this Hotel!! Great place, with large roon and good shower. great stafs that help you all the time and also giving clues about the city. near that some atractions in the city like parks and museuns

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisandro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
There are newer reviews for Cairncross House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2008

as previous posters have said - you get what you pay for: excellent value for Glasgow: we paid 16 pounds per night per single room in August! OK the showers/toilets are shared (but always clean) and it's not a 4 star hotel, but I've stayed in 4 star hotels that were poorer than this! it's student accommodation for Glasgow University during term time and available to the rest of us outside those dates. The area is ok (coming up) though as said below be a bit careful when out and about after dark (though you can say the same for anywhere in Glasgow frankly). Good pubs nearby: the 78 (very close) and the Goat - right turn out the door and next right towards the main road. plenty of buses to town and about 4 pounds for a taxi. Nice Korean restaurant just on the main road and the delights of the Byres Road (and ashton Lane) restaurants are 10 minutes away (try the Wee Curry House for good cheap Indian food).

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 39stepsBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2006

Cairncross is a university hostel, so there is only so much you can expect. That being said, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was spick and span and we were offered a complementary bath towel, soap and shower matt. It was quiet and very well located.
Both the bathrooms and the kitchen could indeed be cleaner, however, much of it reflects the users, rather than the hostel.
Good value for your money.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pnblank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Vancouver, Canada
16
Reviewed 18 August 2005

Stayed here a couple of days mid-August just after the World Piping Championships so the city was busy and full of pipe bands.

I am a mom with 2 teenage kids - boy and girl - so was looking for something cheap, clean, safe with enough space so the two kids had some of their own.

Price - We paid about 120 GPB for two rooms for two nights - which is reasonable enough. They didn't have any singles left so we had to book 2 doubles. For 4 people it would have been very reasonable.

Rooms - The rooms were dorm-style with two beds, two wardrobes, two desks, two airmchairs and a sink. A bit on the shabby side so we felt at home (LOL). There is a phone in the room. You can purchase a phone card at the reception. The rooms were quite large - about double the size of where our friend was staying in an up-scale hotel. The rooms themselves were reasonably clean and they provided linens, towels and soap. Most of the rooms seem to be on one side of the hall with common facilities on the other. We were on the side with the common facilities and our rooms faced out onto some sort of garbage compactor area/parking lot so we were awakened each morning at 7:30 to the sound of forklifts and clanking. Try to get on the other side!

Common areas - There were several shared bathrooms and kitchens and a laundry on the floor. Bathrooms were a bit smelly and the shower stall was quite small. Common areas could have been a bit cleaner - although that's often what you get when a lot of young people are sharing. The kitchens were equiped with fridges, freezers, stoves, microwaves, kettles, dishes (tiny cereal bowls) , pots and pans (minimal), instant coffee, sugar, tea. People tend to leave things out on the table for other people to use after they go, so check before you shop:) Hope someone is enjoying my KD, baked beans and whiskey! There is a common area off the reception downstairs with TV, fussball, etc. No computers for visitors though. The nearest internet cafe is about a 15 minute walk across the U campus to the northwest.

Staff - Staff on reception were very friendly and helpful with questions. Cleaning staff were quite friendly as well. Things seem pretty relaxed, although security was good with the reception desk right next to the door. You have to either have a key or buzz to get in. There wasn't really anywhere secure to leave your luggage if you want check in early or leave it for awhile after checking out. They seem OK about leaving it in a common area but won't be responsible for it.

Area - About a block or two from Kelvingrove Hall and Park and the old U Glasgow Campus. Very pretty to walk around by day, although I would be very careful at night - as in most of Glasgow, which is a bit on the edgy side. The main problem would be drunken youths looking for trouble - they may look more dangerous than they really are but with a teenage girl and a teenage boy unlikely to keep looking straight ahead and walking on I didn't want to chance anything. Pipe band members were exchanging stories of personal muggings (not in this area but other areas of Glasgow) but these stories may have become bigger with time. There is a gas station about a block west with convenience stores where you can get milk, etc. There might be another grocery store nearby but we didn't see it. You can catch a #62 bus on Argyle ( a half block away) that will take you to and from city centre. There are several other buses that come by but that is the one we took. A day pass costs L2.30 for adults on the First buses. It costs about L5 to take a cab from downtown and it was a flat 15 to the airport. If you are on your own and don't have a lot of luggage you can take an airporter from Buchanan station for about L3.50.

All in all a comfortable cheap place to stay in Glasgow that is close to things and gives you the option of cooking for yourself. I would probably stay here again if I was staying in Glasgow - but I'm not sure if I would stay in Glasgow.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank automaticjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Smiths Hotel
#89 of 93 in Glasgow
421 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#60 of 93 in Glasgow
592 reviews
Devoncove Hotel
#88 of 93 in Glasgow
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#54 of 93 in Glasgow
209 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 93 in Glasgow
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairncross House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairncross House

Address: 20 Kelvinhaugh Place, Glasgow G3 8NH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairncross House 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Cairncross House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairncross House Hotel Glasgow
Cairncross Hotel Glasgow
Cairncross House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing