We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tale of Two Apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glasgow Loft Apartments
Ranked #67 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Tale of Two Apartments”
Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

We have stayed in this apartment/hotel on two previous locations. We were pleasantly surprised on first stay to find a large 2 bedroom apartment with a huge kitchen, hardwood floors, gorgeous view of Glasgow and two lovely bathrooms, the main bathroom with a deep jacuzzi tub. Needless to say, we jumped at the chance to book it again two years later and were equally pleased. The building had its faults, including lack of a real front desk presence (only a security person at front desk) and room doors that slammed incredibly loud if you forgot to shut them quietly behind you. Still, we were thrilled.

We are currently on day 2 of a 4 night stay and couldn't be more disappointed. We couldn't book through our normal site so booked through the company's own site. We decided that we didn't need a 2 bedroom apartment for one couple so booked a double bedroom apartment. They were only able to give us one key, despite the fact that there are two of us. Our room is obviously smaller but our lovely Glasgow view has been replaced by the back of a budget hotel and a roof top car park. The room doors still slam noisily. The biggest shock came from the fact that they have located the hot water tank for the one bedroom apartments inside the bedroom closets and anytime someone runs the hot water anywhere in the apartment, the pump fires up with a sound similar to someone running an emergency power generator. Guess how well that goes over if someone has to use the washroom during the night or if only one person has to get up early in the morning and get ready to go to their conference? I remember the two bedroom units also had their own hot water tanks but they were located well away from the bedrooms and we were never bothered by them there. Having the tank located two or three feet away from the bed is an entirely different matter! When I complained to the manager, she looked at me as though I was the first person who had ever mentioned this. I've read other critiques and know I'm not. "I'll get someone up to have a look at it." That was 10:15 this morning...it's now 4:21 PM and nobody has come up to check on it so it's obviously not a priority for them. I did mention it to the young woman who cleaned the apartment and she said that all the tanks sounded like that. "The noise stops when you stop running the hot water." Gee, thanks.

In summary, if you get a large, two bedroom apartment with a city view, you will probably be very happy and give the place 4 or 5 stars. The Lofts are certainly centrally located. If, however,you get a one bedroom apartment, you will probably be extremely dissatisfied and give it 1 star. Will we be back next time we're in Glasgow? Hard to say but I would say it's highly unlikely. We'll certainly be very specific about which unit we stay in if we do.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    113
    53
    31
    22
See reviews for
83
99
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Stayed for two nights during our recent trip to the UK, we booked Lofts as we had stayed there for one night on our last trip two years previously and were impressed with the space and facilities available in the apartment. Not so this time … we were given a very cramped apartment with the absolute bare minimum of items like crockery, cutlery and glasses, perhaps not a huge issue if you plan to eat out all the time, but as we had made a conscious decision to eat brekkie and one dinner in, it was irritating.

It’s in a good central location in Glasgow and there was no issue with cleanliness in the apartment. We did find the member of staff who checked us in somewhat surly and whilst overall it was not excessively priced, it’s unlikely that we’ll stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RugbyTragic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed with friends overnight we had two flats both with two bedrooms. Large floor to ceiling windows very spacious although some of our flooring had water damage and there were a few other examples of damage to walls from doors. Still nice place to stay just behind one of main shopping streets not far from theatre.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

This place was alright. The photos made it look really nice. The place itself was fine and in a great location. The staff were friendly enough. Check out is very early at 10am but they will store your bags for you. Our room had a big hole in the wall and everything just seemed to of been done cheaply and in a rush in the place. Although the rooms were very clean and they all were done up nicely. Would stay here again if nothing else is available.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiaraKendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Whenever we go down to Glasgow this is where we book.
Can't speak highly enough of the Glasgow Loft Apartments and can't wait to go back again.
Stunning views over the city skyline, beautiful rooms, pure luxury!
I'd recommend it to anyone thinking of coming to Glasgow ahead of any hotel everytime.
Go on, treat yourself. We do and it's well worth it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OorWullie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

A friend and i stayed here for one night and we loved it. I had seen pictures from the website and was even more impressed upon arrival. Close to sauchiehall street which was where we were headed and 5 mins walk from bus station. Clean and very spacious. Only downside was having to check out at 10am. Will definately book here again.

Room Tip: We were floor 4 and think if were higher up would have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliG317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed at Glasgow Lofts for a 1-night stay in October 2012. Had pretty high expectations due to the photos I had seen on the website/booking site. Was a little disappointed with the apartment we got, mainly due to the view being a courtyard of the opposite flats and being overlooked by both these flats and the rear rooms of a neighbouring budget hotel. To make this review a bit more concise, here are my pros and cons:

Pros:
- Great location - quick and easy access to/from motorway and a short walk into the city centre
- Parking - there are a few parking spaces available in a private car park if pre-booked, but there is also a multi-storey car park just across the road
- Spacious - all the rooms were very big and bright
- Bathrooms - one bathroom per room which is very handy (one en-suite and one normal bathroom)

Cons:
- Views - depending on where your apartment is located in the building, you could be very disappointed if you are hoping for views like those advertised!
- Lack of towels - we were only supplied with one bath towel between two adults! We were going to ask about getting another one but forgot in the end as we were going out, so one just made do with two hand towels instead!
- Basic facilities/equipment - if you were staying here for over a couple of days and were meaning to cook, I'd say the equipment supplied is a bit sparse
- Poor bedroom blinds - the blinds in the rooms are pretty useless at blocking out any light! They don't even fit the windows properly! Luckily we were staying in October so it was dark by evening anyway, but if you were staying in summer I think it would be fairly hard to get to sleep as the blinds wouldn't provide any level of darkness at all
- Check-in/check-out times - as per some other reviews I've read, would be good if the check-in time was a bit earlier, as 4pm seems quite late, and the check-out time a bit later

Overall, Glasgow Lofts are good if you need a couple of rooms and prefer separate bathrooms, and want to be close to the city centre/motorway. I would recommend them, but would suggest to the owners that they polish off some of the shabbier edges.

Room Tip: Remember to ask if you want an apartment with a city view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottish_Traveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 95 in Glasgow
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abode Glasgow
#43 of 95 in Glasgow
1,048 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,248 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Loft Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Loft Apartments

Property: Glasgow Loft Apartments
Address: 134 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6ST, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Loft Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Glasgow Loft Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Loft Apartments Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Loft Apartments Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing