We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Useful Commonwealth Games base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel
Ranked #26 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Useful Commonwealth Games base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Glasgow 2014 brought me to the PI at Cambuslang.

As I didn't manage to get any tickets until Oct 2013 the little accommodation left in and around central Glasgow was ridiculously pricey so I paid £567 for a 3 night stay FRI - MON on the last weekend in July.

The hotel is ideally located for those coming from the south just by J2 of the M74 and we found it really quickly, you can actually see it from the motorway (hotel website directions were spot on)

It is also near both city centre route bus stops (10- 15 min walk) and the train station (15-20 min walk) and we found that using google maps and the traveline Scotland app meant we could leave the car parked up all weekend. We also managed to walk into the city on Saturday morning which took us about 45 mins at a reasonably brisk pace and we are not athletes!

This is a standard PI but the things which made it very good were:-

1) Helpful staff on reception - friendly and knowledgeable about the local area and they had bothered to put a large board with loads of "Games " information. They also called taxis for you if you needed one.

2) It was very hot that weekend and they had sheets available in reception should you find that the duvet was too warm

I am still a fan of PI!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PorkpieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hi PorkpieUK,

I am pleased you found us easily with the direction available on our website and glad you did manage to find accommodation with us as rooms were scarce at this time. We have a great location for all those who wish to leave their cars in our car park and explore the City on foot. We tried our very best to keep our guests INNformed!! During the Games with our board I am glad you found it useful. We tried our very best to keep everyone cool in the unusual hot weather we experienced in Scotland offering sheets, fans and iced water. And glad you found the benefits of it.

We look forward to meeting you again on future trips to Glasgow.

Warm regards,

Maureen C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    117
    47
    8
    7
See reviews for
135
102
21
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here for a week during the Commonwealth Games and were really impressed with the helpfulness of all the staff both in the hotel and in the restaurant. Nothing was too much trouble.
Although it may appear to be a hotel only for car drivers, it is actually only 10 minutes walk from Carmyle station, which is just a 10 minute journey from Glasgow Central, so you don't have to have a car to stay here.
If you are visiting with teenagers then the close proximity of KFC and McDonalds will be appealing.
Also, although situated close to major roads, the windows are excellent at blocking out the noise.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hi Joy T,
I hope you enjoyed the atmosphere the Commonwealth generated in our home City, we certainly enjoyed having guests from all over the world choose us for their stay. Our team were pleased to here your kind comments made in both our hotel and restaurant. Agreeably our hotels location is ideal for all guests wishing to explore our City especially on foot as you mentioned.
We look forward to seeing you on future trips.
Warm regards,
Maureen C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire uk
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for three nights for the Commonwealth Games. This Inn is very convenient for the motorway as we had travelled from Yorkshire and its near a good bus route into the city and there are train stations near by. The facilities at the Premier Inn are really good with comfortable beds and enough pillows!! My only gripe is that the prices had been put up because of the Games so it made the stay expensive. Breakfast is at the Beefeater next door, two days service was good but on the Saturday morning it was very busy and they did not appear to have enough staff on, bread, fruit juices, hot water for teas etc were not filled up promptly which was a disappointment as they would know how many breakfasts were booked for as this has to be paid for beforehand. Overall a good stay and I would certainely return, the staff are very friendly and all our questions were answered.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybanker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Hello,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments regarding your stay at Glasgow Cambuslang. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that we have kept up your expectations of our staff and comfortable rooms. Due to this being a very big event for Glasgow, as they do with many events across the country, the prices reflected the demand for accommodation. I apologise for you having to wait for breakfast on Saturday morning, however there are some mornings (especially during the Commonwealth Games) where guests hadn’t pre-booked breakfast and showed up unexpected in the morning. I would also like to clarify with you that it was in fact our restaurant that you used as we do not have a Beefeater restaurant next door, it is a Table Table branch? There is a Beefeater restaurant at the Premier Inn situated just 5 minutes from us, so we weren’t sure that you perhaps meant this one instead and this is why it has taken so long for us to reply to your comment.

Again, we would like to thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you again soon at Cambuslang.

Kind regards,

Maureen C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addlestone, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here for the commonwealth games, and suspect the prices were put up for this event. Booked 9 months ago, and at £179 per night, not cheap. And still had to pay for wifi & breakfast.
Apart from price, it was as I would expect. Rooms clean, staff friendly, but would have expected staff to know more about travelling to games considering that was obviously why a lot of people would have been staying.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hi Lee C,

I am sorry on this occasion you were not satisfied with the price you paid for your stay, However I am pleased you got what you expected with our rooms and staff members. We had a few team members from other hotels helping and not many of them are from the Cambuslang so perhaps this is why they weren’t so familiar with the travel routes.

We do hope to see you in the future.

Warm regards,
Maureen C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here as a stop off point driving back from the highlands to Bristol. I tend to- and prefer to- stay in central Glasgow, but have stayed here before for Celtic games (Parkhead is a 20 minute walk away)
It's right on the M74 junction, so very handy if you- like us- are just travelling through, and as always with Premier Inns, the beds are really comfortable. I was slightly surprised that at 1.50 pm we couldn't check in , admittedly that is ten minutes before the official check in time, but I found it odd there wasn't any room ready for us by that time (I suppose it must just have been that we had already been allocated a room and that particular one wasn't ready)
No problems though, and if I couldn't get a room in town, I would consider this place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Rex L,
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on our hotel. I am glad you found the location handy for your stop over on your journey home and that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms. I am sorry to here you had to wait a little before we had the room ready for check in. If our hotel is full from the day before we try to have all the rooms ready for our 2pm check in. Before we can check guests in to our rooms our Housekeeping Team Leader has to check the rooms over ensuring everything is as it should be for our guests. I apologies that on this occasion this was not explained to you.
We look forward to seeing you again,

Kind regards
Maureen C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Attending the Commonwealth Games at the Emirates Arena and this hotel was perfect for its location. Great rooms and beds. Only tainted by one member of staff in relation to the newly installed token exit system.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyberdude07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Cyberdude07,
I hope you enjoyed your visit during the City’s Commonwealth Games our town came to life with all the visitors we had. I am glad you found the location suitable for your needs during your trip and you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and our beds. I would like to apologies for the staff service received with regards to the newly installed barrier, we are all getting used to the new system and I can now safely say we are all fully trained on the system.
We look forwards to welcoming you back on future visits.
Kind regards,
Maureen C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed for two nights duruing the Comonwealth games. What a great place to stay. The staff are fantastic and go out of the way to make your stay enjoyable. There is a pub at the side to eat in where we were really surprised at the quality of the food for such a reasonable price. I am very fussy and I would say the food is as good as most of my favourite restaurants. A truly great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Alison D,

What a fantastic time to come and visit our City during the Commonwealth Games 2014. There was a fantastic energy about the town and all the staff enjoyed meeting all our guests and helping everyone get the best experiences during their stay. I am pleased you enjoyed your meals in our neighbouring restaurant and happy to pass on your lovely comments.

We looked forward to seeing you again,

Kind regards,

Maureen C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glasgow
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Number 10 Hotel
#24 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel
Address: 30 Westhorn Drive | Glasgow East Investment Park, Off London Road, Glasgow G32 8YX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#33 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're a captain of industry there's no better place to stay than Premier Inn Hotel Glasgow Cambuslang, with so many business venues nearby. Or if you're just majoring on the fun, you'll find plenty of that too, with tourist attractions and sports facilities that rank as some of the nation's best. Set sail for some great football action at Celtic Park or Ibrox. Or take a different tack and spend the day at a convention at the SECC. Drop anchor at the Hydro to hear a band or catch a show. Then come back to the original port of call, with a lovely tasty meal at our restaurant, and a great night's sleep in a comfy bed. We're just off junction 2A on the M74 motorway and our friendly team are here waiting with a warm welcome and we are eager to make sure that you get the best night's sleep. So come and visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Premier Inn and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/ m74, Jct 1) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing