We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Premier Inn, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel
Ranked #23 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good Premier Inn, convenient location”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I had a one night stay here late August and found it to be clean and comfortable.

Conveniently located just off the M74 and only a short five/ten minute drive into the City Centre. Free parking is available and there is a Table Table, McDonald's and KFC all pretty much next door.

Check-in was completed quickly as the Premier Inn website now let's you do this online for most hotels and all you have to do on arrival now is sign the form. My room was upstairs and and the first in the corridor. This is an older Premier Inn and has not yet been refurbished, although they appear to have the new beds which are very comfortable and I had a good nights sleep. There was no excessive noise. My room was just above the entrance and facing McDonald's and KFC whilst I left the window open all night so noise was not an issue.

Both the room and bathroom were both clean and on a good condition with no visible problems whilst the bedding and towels were both clean. One small irritant was that I felt the water pressure was quite weak, however this was not a disaster and it wouldn't put me off visiting again.

I had breakfast next door in Table Table in the morning where the usual Premier Inn breakfast service is available which was very good with an excellent choice available.

Overall a decent stay in a convenient location and I had a decent nights sleep, I'd happily return again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Hi Chris M,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on you recent stay with us here at Glasgow Cambuslang. I agree our location is great for guests who wish to explore our city and with free onsite car parking it makes a difference. Also with a choice of restaurants locally we can accommodate for everyone needs. I am glad you choose to have you Premier Inn breakfast with our Table Table restaurant and that you had en enjoyable experience. I am pleased to here you benefited from our easy check in service and you found our rooms comfortable especially with our new Hypnos beds. Did you know you can purchase one for yourself available on our website?

We look forward to welcoming you back on future stays.

Warm regards,

Maureen C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    122
    48
    10
    7
See reviews for
139
109
22
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Esslingen am Neckar, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Permier Inn is generally good value for money and once again this was the case. The hotel is located very close to the motorway and provides easy access to the city of Glasgow. The rooms are spacious, quiet and the breakfast was of a very good standard. The staff were more than helpful to provide advise and additional help with invoice changes etc. Overall very happy with the Permier Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainly_Travel_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hi Mainly Travel 09,
Thank you for your lovely comments about our Hotel. I am pleased you benefited from our price, location and staff service the team are so pleased to have such lovely feedback. We try to do the very best for all our guests to help them make the most of their stay with us.
We will be pleased to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Maureen C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Were very helpful help to carry my bags so I could help my disabled daughter. They were friendly and checked everything was OK when they see you. Need to ring and check that you have a ground floor room if booking on line for disabled people.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
H Sarah C.

Thank you for your very kind comments; we really do try our very best for all our guests even if it is simply helping a guest with their luggage. I would always recommend anyone with special room requirements or special requests to contact the hotel directly after booking so we can accommodate you needs.

We look forward to seeing you again

Kind regards,

Maureen C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Glasgow 2014 brought me to the PI at Cambuslang.

As I didn't manage to get any tickets until Oct 2013 the little accommodation left in and around central Glasgow was ridiculously pricey so I paid £567 for a 3 night stay FRI - MON on the last weekend in July.

The hotel is ideally located for those coming from the south just by J2 of the M74 and we found it really quickly, you can actually see it from the motorway (hotel website directions were spot on)

It is also near both city centre route bus stops (10- 15 min walk) and the train station (15-20 min walk) and we found that using google maps and the traveline Scotland app meant we could leave the car parked up all weekend. We also managed to walk into the city on Saturday morning which took us about 45 mins at a reasonably brisk pace and we are not athletes!

This is a standard PI but the things which made it very good were:-

1) Helpful staff on reception - friendly and knowledgeable about the local area and they had bothered to put a large board with loads of "Games " information. They also called taxis for you if you needed one.

2) It was very hot that weekend and they had sheets available in reception should you find that the duvet was too warm

I am still a fan of PI!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PorkpieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hi PorkpieUK,

I am pleased you found us easily with the direction available on our website and glad you did manage to find accommodation with us as rooms were scarce at this time. We have a great location for all those who wish to leave their cars in our car park and explore the City on foot. We tried our very best to keep our guests INNformed!! During the Games with our board I am glad you found it useful. We tried our very best to keep everyone cool in the unusual hot weather we experienced in Scotland offering sheets, fans and iced water. And glad you found the benefits of it.

We look forward to meeting you again on future trips to Glasgow.

Warm regards,

Maureen C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here for a week during the Commonwealth Games and were really impressed with the helpfulness of all the staff both in the hotel and in the restaurant. Nothing was too much trouble.
Although it may appear to be a hotel only for car drivers, it is actually only 10 minutes walk from Carmyle station, which is just a 10 minute journey from Glasgow Central, so you don't have to have a car to stay here.
If you are visiting with teenagers then the close proximity of KFC and McDonalds will be appealing.
Also, although situated close to major roads, the windows are excellent at blocking out the noise.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hi Joy T,
I hope you enjoyed the atmosphere the Commonwealth generated in our home City, we certainly enjoyed having guests from all over the world choose us for their stay. Our team were pleased to here your kind comments made in both our hotel and restaurant. Agreeably our hotels location is ideal for all guests wishing to explore our City especially on foot as you mentioned.
We look forward to seeing you on future trips.
Warm regards,
Maureen C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire uk
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for three nights for the Commonwealth Games. This Inn is very convenient for the motorway as we had travelled from Yorkshire and its near a good bus route into the city and there are train stations near by. The facilities at the Premier Inn are really good with comfortable beds and enough pillows!! My only gripe is that the prices had been put up because of the Games so it made the stay expensive. Breakfast is at the Beefeater next door, two days service was good but on the Saturday morning it was very busy and they did not appear to have enough staff on, bread, fruit juices, hot water for teas etc were not filled up promptly which was a disappointment as they would know how many breakfasts were booked for as this has to be paid for beforehand. Overall a good stay and I would certainely return, the staff are very friendly and all our questions were answered.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybanker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Hello,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments regarding your stay at Glasgow Cambuslang. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that we have kept up your expectations of our staff and comfortable rooms. Due to this being a very big event for Glasgow, as they do with many events across the country, the prices reflected the demand for accommodation. I apologise for you having to wait for breakfast on Saturday morning, however there are some mornings (especially during the Commonwealth Games) where guests hadn’t pre-booked breakfast and showed up unexpected in the morning. I would also like to clarify with you that it was in fact our restaurant that you used as we do not have a Beefeater restaurant next door, it is a Table Table branch? There is a Beefeater restaurant at the Premier Inn situated just 5 minutes from us, so we weren’t sure that you perhaps meant this one instead and this is why it has taken so long for us to reply to your comment.

Again, we would like to thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you again soon at Cambuslang.

Kind regards,

Maureen C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addlestone, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here for the commonwealth games, and suspect the prices were put up for this event. Booked 9 months ago, and at £179 per night, not cheap. And still had to pay for wifi & breakfast.
Apart from price, it was as I would expect. Rooms clean, staff friendly, but would have expected staff to know more about travelling to games considering that was obviously why a lot of people would have been staying.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hi Lee C,

I am sorry on this occasion you were not satisfied with the price you paid for your stay, However I am pleased you got what you expected with our rooms and staff members. We had a few team members from other hotels helping and not many of them are from the Cambuslang so perhaps this is why they weren’t so familiar with the travel routes.

We do hope to see you in the future.

Warm regards,
Maureen C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Number 10 Hotel
#27 of 95 in Glasgow
741 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Redstones Hotel
#75 of 95 in Glasgow
70 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#24 of 95 in Glasgow
965 reviews
Kings Park Hotel
#82 of 95 in Glasgow
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel
Address: 30 Westhorn Drive | Glasgow East Investment Park, Off London Road, Glasgow G32 8YX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#33 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're a captain of industry there's no better place to stay than Premier Inn Hotel Glasgow Cambuslang, with so many business venues nearby. Or if you're just majoring on the fun, you'll find plenty of that too, with tourist attractions and sports facilities that rank as some of the nation's best. Set sail for some great football action at Celtic Park or Ibrox. Or take a different tack and spend the day at a convention at the SECC. Drop anchor at the Hydro to hear a band or catch a show. Then come back to the original port of call, with a lovely tasty meal at our restaurant, and a great night's sleep in a comfy bed. We're just off junction 2A on the M74 motorway and our friendly team are here waiting with a warm welcome and we are eager to make sure that you get the best night's sleep. So come and visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/ m74, Jct 1) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow (Cambuslang/M74, J2A) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing