We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VALUE”
Review of Clifton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clifton Hotel
Ranked #73 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We booked to stay here after a hogmanay night out - it was great value - a clean room with clean en suite shower room and a generous breakfast. The lady on reception has had a bad press on some of the reviews but she was really helpful to us - she is down to earth and straightforward and it all adds to the typically Glaswegian experience - she gave us a telling off for being late for breakfast but then produced a hearty breakfast and lovely big pot of tea. If you want insincere greetings and bland predictable decor then go somewhere else and pay four times the price but we will definitely go back to the Clifton if we need accommodation in the west end again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magsb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2013

I stayed here with 2 friends in November and were not disappointed. The building itself is an old Victorian Townhouse set right on the edge of where Great Western Road meets with Byres Road and Queen Margaret Drive so it was very handy. There is a small car park but unfortunately there were no spaces left for my car so I had to park on the VERY narrow streets alongside the hotel and had to pay and display. It worked out only a few pounds which was fine since we got such a good deal for stay.

Although the common areas were very dated our room was large and modern. It was well kitted out with lcd tv, table and chairs and kettle and had a nice, fresh, clean bathroom. Although no hairdryer and reception couldn't give me one.

Breakfast was served to us, so not much choice, but was fine for what we paid for. Would go here again with friends or myself but probably not as a family or as a couple.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elainemcgeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I stayed at the Clifton Hotel for one night recently. When we arrived in reception I was not met with a 'hello" or even a smile, no the receptionist just demanded "name". I was then handed a sheet of paper "sign that" and then "that's £60". Not a good start.

Our room was massive (two single beds and one double) but the heating did not work.

We were told breakfast was 7:30 to 9:30am. We appeared for breakfast at 8:55am, had to wait for a table and were told cooked breakfasts stop at 9am. There is no note of this anywhere. We were however reluctantly given a cooked breakfast by the woman who was just as rude at check in. After breakfast we returned to our room and looked on this site to see if anyone else had experienced the unfriendly staff, it seems the staff attitude is the norm.

Our booking.com booking confirmation email states check out is between 11am and 12noon. However at 11:15am there was a knock on our room door telling us we had to leave as check out is 11am. Again, there is no note of this in the hotel.

When we were leaving the hotel we walked past the three female employees and they never said goodbye, thank you or even acknowledged us.

The location of this hotel is great, the breakfast was tasty however the service was terrible. I think some customer service training is required.

I definitely won't be returning to this hotel, neither would I recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wethfdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Ideally located for Glasgow's West end, just over the road from Oran Mor, The Botanic Gardens and all the sights and sounds on offer.
Hotel was clean and well presented, staff friendly and helpful.
Room was ideal, comfy bed, good en-suite, breakfast was good too.
Will stay here again, without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy-Fifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Was clean and big room but toilet wouldnt flush properly room in need of upgrading. Had to wait in que for breakfast as not enough tables for everyone. Breakfast was disappointing after the wait. Staff weret nice but not in a hurry to go back

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariea n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We chose the Clifton after deciding to take a quick trip to Glasgow for the weekend. The location was ideal for exploring the West End and the room was lovely - very clean, big bath, new furniture and it was quiet despite facing out onto a busy road. Breakfast was very good value and was table service, and there were nice little touches that I haven't come across in similarly priced chain hotels, such as toast racks for each table, pots of tea and nice background music and decor. The receptionist was very helpful when I asked for directions to the Science Centre. I would have no hesitations in recommending the hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, and this was far enough away from the traffic to have a quiet night'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJ0286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

...but that is it. Location was great for my stay as I need to be near Oran Mor for a wedding, the room was clean but dark and under the stairs to the main entrance in the basement so people smoking outside meant the room smelt of it. Not much room in the bedroom and you had to squeeze past the bed and the table to get to the window and to make a cup of tea. Not many staff around and can't say I felt all that safe.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KECEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#68 of 93 in Glasgow
313 reviews
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#66 of 93 in Glasgow
69 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#61 of 93 in Glasgow
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albion Hotel
#48 of 93 in Glasgow
302 reviews
The Belhaven Hotel
#52 of 93 in Glasgow
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Hotel

Address: 26-27 Buckingham Terrace, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £39 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet area of Glasgow's West End, Clifton Hotel is a Victorian town house with free Wi-Fi. Great Western Road is nearby.Each room at Clifton Hotel features Freeview TV and tea/coffee making facilities.There is an elegant TV lounge at the Clifton, as well as antique furniture and a traditional spiral staircase.The Scottish Exhibition Centre and the Royal Concert Hall are within easy reach. There are good public transport links to the city centre. Check in from 3pm to 10pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing