We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“where to start!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Clifton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clifton Hotel
Ranked #74 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“where to start!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

The location is the good news. Finding the parking is difficult with no signage to the rear or lighting. The reception desk is in the only lounge which is also used for the DSS to wait in the morning with their bags before they leave. The room was spacious and clean with nice ensuite, however, at 6am the room above had a shower and water poured through the ceiling.... this was reported to the staff in the dining room who were not surprised I think. The breakfast was average to poor and the atmosphere was like sitting in someone's front lounge, staff children running around and smoke fumes from the boarders standing on door step having a fag in theirs pj's, not so classy. The hotel spoiled our trip and we will never be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottishcouple186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    85
    42
    34
    28
See reviews for
38
95
27
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

I stayed here for two nights with a colleague on a work trip - our civil service budget wouldn't stretch to the Hilton across the road! We wanted a west end location and this fitted the bill.
My room was huge with a four poster bed, but it didn't have anything draped on it and you could see all the mending plates keeping it together.
Apart from the furniture there was very little in the room. No hairdryer, nothing to read, no info. Tea and coffee was provided but just Nescafe and Tetley, no choice or decaf. The wardrobe had one hanger in it.
The bathroom was large with a big corner bath, and was almost clean. The shower curtain had seen better days and couldn't be moved. Were the splashes of red at the bottom of the door blood? Not sure....At least I had hot and cold running water, unlike my colleague, who just had hot water on the first night, which made flushing the toilet tricky!
Huge old single glazed windows did nothing to cut out the noise from the busy road below which didn't help sleep. And neither did the TV turning itself on at midnight each night - something both of us experienced must bizarrely!
Breakfast was ok. We were served quickly and a good range of cereal and standard cooked breakfast although sausages were typical cheap ones.
Next time I'll put quality before location!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bloggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

We booked to stay here after a hogmanay night out - it was great value - a clean room with clean en suite shower room and a generous breakfast. The lady on reception has had a bad press on some of the reviews but she was really helpful to us - she is down to earth and straightforward and it all adds to the typically Glaswegian experience - she gave us a telling off for being late for breakfast but then produced a hearty breakfast and lovely big pot of tea. If you want insincere greetings and bland predictable decor then go somewhere else and pay four times the price but we will definitely go back to the Clifton if we need accommodation in the west end again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magsb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbeltown, Scotland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

I stayed here with 2 friends in November and were not disappointed. The building itself is an old Victorian Townhouse set right on the edge of where Great Western Road meets with Byres Road and Queen Margaret Drive so it was very handy. There is a small car park but unfortunately there were no spaces left for my car so I had to park on the VERY narrow streets alongside the hotel and had to pay and display. It worked out only a few pounds which was fine since we got such a good deal for stay.

Although the common areas were very dated our room was large and modern. It was well kitted out with lcd tv, table and chairs and kettle and had a nice, fresh, clean bathroom. Although no hairdryer and reception couldn't give me one.

Breakfast was served to us, so not much choice, but was fine for what we paid for. Would go here again with friends or myself but probably not as a family or as a couple.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elainemcgeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

I stayed at the Clifton Hotel for one night recently. When we arrived in reception I was not met with a 'hello" or even a smile, no the receptionist just demanded "name". I was then handed a sheet of paper "sign that" and then "that's £60". Not a good start.

Our room was massive (two single beds and one double) but the heating did not work.

We were told breakfast was 7:30 to 9:30am. We appeared for breakfast at 8:55am, had to wait for a table and were told cooked breakfasts stop at 9am. There is no note of this anywhere. We were however reluctantly given a cooked breakfast by the woman who was just as rude at check in. After breakfast we returned to our room and looked on this site to see if anyone else had experienced the unfriendly staff, it seems the staff attitude is the norm.

Our booking.com booking confirmation email states check out is between 11am and 12noon. However at 11:15am there was a knock on our room door telling us we had to leave as check out is 11am. Again, there is no note of this in the hotel.

When we were leaving the hotel we walked past the three female employees and they never said goodbye, thank you or even acknowledged us.

The location of this hotel is great, the breakfast was tasty however the service was terrible. I think some customer service training is required.

I definitely won't be returning to this hotel, neither would I recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wethfdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

Ideally located for Glasgow's West end, just over the road from Oran Mor, The Botanic Gardens and all the sights and sounds on offer.
Hotel was clean and well presented, staff friendly and helpful.
Room was ideal, comfy bed, good en-suite, breakfast was good too.
Will stay here again, without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy-Fifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

Was clean and big room but toilet wouldnt flush properly room in need of upgrading. Had to wait in que for breakfast as not enough tables for everyone. Breakfast was disappointing after the wait. Staff weret nice but not in a hurry to go back

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariea n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#72 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#69 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albion Hotel
#62 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
The Belhaven Hotel
#53 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Hotel

Property: Clifton Hotel
Address: 26-27 Buckingham Terrace, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet area of Glasgow's West End, Clifton Hotel is a Victorian town house with free Wi-Fi. Great Western Road is nearby.Each room at Clifton Hotel features Freeview TV and tea/coffee making facilities.There is an elegant TV lounge at the Clifton, as well as antique furniture and a traditional spiral staircase.The Scottish Exhibition Centre and the Royal Concert Hall are within easy reach. There are good public transport links to the city centre. Check in from 3pm to 10pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing