We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue chair review z”
Review of The Blue Chair

The Blue Chair
Ranked #480 of 2,411 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Blue chair review z”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

. . . Lets be honest , the rave reviews are hard to digest !! Kidding apart , yes its quirky , and yes friendly . . . But way too lacksidasical ! Such a shame as expectations were high. Very disappointing to see staff huddled around a table outside smoking. The smell of stale cooking oil a sure sign of extractor needing cleaned or fryer ?! Either way , not nice . . Now for the very thing we're there for ~ the food ! If the Blue chair was on wheels ,then i could nearly accept it as a burger van . For thats kinda what it feels like . . Sorry , but true !! (Think there are a few friends , family reviews there )

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maizie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    18
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect hidden gem in Merchant City”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

An incredibly welcoming, cosy restaurant with a relaxed vibe. The Blue Chair provided the ideal spot for a good catch up and post-work feast between friends! Ideally situated a short walk away from the main streets of the Merchant City, the atmosphere was relaxed and quiet. The homecooked food was delicious and the friendly service made dining here a joy. I will definitely be returning to see what else is on the menu the next time I'm looking for somewhere well priced and passing through this part of the city.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank H A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cute, quirky & fabulous food!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I visited blue chair for lunch with my boyfriend and a friend as I live close-by. The service was fantastic, Australian lady who owns it and cooks all the food is so friendly and down to earth, happy to explain anything required from the menu. I had the lasagne which was beautiful, my boyfriend had the fish cakes and our friend had the chicken burger, could not fault the food in the slightest, everything was delicious. The menu is amazing...a breakfast style menu offering full breakfast and omelettes and the regular menu offering a wide range of food as well as a specials menu with around 6-7 dishes. There are also a selection of home made cakes and brownies available which are unreal!! Prices are extremely reasonable too, great value for money! I will definitely be back ASAP :)

Helpful?
Thank kristinjwx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quirky, friendly, good food”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Visited on a Sunday afternoon, rabbit pie, eggs benedict, soup, full breakfast all tasty; quality ingredients and well cooked. The pancakes were not the best though they were homemade. Service was really friendly and cheerful and laid back to the point of being slow- not always an issue but we were really hungry! Reasonably priced and we would go back. It would be a nice wee place to spend a leisurely evening with a bottle of wine(byob) and listen to/ be involved in the open mic.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eveline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great little find”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I came across this place by accident and although it is very casual, the food ambience and service are first class. Go and try it for yourself.

Helpful?
Thank MoggyGla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Chair also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Blue Chair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing