We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Clifton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clifton Hotel
Ranked #75 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Lovely hotel, further than we usually travel in the city for a hotel. Staff were very helpful and friendly. As we aren't from the area the hotel were good enough to phone taxi's for us. Room was very spacious as there were 4 of us. Beds were comfortable and room/bathroom was clean. Facilitates within the room were fine but we found there weren't very many plugs that we could use. We didn't stay for breakfast so cant comment on dining. The only problem we had was that when we returned at night we couldn't get the door open and there was no answer from the bell or knocking, we only got in as other guests arrived but they even struggled to open the door but got it open eventfully. Would recommend this place to anyone visiting :D

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed for the weekend in this hotel, the staff and breakfast were lovely *but* silly things like the carpet not looking hoovered and the hair behind the bathroom door made me a little wary. Our shower didn't sit in its cradle so you had to hold it - to be fair we didn't have time to say to the staff before we left - however *surely* the cleaner would have noticed and reported this? The loo seat and tile edge were worn with chips and burns in them too and the bit behind the radiator - well just don't look :O. The bed though was clean and comfortable and the room was lovely and spacious - and as I said the staff were really nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ma33Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed just the one night but would definitely go back if I need a hotel in Glasgow again. Great place to stay if you are going to an event at the Oran Mor. Hotel was easy to find, staff were friendly and helpful, room was small but clean and nicely decorated and breakfast was nice with a cooked to order fry up alongside cereals and a few other things. Overall, if you are just looking for somewhere to put your head, this is well worth it for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jes1972_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Friendly staff, lovely breakfast, lovely spacious freshly decorated bedroom at back of hotel which was extremely quiet and good size lovely bathroom. Excellent location, easy access to motorway. Will definitely use again .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We had a triple room for 3 adults, B&B on a Saturday night. All in it was £75. So I'll be honest, I wasn't expecting much but was pleasantly surprised in most ways.

Firstly, parking can be tricky as it's the west end and pay and display is 8am-10pm 7 days. We were lucky enough to get parked for free on the bridge opposite botanic gardens... Bonus!

The hotel is basic. The rooms are basic but clean enough and functional. Some questionable electrics in the room and I would have liked a cleaner shower curtain however, the sheets were clean and the room was warm. There was a decent flat screen TV and it was adequate for our needs. Breakfast the next morning was great value and freshly made to order.

For a basic, no-frills stay I would recommend this hotel as it's convenient for west end and city centre and the service was delightful. For £25 pp I would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddybog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

This was my first stay at the Clifton Hotel & will definitely stay here again. Had made last minute booking. The Clifton is situated just across the road from Oran Mor ~ where we had lovely meal before attending a gig there.
Room was lovely & spacious and comfortable. The staff were friendly & kindly looked after luggage as we went for a walk to Glasgow Botanic Gardens which is less than 2 minutes walk from the hotel.
There are lots of fab wee shops, cafes & bars right on the doorstep & less than £7.00 for a taxi from Queen St Railway Station.
Will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clifton2012, receptionist at Clifton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

hi i'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the the clifton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I spent three nights at the Clifton Hotel. Where we enjoyed a warm friendly greeting when we arrived after travelling all day.The room was spacious, warm and had all the facilities we required. A delicious,Complimentary breakfast was served every morning.The hotel is within easy walking distance to the quirky shops, and amazing variety of pubs and eateries around Byrnes road.The staff bend over backwards to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I would recommend this excellent value for money Hotel and I certainly will be going back.

Room Tip: The Hotel is situated in a quiet street so all rooms are ideal for a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#66 of 93 in Glasgow
321 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 93 in Glasgow
340 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Devoncove Hotel
#85 of 93 in Glasgow
1,158 reviews
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#64 of 93 in Glasgow
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Hotel

Address: 26-27 Buckingham Terrace, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £34 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet area of Glasgow's West End, Clifton Hotel is a Victorian town house with free Wi-Fi. Great Western Road is nearby.Each room at Clifton Hotel features Freeview TV and tea/coffee making facilities.There is an elegant TV lounge at the Clifton, as well as antique furniture and a traditional spiral staircase.The Scottish Exhibition Centre and the Royal Concert Hall are within easy reach. There are good public transport links to the city centre. Check in from 3pm to 10pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing