We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the money”
Review of Belgrave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belgrave Hotel
Ranked #90 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Langley, B.C.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for the money”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Writing this review while staying in this hotel. The location is very good: Close to shops; subway to the downtown core; and only a few steps from the campus of U of Glasgow. The rooms although plain are clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and very welcoming. The parking is a little hard to find (actually located behind the hotel but you have to negotiate a series of one way streets).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BOA54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    26
    21
    18
    21
See reviews for
10
35
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I chose to stay here for two reasons: one the price and two the location.

As for location this place can't be beat. It's about a six minute walk to the Glasgow Subway, plus a bus stop across the street. It is just a few minutes walk from all the unmissable Glasgow sites like Kelvingrove Art Gallery, University of Glasgow, Botanical Gardens, and Byres Road. Also nearby are some good cafes, pubs, and vintage shops. Unfortunately, the closest rail station is a mile away! From here it takes a bit of maneuvering to get out of the city and into the countryside, but it is possible.

My room was 35 pounds a night for a single en-suite room and breakfast every morning. The breakfast is decent, hot and filling first thing in the morning but nothing special about it. My room was small and my en-suite was even worse. However, while I was out every day my room was discreetly cleaned and fresh linens provided every day, albeit a bit shabby.

The hotel is just off of Great Western Road, but convenience comes at a price. The road can be noisy, especially on the weekends. There are lots of cars, buses, and a loud individual or two. But overall it's a pretty safe area, at least I didn't have any trouble. On the contrary most everyone I met was friendly.

The staff is nice, but don't ask for too much help. Mostly they'll give you a small, a few directions and a pamphlet. Good if you're into researching on your own, bad if you want a hotel directed stay. Lots of international visitors use this hotel which can make for an interesting breakfast in the morning. A large plasma screen will usually be on BBC1 in the morning just in time for you to catch the news.

If I'm still broke next time I'm in Glasgow I'll probably stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 7 has a great view, but it's tiny. You can tell that they just turned the closet into an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alysefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed during the Worlds week in this charming hotel. Rooms are clean, people are friendly and helpfull. Really good situation. Perhaps it is noisy outside? I don't know because i slept really good in the comfortably bed in the charming room in -1. We will come back again for sure

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlivierTHIELEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We had to stay one night in Glasgow to make an morning flight the following morning. This place didn't even look like a hotel . I expected to see something at least similar what I have seen at hotels presented pictures but when I got downstair underground shabby dark small room with approx 60inc windows were was wiew to the ground I was shocked .the room was very small and the space was just for double bed .the air condition ,internet doesn't works ,iron was burnt with brown on the bottom,was very cold and dumpy in the room,the air heater was very noisy,the floor in bathroom was very cold , dump smell which tryed kill with air freshener. the breakfast was fine but there wasnt any room to enjoy it .never stay again

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anrial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Very clean, friendly staff, and in a great location. The rooms are very reasonably priced and close to the university and college of piping. Margaret will feed you a Scottish breakfast and send you on your way with a smile. Would stay there again when back in Glasgow.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seamusrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Had a fab weekend, great location for pubs and restaurants, Margaret was extremely helpful and made our stay extra special, nothing was a problem for her. Great choice for breakast and would definately stay again on our next trip to Glasgow.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mand260969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

I stayed one night last week and I was appalled at the state of the place. It's in dire need of a total refurb. I had a cramped room at the top of the house and some of the stains down the side of the bed had clearly been there for some time. The window in my room may have well has not been there as it let in the wind and also the noise. I was woken up at 230am by shouting outside, then some loud music, then more shouting...it stopped at 4am though. I stayed one night as I had little choice given the time of night, but I left early the next morning and wouldn't return if you paid me.

Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank soloflyer1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#64 of 93 in Glasgow
64 reviews
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#73 of 93 in Glasgow
264 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#70 of 93 in Glasgow
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#63 of 93 in Glasgow
321 reviews
Albion Hotel
#55 of 93 in Glasgow
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belgrave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belgrave Hotel

Property: Belgrave Hotel
Address: 2 Belgrave Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 8JD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Belgrave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, family run hotel in the heart of Glasgow's West End. All rooms are en-suite with free Wi-Fi and a computer in each room for you to research the best places to visit in Glasgow! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belgrave Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing