We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Chinese” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ka Ka Lok

Ka Ka Lok
Ranked #438 of 2,387 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Scotland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had passed several times but never ventured in...very silly on our part! This turned out to be an exceptionally good meal. You will be handed two menus - an English one and a Chinese one. The English version is the standard British style Chinese food - BBQ ribs, sweet and sour pork, duck with pancakes. But the Chinese menu is the real deal. Our party of four chose something different each and every plate was so flavoursome. The staff are charming and quick to give advice about our selections. Service was slick and the Jasmine tea just kept coming. At the moment the restaurant doesn't have alcohol for sale but you can bring in your own beer and wine. The fresh sliced oranges and grapes were a lovely touch at the end of the meal and the fruit was free! Our bill was less than £18 per head. Would we go back...absolutely. Would we recommend Ka Ka Lok ...without hesitation

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    30
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Is this the best chinese in Glasgow ?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Four visiting from Inverness. Chose to go chinese on friday 2nd may and stopped at the Ka Ka instead of going on to Asia Style and wasnt disappointed.

Both food and service brilliant. No qualms in recommending it for an excellent meal!

Ive given it 5 stars in "bar scene" and "outdoor seating" so the rating doesnt suffer - but it doesnt have a bar or outdoor seating.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ColinC186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Better than next door...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Decided to try this place out and was not disappointed. I like the fact that the option of traditional and 'English' menu is given...always felt better food on traditional menu.Loved the squid and chilli for starter and really reasonable in comparison to the price of the restaurant next door(you know what I'm talking about).
Main dishes of chicken and black bean sauce and a vegetable dish with some noodles and tofu were delicious.Washed down with free tea and complimentary oranges at end...ps free prawn crackers(good if your that way inclined) also and didn't put corkage on my partners bottle of beer.Price? Under twenty five pounds...Hope they remain like this.

Looking forward to returning and recommend

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrcpych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I've been to ka ka lok a number of times now and it's always great. The food, service and value is fantastic.

I hope the standard continues.

Helpful?
Thank Gjw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Been to this restaurant 3 times now, and it has absolutely great food every time. The service is faultless and the atmosphere is brilliant, very friendly and welcoming place. The portions of food are perfect and the prices are very appealing. I cannot recommend this place enough and I will be going back to try many more things on the menu, whilst telling everyone around me to try it also.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ka Ka Lok also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Ka Ka Lok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing