We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Celebration Dinner”
Review of The Avenue

The Avenue
Ranked #583 of 2,428 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A comfortable Bar/Restaurant, family friendly, live music, daily food specials, booking recommended
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration Dinner”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Requested booth table and pleased to see was obliged. Table and staff set it up with birthday favours. Staff (Sara/Michael) were very friendly and helpful. Food was great and as a connoisseur of bangers and mash; The Avenue's are Thee Best! Buffalo wings had a nice spicy taste and burger was delicious.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thistleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roddy y, Manager at The Avenue, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thankyou Thistleboy for your review, glad we were able to meet your demands! The booths are so popular it's not always possible to guarantee them, however so glad on this occasion that we could make it work!! I wish we had put in more! The bon bons certainly seem to be a winner with everyone, and we appreciate your valued feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Avenue very soon!
Best regards
Roddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    40
    8
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Lovely.”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had heard good things about this new restaurant, so popped in for a wee late lunch. We had a shaky start, as the staff were busy clearing tables, rather than bringing us menus, but we realised that we had dashed into a recently vacated booth, and once they saw we were new customers, they were most attentive. Steak, pulled pork, and tuna melt sandwiches all got top marks, and the real chips were delicious. I look forward to a return visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mharie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent new local!”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We have eaten in the Avenue several times since it opened late last year and have not been disappointed. The menu has something to suit everyone and is updated regularly. Excellent standard of food, service and great value for money. Management are extremely welcoming and go out their way to ensure you looked after.
Will definitely return soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“This is what a local bar restaurant should be!!!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Popped in for on Mothers Days for a meal with my wife without a booking. Greeted like a long lost friend and looked after very well, despite it being very busy. Roddy does have all the patter!!! Great meal and service. Just feels like a welcome extension of home - comfortable, relaxing and great food. Keep it up Roddy, Kevin and the team.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good news for Bishopbriggs”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Great new pub/diner run by people who care. Been in a few times
for a drink and enjoyed the atmosphere and the fact that music on and lights dimmed after 6. Mixed age group clientele which is great. Food also excellent

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Avenue also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing