We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location”
Review of Clifton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clifton Hotel
Ranked #72 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed for one night on a weekend in July 2012 with two friends. We had a triple room (one double and two singles) for just £81, including a cooked breakfast.

Despite its proximity to a main road, we found the noise not to be an issue, even though our room faced that road. Rooms facing the back, away from the road would be much quieter.

The room itself appeared to have been recently refurbished. All beds were comfortable, the room was spotless and the bathroom was very modern and clean.

All the staff we encountered were friendly.

The breakfast served in the morning was tasty, and there was an option for veggies, plus continental and/or cooked breakfast.

The hotel is right next to the Botanical gardens, at the end of Byres road so a whole host of walks, shops and restaurants are right on your doorstep.

There is a small car park right at the back of the hotel for off-road parking, but there are only a handful of spaces.

All in all a great place to stop over if you need something basic.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012

My mum stayed in this hotel during my graduation. Overall, she was pretty happy with the place, it was clean and warm (the heating was on! very appreciated. Even though it's summer the weather was crap, even by Scottish standards ;).

The hotel is on a very noisy street, so would not recommend it to those with sleeping issues, however it;s my personal opinion as my mum slept very well and didn't complain at all. she also enjoyed her Scottish breakfast included in the price.

the staff was an OK, two receptionists with strong Glaswegian accents, speaking really fast and rarely smiling :D quite a challenge for people coming to Glasgow for the first time :D

Overall, it was not a bad stay for the price of £39 a night with breakfast and all day heating ;)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Just spent the night in the Clifton hotel.. Booked last minute on Lateroom for £49 for double B&B. Wasnt sure what to expect but was delighted with the location... right between Oran Mor and the Botanic gardens. Was ideal . The room was very nice , spacious and comfortable. Im not usually a fan of smaller hotels. But felt very relaxed. The lady on reception was really helpful and down to earth, when we got our keys she said come and go as you please. Breakfast was very nice and staff again were helpful.. We managed to park behind the hotel, the car park is small , the car park was monitored in the hotel on CCTV. For a cheap night away in a prime location i have no complaints and would certainly use this hotel again..

Room Tip: Not sure what the other rooms were like. we booked a double but there was also a single bed there an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jak_67_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

PROS

Cheap at £49 for a double room with breakfast.
Situated across from Oran Mor.
Large room.
Parking.
Nice warm room.
Comfortable bed.

CONS
Early breakfast.
Carpet needed hoovering.
Shower rail held up by hook.
Hairs in the bath.

Not much to complain about given the cheap £49 room and would definitely stay again due to its location close to Byer's Road.
I was quite shocked at breakfast when a mother and daughter arrived in the breakfast room just after 9am to be abruptly told that they were too late for a cooked breakfast and could only have toast and cereal. At 9:25am a gentleman came into the room, sat down and was asked how he was, if he would like a full Scottish breakfast and did he want his eggs soft or hard?! The look on the mother and daughter's face was priceless and had I been them, would definitely have complained. I can only assume that this gentleman was perhaps the owner as nothing seemed too much trouble for him, but the staff did not handle the situation well and blatantly ignored the mother and daughter. You can't have different rules for different guests and they weren't even discreet about it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honey510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We booked this hotel as it is so close to Oran Mor. The hotel itself was not so bad - a bit dull and dreary, our room smelled of smoke, the cold tap wasn't working,shower a bit grubby, clean sheets but the thinnest of duvets on a freezing cold February night. All this we would have put up with for £59 (and asked for more covers and for tap to be fixed). However it was the staff that put us off. A very curt,grumpy woman on reception - almost rude? When I was asked to pay upfront (unusual?) I requested to see the room first, and was told 'well,you can see the room if you like,but you'll still have to pay'. Didn't like the display of cctv screens showing various parts of the hotel. Also didn't like the fact that there were always various men (the owner's/staffs' friends?) hanging around recetion. It just had a really uncomfortable feel about the place. In fact we felt so uncomfortable we decided we could not stay there. The thought of going bsck there after our party at Oran Mor would have spoiled out whole evening. So we checked out and checked in somewhere else. All-in-all a very expensive night!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Easy to find hotel, near train station, botanical gardens and close to city centre. We had a large bedroom with modern bathroom, flat screen tv , pleasantly surprised. Lovely and warm, free parking full breakfast included for a very reasonable £65 for 3 people. Chosen for location to SECC. Found staff pleasant and enjoyed stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandgrown2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I was looking for a hotel/guesthouse in the West End of Glasgow at extremely short notice for Hogmanay, and booked an ensuite room at the Clifton Hotel for a very reasonable £39.

At that price, I wasn't expecting too much but I was pleasantly surprised when I checked into the room (Room 9), as it was extremely clean, well-furnished and included tea/coffee making facilities, a large plasma TV and plenty storage space. The bathroom was small but very modern and again very clean.

I would agree that there is a fair amount of noise from traffic on Great Western Road, but as I was only staying one night, arriving late and leaving early, this wasn't a problem for me at all.

Cooked breakfasts were served in a small room just off the reception, but other than that there isn't anything else to the hotel, it really is more of a guesthouse.

If you are looking to stay in the West End and aren't overly bothered about hotel facilities and just want a nice room at a cheap price, then I'd recommend this place. However, DO NOT USE THE LOMOND HOTEL OR BOTANIC HOTEL which are also on Great Western Road/Buckingham Terrace (see my other reviews).

Room Tip: Room 9 is well furnished with a good bathroom, but is at the front so can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRS111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#65 of 93 in Glasgow
318 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#59 of 93 in Glasgow
335 reviews
Albion Hotel
#48 of 93 in Glasgow
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 93 in Glasgow
848 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
344 reviews
The Belhaven Hotel
#49 of 93 in Glasgow
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Hotel

Address: 26-27 Buckingham Terrace, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £35 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet area of Glasgow's West End, Clifton Hotel is a Victorian town house with free Wi-Fi. Great Western Road is nearby.Each room at Clifton Hotel features Freeview TV and tea/coffee making facilities.There is an elegant TV lounge at the Clifton, as well as antique furniture and a traditional spiral staircase.The Scottish Exhibition Centre and the Royal Concert Hall are within easy reach. There are good public transport links to the city centre. Check in from 3pm to 10pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing